Thread: UCD 3-1 Longford

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

UCD 3-1 Longford

I can't rememvber thre result bit we won, The real player of the season, Conor Sammon, was class scporihhnh 2 goals. Reminds me of another player who scored 2 goals in the same ground in the samew day, except the player in questiomn has more stylish hair (not hard comsidering Sammon has none).
    Last edited by DmanDmythDledge; 11/11/2006 at 12:34 AM.

47 Posts
    You shouldn't have had all that homebrew

47 Posts
    thought we were a bit lucky to win this one - apart from the goals (amd neither of the first two were going in until longford defenders got in the way of them), and the chance for doyle after ten seconds, i don't think college created a decent chance. in contrast, longford looked very good on the break, forced a couple of good saves from quigley and almost scored a goal of the season contender when mooney's shot hit the post..

notable performers for me were quigley, the two centre-backs, and the two wingers did well again. byrne looked better than i've seen him before (i.e. fairly useless), though finn wasn't up to much - hopefully a lot more to come next year.

still, very satisfying to record three wins on the bounce, and here's to a top-six finish.

Quote Originally Posted by Burnsie View Post
    notable performers for me were quigley, the two centre-backs, and the two wingers did well again.
    And the town's speedy full back at half time?

71 Posts
    Don't really agree with Burnsie. I thought we were comfortable and dominant and deserved the win. The fact Longford could only muster together attacks on the breaks is evidence of such. Sammon's first goal was really an own goal but I'm delighted to see him proving to be more of a goal threat and getting his name on the scoresheet. Kavanagh's goal was also quite possibly an own goal as his long range drive took a massive deflection. But fair play to the little man, he's had a massive hand in sending us on the way to three wins in a row. Great effort by the lads and it's been a good run in. While it's been relatively meaningless it is preferable to finish as high up the table as possible. It really makes you rue some silly dropped points earlier this season which could have resulted in us sewing up fifth spot.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I can't rememvber thre result bit we won, The real player of the season, Conor Sammon, was class scporihhnh 2 goals. Reminds me of another player who scored 2 goals in the same ground in the samew day, except the player in questiomn has more stylish hair (not hard comsidering Sammon has none).
    How come no UCD fans are correcting Dman on his spelling mistakes? It's very unlike ye!.

811 Posts
    How come no UCD fans are correcting Dman on his spelling mistakes? It's very unlike ye!.
    Post end of season hangovers, I expect. We were due to play Continuity Home Farm next week.

Besides, Dman was drunk while posting, as you might have noticed.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Good performance but I think the margin of the scoreline flattered us a bit. We were fortunate to go in at half time level. Tony Mc had a great game.

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Good performance but I think the margin of the scoreline flattered us a bit. We were fortunate to go in at half time level. Tony Mc had a great game.
    Fitting, from the player of the season.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Oi where's the match report?

3,488 Posts
    UCD rounded off the season in style with a deserved win over Longford Town to secure seventh place in the table after an entertaining clash in Belfield Park. A brace from Conor Sammon and a third goal in three games from Pat Kavanagh secured the points, although there could easily have been more goals for both sides.

UCD nearly took the lead within the opening minute - Paul Byrne played Derek Doyle in through on goal, but his fierce shot from the edge of the area was somehow deflected over the bar by former UCD keeper Shay Kelly in the Longford net. And just a minute later, the visitors were ahead when Alan Murphy drew Darren Quigley out of his goal and squared for another former Student, Dessie Baker, to tap home from close range.

UCD equalised on 14 minutes as the game kept up a frantic pace - Alan McNally came forward and set up Pat Kavanagh, whose shot from 20 yards took a deflection en route to the top corner of the net. It was Kavanagh's third goal in as many games - the first UCD player to achieve this since Robbie Martin scored in four successive games in the 2004 season - and his fourth in ten games this season.

There were excellent chances for both teams before the break - Conor Sammon received a pass inside the area and turned excellently, but his shot was straight at Kelly, while Dave Mooney saw his curling effort from the corner of the box come off the post, Darren Quigley had to be alert to tip a couple of dangerous efforts over his crossbar, wihle Longford blazed a shot from 20 yards over the bar after good work down the right wing.

If Longford had the better of the first half, UCD were on top in the second, and they took the lead ten miuntes in when Conor Sammon broke through, rounded Shay Kelly and slotted goalwards; a desparate attempt to scramble the ball clear only resulted in in Fitzgerald clearing into the roof of his own net.

In the final minute, substitute Francis Moran burst down the left wing, and his low cross was tapped into an empty net by Sammon in a carbon copy of Longford's opener.

UCD - UCD - Quigley; Kenna, McNally, McDonnell, K.Doyle; Kavanagh (Harte 89), Dicker, Finn (Shortall 90), D.Doyle; P.Byrne (Moran 79), Sammon. Subs not used - Hussey, Ryan

Att - 290

Now that's more like it pineapple stu nice one.....all we need now is the Home attendance analysis and the job's oxo