Thread: Rob McDonald

Smile Rob McDonald

So what do ye think?Good appointment, id say he will have some valuable links to clubs with some good young players. Will he have any input into the team on Friday...I doubt it! Probarbly might just meet the players before that match id say!!!!!Any Comments.....
    "Rob McDonald's Red and White Army"

what are his ideas RT?

Means choice will play!!!!!!!

Is 4-4-3 good? 4-4-2? 4-5-1?
    It all depends on your players. Often you have to choose the system that fits your personnel. As Rumsfeld would say, you play with the players you have, not the players you wish you had.

I like the idea of the team effectively training twice as much as they are now. If he's a sharp coach and knows what he's doing, this can only be good.
    They are full-time professionals after all - morning and afternoon training sessions seems like a no-brainer. Anyway, the biggest complaint the young full-timers usually have about being in Sligo is boredom, having nothing to do. I often wondered why Foy didn't spend more of that dead time in a gym, turning himself into the super player he could clearly be if he was in proper shape.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Anyway, the biggest complaint the young full-timers usually have about being in Sligo is boredom, having nothing to do. I often wondered why Foy didn't spend more of that dead time in a gym, turning himself into the super player he could clearly be if he was in proper shape.
    He does find it hard from chatting to him, hopefully he will get his contract, and he will benefit alot from this structured training.

It seems a bit early to be stating what formation he wants to play without assessing the players first.

I remember when Jim McNally took over, he was adamant that he want to play 5 at the back and pass the ball out of trouble. Poor old Jim didn't last too long. Not that there was anything wrong with his philosophy, but I don't think Jim knew what the standard of the league was, or the pitches. I just hope this isn't deja vu.

He called them in for a special trainin sesion last night!He ran them into the ground!

I think the standard has improved a lot since then Showgies though , but you make a good point

Quote Originally Posted by Shedzer View Post
    He called them in for a special trainin sesion last night!He ran them into the ground!
    good, settin his stall out early...
    wont do foyzer any harm but at such a late stage in the season...

Foyzer is looking forward to the new training plan he was already training twice a day the fulltimers would train in the afternoon and then in the evening with the part timers. The new regime will be different all players are going to have to go fulltime and the training will take place in the morning and afternoon, giving the players a better structure and the evening to themselves.

I'd imagine it would be easier to play your diet with the training sessions this way.

what bout the parttime lads? Will they be forced to go full time with this new training system? Could do with mcnamara and ogrady full time anyway.what ye think?

Looks that way, he wants everyone to be fulltime in the first team squad.

Sure McNamara is supposed to be leaving , might be tricky getting O'Grady to go full time , isnt that the reason he left Derry?

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Sure McNamara is supposed to be leaving , might be tricky getting O'Grady to go full time , isnt that the reason he left Derry?
    Dont think he'd be keen to go fulltime.
    "he tries his best.... but I was a proper player".

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Is 4-4-3 good? ......
    This formation would definitely give us an advantage

4-3-3

Quote Originally Posted by kkontour View Post
    This formation would definitely give us an advantage
    Nobody can really know that yet! We will have to wait and see!

Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    Nobody can really know that yet! We will have to wait and see!
    An extra player on the field always helps 4+4+3=11 outfield players
    Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Is 4-4-3 good? ......

4-4-3!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    huh???

The farmer has been spotted ploughing fresh soil in Slovakia.....

http://www.ireland.com/sports/soccer...550230976.html
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!