Thread: Free in on Saturday

Thumbs up Free in on Saturday

Free in on Saturday for the game versus Athlone Town. And to help all football fans to see this game the LDMC have changed the Oscar Traynor game to 7 o’clock on the same evening. So if you do as I suggest, do come to the real football game buy a scarf/pin badge, as it could be the last Limerick merchandise you’ll see in a while.

Lads, the presently "banned" lim til i die and my good self will probably head to the spotted dog before the game saterday, all are welcome, that includes any Athlone that are coming??? If you like we can turn it into a meeting/advice clinic where we can plan the downfall of the enemies of Limerick FC! Im not expecting a big turnout, but come if you like, we've a lot to discuss!!

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    And to help all football fans to see this game the LDMC have changed the Oscar Traynor game to 7 o’clock on the same evening.
    Are you serious. Did they move the game to Saturday at 7?

By the way, nice touch with the free entrance. I presume from Monkfish's post that the planned meeting is not going ahead?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Free in on Saturday for the game versus Athlone Town.
    How much will it be to get out?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Lads, the presently "banned" lim til i die and my good self will probably head to the spotted dog before the game saterday, all are welcome, that includes any Athlone that are coming??? If you like we can turn it into a meeting/advice clinic where we can plan the downfall of the enemies of Limerick FC! Im not expecting a big turnout, but come if you like, we've a lot to discuss!!
    id say there will be a bigger turn out in the dog than the match better entertainment

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by the dazzler View Post
    id say there will be a bigger turn out in the dog than the match better entertainment
    Crawl back under your rock, all the real blues fans will be there tomorrow night.. Not like the scum that were there for the rovers game!

Quote Originally Posted by fc hammer View Post
    Crawl back under your rock, all the real blues fans will be there tomorrow night.. Not like the scum that were there for the rovers game!
    all 20 of ye

Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    all 20 of ye
    well your on your own so that joke (if it was one) was like a three falling in a forest.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    all 20 of ye

did any of ye die hards help limerick find some corner flags and tie down the nets so they could start the game 20min delay to find corner flags what a joke and embarssment no corner flags jesus whats going on lads

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    did any of ye die hards help limerick find some corner flags and tie down the nets so they could start the game 20min delay to find corner flags what a joke and embarssment no corner flags jesus whats going on lads
    The game was down to start at 7:45 as were all the other ties from that evening. The game started at 7:50 not 8:05 which you claim if it was a 20 min delay. I belive the corner flags and nets were in order for 7:50. The die hards as u call them were in attendance and thomas you of course were seen to put up the corner flags well done

46 Posts
    The game was down to start at 7:45 as were all the other ties from that evening. The game started at 7:50 not 8:05 which you claim if it was a 20 min delay. I belive the corner flags and nets were in order for 7:50. The die hards as u call them were in attendance and thomas you of course were seen to put up the corner flags well done

well gael according to len bourke on live95fm he said there was a 20min delay and the players had to put the nets up and go looking for corner flags is that the truth or is he telling lies to the whole of limerick. what do you think im only asking

Hope ye can sort out all your troubles lads over the off season.Munster really needs a strong Limerick team.I used to love going to away games in Limerick in the 80's and early 90's.

Just a quick question.How many were actually at the game?...free in and all that..
    City 'til I die

Talking

if they start paying people to go up to limerick and watch them, they still
    wont get a crowd

Quote Originally Posted by Rebel 84 View Post
    Hope ye can sort out all your troubles lads over the off season.Munster really needs a strong Limerick team.I used to love going to away games in Limerick in the 80's and early 90's.

Just a quick question.How many were actually at the game?...free in and all that..
    around 150 and most of that was athlone.... sorry state.... no corner flags in and goal nets not tied down properly when game was due to start.... this should of been done an hour before kick off.... a joke...

Lads whats the problem? There was a five minute delay, not twenty mins as was reported by that bastion of the truth, len dineen, and fair enough it's a bit crap that the nets weren't tied down, but it wasn't a situation where we had to go looking for nets, it was all sorted in a few minutes, talk about an over-reaction.

Anyway on to the game itself. There was about 200 to 250 fans there (about thirty of those were Athlone fans), which is a shocking state of affairs lads, considering it was our last game of the season, it was free in and it could possibly have been our last game ever. The football was terrible and Athlone overall probably did enough to deserve their victory (we had a perfectly good goal disallowed and also had two headers cleared off the line). Fair play to the lads who got a banner together protesting the Polish takeover and put it up in the Shed, one of the Athlone fans took a picture of us with it so hopefully he posts on here and can put it up here. Another fair play goes to Danny himself for not charging us into the game and also for buying myself and a few others a drink in the Quality Hotel afterwards, he didn't have to do either of those things but he did so for that at least he deserves a mention

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Fair play to the lads who got a banner together protesting the Polish takeover and put it up in the Shed, one of the Athlone fans took a picture of us with it so hopefully he posts on here and can put it up here.
    Here it is!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    well gael according to len bourke on live95fm he said there was a 20min delay and the players had to put the nets up and go looking for corner flags is that the truth or is he telling lies to the whole of limerick. what do you think im only asking
    well i was standing alongside him as he made his report and he said five which was exactly that. The pitch was very heavy with rain and there was a doubt that the game would go ahead at all this might explain why the nets wernt fastened down or flags put up. As the pitch was soft, lots of teams dont pin down the nets untill the very last thing to avoid messing up the goal mouths before the game.

Quote Originally Posted by scoobysham View Post
    around 150 and most of that was athlone.... sorry state.... no corner flags in and goal nets not tied down properly when game was due to start.... this should of been done an hour before kick off.... a joke...
    Keep the faith lads!

The one thing that comes across strongly is the passion a lot of ye have for YOUR club.The club belongs to the people of Limerick....they just don't know it yet.

Best of luck from everyone in Cork,Hope to see ye in the premier shortly.
    City 'til I die

alot of jnr soccer fans on here talking s**t.why is there such a negative vibe about LOI from jnr soccer fans in limerick.the standard is far better and anyone who thinks otherwise is mad.limerick needs snr soccer.i hope limerick improve both on and off the field in the future.wouldnt it be great for kids growing up now to become full time pros in there own city.hope for the future....
    jnr soccer fan

Sees it, its the same in Monaghan with some of the Junior Clubs. 2 seasons ago we asked 2 lads from a local junior club to come train with the u21's so that the manager could get a look at them. They didnt show up. They were invited again. They didnt show up. We also had a guy on our first team who was told by the manager that he had a big part to play in the future of the club but then choose to return to a junior club coz his brother was the manager of that team. He was a fantastic footballer whose brother had been "discovered" while playing at Mons and now plays in England so u would think he would have harboured similar ambtions.

Junior football teams seem to have a problem with eL sometimes, they are like the school bully who feels inferior to the person they are bullying so they run them down and make a mockery of them. Hate that. Things are changing in Monaghan coz we are making a major effort to include the Junior teams in stuff.