Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: eL Clubs & Their Pubs

eL Clubs & Their Pubs

While I've always enjoyed a pint at Dalymount and always been made welcome there, I have to admit that McDowell's would be my favourite "away" game bar. Now that St. Pat's have taken control of it, I really envy them.
    I meant to post this at the time but our game there a few weeks ago was my first time there since the takeover and when I saw St. Patrick's Athletic FC over the bar, I turned green with envy. Great bar, great welcome and always a bit of banter. In the 10 years that I've been going there, the place has always had a club bar feel about it and I've always made an effort to get up there early. No problem going in there on my own, in colours.

Our only hope would be to buy the Horse Shoe and turn it into a decent bar. Can't see that happening though.

Anyone else have a favourite away day bar?

Horse Shoe isn't bad when the bar is full of Pats fans. Windmill is Drogheda is another with a similar vibe.

BTW there's a Sports quiz in McDowells tonight and all are welcome. Last time out we had Derry, Longford, Bohs and Rovers fans

The Cat and Cage was always a good spot for Harps fans for trips to that part of the world, Mother Hughes in Drogheda and Kates when the Galway fans used to go there!
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

I can never remember the names of the provincial boozers, but the Tangled Web in Longford is one that sticks out. Arsed if I know why though.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

always like the one across from the train station in sligo and windmill in drogland

worst has to be the yellow house in waterford or the brandywell bar/bluebell house in derry

Whatever the places is called in Derry,not The Brandywell, the one further down the road....Sligo fans certainly enjoyed ourself in there on Cup Semi Replay night.
    Whats Brays place like?should be invaded by 25-30 Santa's tomorrow evening

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    Whatever the places is called in Derry,not The Brandywell, the one further down the road....Sligo fans certainly enjoyed ourself in there on Cup Semi Replay night.

Hibernia Inn, nice place

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    The two on the seafront nearest the ground are Katy Gallaghers and The Hibernia. The Hibernia is marginally more appealing, but neither has much going for them.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Quote Originally Posted by Danny View Post
    always like the one across from the train station in sligo
    that would be Carr's.....Mooneys(harloes) across fro the showgies would be better for away fans...Derry and Drogs fans certainly enjoyed it recently.

Foxes and Fibber Magees in Eyre Square are now the pre and post game pubs in Galway. Much better craic than Kate's but not as close to Terryland.
    The pub across from the showgrounds (mooney's ?) is usually good craic.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

The Shack in Athlone was always my pre match pint of choice.

The Oak Tavern in Derry is a mad spot!
    Normally go to Kennedy's in Drumcondra.
    The Hibernia Inn, Bray and the Jury's Montrose have zero atmosphere before games.

110 Posts
    The Horseshoe has to be in the running for the 'Worst Pub in Ireland' award.
    I seriously think the owners make no effort because they know they'll have loads in every second Friday!

Harloe's in Sligo is nice and McDowell's is decent too.

Dalymount is brilliant for after a match but I'm not sure about their tacky long bar - I think it sums up Bohs.

I'd say the best craic I've had has been in the Oakgrove in Derry.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Was in the Evergreen before the Cork V Shels game last week, not a bad spot had a couple of pints there before the game , however the **** of a manager wouldn't let us in after the game as none of us had Garda age cards - and not one of us in colours. Obviously he thought us dubs might have been ungracious in defeat

either that or u look 16

Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    either that or u look 16
    The same ****er served us pints before the game

yeah u get away with it early on in the day

its his license on the line if knicked

110 Posts
    To be fair I'd say he probably is 16.

This maybe one of the only threads on this forum not to descend into complete ****e as none of the young teens like Philo or mypost will be able to post anything and all the UCD lads just drink Dutch Gold and would never buy a non-subsidised pint!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

3,352 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    The Oak Tavern in Derry is a mad spot!
    Oak Grove. Good pub.

Loved Hargadon's in Sligo while it was open. Gutted they gutted it. One of those real old fashioned pubs built back in the day before such modern building techniques as levelling the concrete floor. Very dodgy when you're carrying back a few pints while drunk.

The Stillery in Longford's another good pub.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    To be fair I'd say he probably is 16.

This maybe one of the only threads on this forum not to descend into complete ****e as none of the young teens like Philo or mypost will be able to post anything and all the UCD lads just drink Dutch Gold and would never buy a non-subsidised pint!

There could be a bit of farcical value in this one yet, what with you having the cheek to call the Long Bar tacky.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast