Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Ireland B v Scotland B

There was booing of Boyd by a about 20 lads behind me. They were just sitting near the Burdocks chipper van. OF course they did not boo Charlie Adam.

I thought the game was rubbish, very poor crowd and very little invention by either side. The lack of a final ball by both teams was the one thing that struck me about the game, hence the lack of chances. Although Stokes did create a sitter for Keogh.

Mc Carthy looked very comfortable and def worth a call up to the senior side as he is a lot slimmer than last time I saw him also. O Brien is all pace and does not offer much else. I thought Hunt was much better when he came on. Stokes looked very lively for someone who played the night before and his touches were that bit above the rest on show. Mc Phail was dissappointing for someone of his calibre. The two full backs for us were steady but not spectacular. Gamble was def in the running for man of the match in my view but to be honest it was mostly 6s all round if you were marking players out of ten

All the changes in the second disrupted the flow of the game but I was impressed by the guy from Arsenal who came on at centre back. Looked like he had lots of pace and composure on the ball.

Atmosphere in Doyles before and after the game was great craic. Very little singing from the Irish at the game and the Scots showed us up in that regard.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    One thing I noticed last night. There were a few Rangers chaps involved but I didn't hear any "booing" from the crowd. Is that carry on exclusive to Lansdowne?
    From the Indo:

"While the Scottish support was boisterous enough, there was little for the home supporters to cheer about aside from the handful of morons who decided to boo every touch from Rangers forward Kris Boyd. They lacked the football knowledge to twig that left full Steven Smith also plays for the Glasgow giants."

I think it goes to show that you can't actually class these people as Celtic fans. If they had any clue about Scottish football they'd have also booed when Smith got replaced by his Rangers teammate, Charlie Adam.

Sound doesn't travel well up the Jodie. It appears that these guys were in the blocks F/G.

As for atmosphere, the biggest cheer of the night from the Irish, was of the ironic kind and came in response to the brief celebrations from the Scots, when they thought they'd scored. They had infact, hit the side netting. Fair play to them for making the effort to travel over and support their side.

634 Posts
    I like the idea of the B game but a Tuesday night, the night before an A game was a disaster. I definitely am not in the position of going to games on successive nights in Dublin, thats a no go and I'm sure there people like me. That probably had an effect on the crowd size, also making it all-ticket, which, unless instructed to do so by UEFA, was a stupid thing to do. Was there ever going to be the demand that would necessitate the need for tickets. Plus the fact that the actual tickets arrived late and people turned away as aresult compounds the issue.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

I heard some booing in the first half when a Scottish striker was making a run forward. I assume it was Boyd. I was in Block A and only heard it once.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I think it goes to show that you can't actually class these people as Celtic fans.

I think it goes to show that you can't class them as fans never mind Celtic fans.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

I was right beside them and they were just about 20 lads of the baseball cap wearing variety. About 70 of the Scottish support were members of the Dublin Tartan Army.
    In Trap we trust

3,000 is a Pi$$ poor crowd, I was at a 1st round cup game here at the weekend between a Conference North Side and a league 2 side and there was more people at it than that!

Yeah I dont understand why most of the people who are going tonight and who are living in Dublin did not go last night.
    In Trap we trust

I wish I didn't bother going last night, waste of 90 minutes.

Ratings from last night:

Randolh 7/10, Not too troubled but confident in everything he had to do.
    Foley 7/10 Also confident, bit surprised he MOTM
    McCarthy 7/10 Few dodgy moments but got better as game went on.
    Bruce 5/10. Did not impress. Got away with blatant penalty when tugged forwards jersey.
    Emanual 5/10 Unfit, poor decisions, not good enough.
    O'Brien 5.5/10 Tried, lots of effort but too inexperienced & final ball poor.
    McPhail 4/10 Did very little. expected him to control midfield.
    Gibson 5/10 Did nothing of note.
    Gamble 7/10 Playing out of usual central role but got forward with purpose & tidied up many loose balls.
    O'Donovan 6.5/10 Made a couple of opportunities out of little, probbaly should have scored with 1 but at least forced keeper to make saves.
    Keogh 7/10 Good first half but faded badly in 2nd. Should have been subbed 15 mins earlier.

Subs on long enough to rate.
    Hunt 7.5/10 Busy & made good choices. Showed experience of higher level football.
    Stokes 6.5/10 Hard to judge him as played 90 minutes night before. Some of his decisions were poor.
    Potter 4.5/10 Did nothing much. Gave ball away.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Yeah I dont understand why most of the people who are going tonight and who are living in Dublin did not go last night.
    playing football myself and am sure its the same for a lot of people who would have training on a tuesday nite. even leaving that aside who cares too much about a b game?

About 3,000 people is the answer to that question which sadly is not that much.
    In Trap we trust

I think it's a shame so few came along because it shold be a valuable experience for the players and management but if there arae only 3,000 turning up how many games will they play taking costs into a/c?

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    I think it's a shame so few came along because it shold be a valuable experience for the players and management but if there arae only 3,000 turning up how many games will they play taking costs into a/c?
    If the game was at Turners Cross we'd bring out a minimum of 7000.

It only holds 5500 though next season it would be filled alright if there were city players in the team-dunno how it would fare without city players in it

Poor enough game and its a pity the crowd was relatively small.

Thanks to the thief who robbed my Tricolour from the Shopping Centre end. If anybody sees an SRFC tricolour on bebo or ebay they might let me know!

Quote Originally Posted by soylent green View Post
    If anybody sees an SRFC tricolour on bebo or ebay they might let me know!
    Given the history of eL flags have you checked with the Bohs casuals?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Given the history of eL flags have you checked with the Bohs casuals?
    I could ring them on the emergency red phone!

Don't know who was to blame and I'm not pointing any fingers. The flag ain't much use to someone unless they are a SRFC Fan (might be a sligo or shannon rugby fan!).

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    From the Indo:

"While the Scottish support was boisterous enough, there was little for the home supporters to cheer about aside from the handful of morons who decided to boo every touch from Rangers forward Kris Boyd. They lacked the football knowledge to twig that left full Steven Smith also plays for the Glasgow giants."

I think it goes to show that you can't actually class these people as Celtic fans. If they had any clue about Scottish football they'd have also booed when Smith got replaced by his Rangers teammate, Charlie Adam.

i think that shows you the writer had a team sheet with numbers and the crowd didnt. the writer wouldnt knwo Steve Smith or Adam from ...eh...Adam
    Boyd is a well known rangers striker, scotland striker while adam was on loan with st mirren all last season and smith is a kid. Should Celtic fans know every Rangers squad member?

or are you saying that if they booed all the rangers players they would be fine and dandy as that would illustrate they are season ticket holders?

can they not be armchair celts, who know Boyd and wanted to have a laugh!? its not exactly death threats now is it!

anyhow, thats from the indo..come on now....

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast