Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Limerick FC may be taken over by Polish investors

4tothefloor, the fact is the very exercise of summing up a race of people based on what IS your limited experience (you don't know all Polish people) and characterising them just highlights how stupid this is.
    Your talking about a nation of individuals. Just as someone could easily sum up what Irish men are like I could show them some scumbag with their tracksuit tucked into their socks alongside a D4 rugby jock called Fintan alongside a hurling mad cappamore hillbilly named Mossy etc, etc. To find some common characteristic is just a simplistic way of judging people instead of taking people person to person. Its the exact same process that has people worldwide looking at Muslims with suspicion, its completely ridiculous.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

in the irish sun (i know not most reliable but) today it says that the richest man in poland is behind the supposed takeover of limerick.. he is jan kulczyk and is worth 4 billion.... his intentions are to create a uk style premiership in ireland....he also is trying to conclude deals for cork derry and bohemians after the acquisition of limerick and players from poland will be brought in... also states again name and colours will be changed.. constuction of a new stadium is also mentioned... takeover should be done relatively quickly too.... what does everyone think of this latest development????????

Polski FC my ****** ! It will not be Limerick FC anymore.

Plus it sounds like the biggest wind up of all time. More Displacement of Irish Workers by foreign nationals
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scoobysham View Post
    in the irish sun (i know not most reliable but) today it says that the richest man in poland is behind the supposed takeover of limerick.. he is jan kulczyk and is worth 4 billion.... his intentions are to create a uk style premiership in ireland....he also is trying to conclude deals for cork derry and bohemians after the acquisition of limerick and players from poland will be brought in... also states again name and colours will be changed.. constuction of a new stadium is also mentioned... takeover should be done relatively quickly too.... what does everyone think of this latest development????????

seriously how would the die hards feel about these people changing the name of limerick fc and the colours i would be total against it if i was that passionate about limerick. thats a disgrace the history of limerick will be wiped out IMO

This will never happen...trust me !!

I trust you joe, your the one soap i can beleve in!

Limski Polski, has a nice ring to it

"The Chelsea of the Eircom League"
    Danny Drew realises his dream by bringing in a Billionaire business man from the East to take over the club and make us great...
    The new fiction by Danny Drew, available at all good newsdesks today!!!

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    seriously how would the die hards feel about these people changing the name of limerick fc and the colours i would be total against it if i was that passionate about limerick. thats a disgrace the history of limerick will be wiped out IMO
    It depends

Polski Limerick, Limerick Polski then personally I'd have no problem with it, it's no different to us being Limerick United, Limerick City, Limerick F.C. down through the years.............

As for the colours thing, gspain would be the man to ask but I think I remember hearing somewhere that our origional colours were Red & White anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    I trust you joe, your the one soap i can beleve in!

Very Good

Btw your flags and the famous banner are in my (Slightly less) safe hands rather than gaels

It depends

Polski Limerick, Limerick Polski then personally I'd have no problem with it, it's no different to us being Limerick United, Limerick City, Limerick F.C. down through the years.............

As for the colours thing, gspain would be the man to ask but I think I remember hearing somewhere that our origional colours were Red & White anyway
    Our original colours were red and white and we wore a sunderland type strip.
    I'd have no problem if the club changed the name back to Limerick Utd or AFC, as this would be one good way for a new owner to rid themselves of the club's leeches. Completley re-inventing the team though means just that, re-inventing it. If this whole thing were actually true then we would essentially be changing the nationality of the club also. Not just new owners, new club. Its history would start the day it was taken over, its past finished.
    What we need is our club to be run properly by people who know what they are doing, to put in place realistic targets and plans with our potential in mind. A completely new Footballing body overseeing the Irish League and establishing serious Football Acadamies throughout the country would also be a bonus!!!

Very Good

Btw your flags and the famous banner are in my (Slightly less) safe hands rather than gaels
    Well well, it looks like Billy Banned isn't banned anymore, foot has been a quieter place without you man

.. he is jan kulczyk and is worth 4 billion.... his intentions are to create a uk style premiership in ireland....he also is trying to conclude deals for cork derry and bohemians after the acquisition of limerick and players from poland will be brought in... also states again name and colours will be changed.. constuction of a new stadium is also mentioned... takeover should be done relatively quickly too.... what does everyone think of this latest development????????
    He's a colourful character to say the least...subject to criminal investigation, ties to the KGB...he should fit in well in the confines of the Hogan Park area...

This is what the man himself looks like.

Here's more

He could be our very own Richard Nixon

Jeasus Joe! i always knew your links in the CIA would come in handy, any chance of letting us know who shot JFK?
    ...and as for you Mr 1 week ban, i don't want to see Carew Park looking like West Belfast next time im up there, keep the flags stored in a cool, dry, safe place til my return to the realm of "hill of the south"

he also is trying to conclude deals for cork derry and bohemians after the acquisition of limerick and players from poland will be brought in...
    Surely this would raise eyebrows with competition authorities!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

57 Posts
    Re colours

Our original colours in 1937 were Red and white stripes. In 1941 Waterford went out of football and we bought their blue strip. We then wore blue and white with many variations until 1983. Pat Grace changed the colours to yellow/green (his racing colours). They were changed back after he left.

I would hate to see our colours changed from blue and white. We should also keep Limerick in the name but I'd have no problem with foreign owners once they are moving the club forward.

On the club colours - this is a short article/piece i wrote for a fanzine or something.

"C'mon the Blues" is a cheer that has gone up many times at Limerick matches down the years. But it wasn't always so. While Limerick soccer has for long been associated with the colours blue and white, Limerick teams have taken to the field in a variety of club colours.

Indeed, when a senior soccer team first appeared on the scene in 1937 blue was nowhere to be seen. The first teams wore Stoke City-like red and white striped jerseys and white shorts. Actually the colour was more accurately described as Cardinal red. It was reported that black and amber was also suggested as the club colours, but thankfully that Young Munsters ruse didn't work.

Limerick did not appear in blue and white until 1943, and in their first game in the new colours lost 5-0 to Cork United at the Markets Field. After this 'blue' start, Limerick teams continued to wear blue and white for the next 40 years. Limerick City came into being in 1983 and the team colours were changed along with the club name and the home ground. The club moved to Rathbane and took to wearing canary yellow and green shirts and green shorts.

The re-emergence of Limerick FC in the mid-1990s also saw the re-emergence of the famous blue jerseys. In an attempt to re-engage with the Limerick footballing public the blue and white made a return. "C'mon the Blues!"
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I can tell you now lads that earlier reports of the colours and name changing were well wide of the mark. From what i've learnt the possible new guy only wants to buy one club as hes mates are looking at other irish clubs, in short expect Limerick Fc to be the first of many polish investor acquisitions. We need that SC meeting called soon no point in the club getting sorted if we're lagging behind

All press related stories on this subject have so far only quoted Drew and sourced information as given by Drew. Does anybody have any concrete information from any other source, for example the buisnessman/men linked to the story?
    If this is indeed true, the news that colours and name remaining would surely make this a positive move for the club. As for foreign investors, welcome to modern day Ireland, you only need to walk the streets of this city and its industrial estates to see this is no new phenomenon. Also a quick peek over the water shows us that this is the way football and football clubs are going.

mmm

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick View Post
    All press related stories on this subject have so far only quoted Drew and sourced information as given by Drew. Does anybody have any concrete information from any other source, for example the buisnessman/men linked to the story?
    If this is indeed true, the news that colours and name remaining would surely make this a positive move for the club. As for foreign investors, welcome to modern day Ireland, you only need to walk the streets of this city and its industrial estates to see this is no new phenomenon. Also a quick peek over the water shows us that this is the way football and football clubs are going.
    Do you think its all a load of bull.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast