Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick FC may be taken over by Polish investors

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    981 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    Spot on. Seriously lads, what drugs are ye on? I thought people here were more intelligent than that
    id have to go along with much of what you are saying here (!), and am genuienly taken aback by the strength of goodwill on here towards such a venture. Polska Limerick F.F.S.??

i dont know whats worse, people seeing this as a positive development or the fact that we have a chairman who could well be making it all up!!

I find some of the comments on this thread not only puerile but offensive as well. "It's bad enough having a Pole in your face almost everywhere you go" and "all their interested in is vodka steriods (sic) and pills". What pathetic nonsense.

In the absence of any other investor and overwhelming indifference from the Limerick public towards their club (not to mention outright hostility on here towards a Limerick man who has stumped up and kept the club going) why shouldn't investors of any nationality buy into the club. This forum constantly has statements about the great potential of the club - well nobody else is buying into it.

I think it is interesting how some have berated DD for years and looked for him to sling his hook. Now that this may be on teh cards its a case of don't sell to the Poles. The phrase be careful what you wish for springs to mind.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Any team that renames itself Polski Juarewelski Lech Walesa FC and employs Only Poles etc is not Limerick FC in my view. Fair enough if they come on board and respect the History of the club if not...Well I, for one, am out of here
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Excellent

And Auschwitz is where exactly??
    It's a Nazi created camp in Poland, doh... I'm saying that, having been to Poland, there's no need to send us to the camp in Auschwitz, just regular Poland would do. Does everything have to be explained to you in great detail?

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick View Post
    This whole Polish bashing has got a little ridiculous, anyone remember those bloody paddy *******s taking over London? Should we look forward to the banana chants at black players visiting Hogan Park?
    Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    I find some of the comments on this thread not only puerile but offensive as well. "It's bad enough having a Pole in your face almost everywhere you go"
    Hey listen, I'm speaking from experience of having dated a Pole, thus knowing loads of Poles and also having visited Poland. Go there and see for yourself, hang around with them and see what they're like. You can be PC all you want about it but I'm only telling my own experiences. There's no Polish bashing going on, and I have to say I have no experience regarding the Poles and steriods/Pills etc. I have no problems with the Poles, but put it this way, I'd prefer if someone else was the bidder.

In the absence of any other investor and overwhelming indifference from the Limerick public towards their club (not to mention outright hostility on here towards a Limerick man who has stumped up and kept the club going) why shouldn't investors of any nationality buy into the club. This forum constantly has statements about the great potential of the club - well nobody else is buying into it.

I think it is interesting how some have berated DD for years and looked for him to sling his hook. Now that this may be on teh cards its a case of don't sell to the Poles. The phrase be careful what you wish for springs to mind.
    Basically the club is a w***er magnet. We've known that for years. Joe Young, MOS, Danny Drew and now we're being targeted by Poles who want to change our identity. There's definately a bad curse on this club.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD View Post
    Any team that renames itself Polski Juarewelski Lech Walesa FC and employs Only Poles etc is not Limerick FC in my view. Fair enough if they come on board and respect the History of the club if not...Well I, for one, am out of here
    Exactly. The issue here is our identity. Apparantly the Poles want a Polish named club, Polish colours, Polish related crest, Polish staff and will be targetting Polish football fans. So if they succeeded and attracted these legions of untapped Polski support, wouldn't those fans be singing chants in Polish at the games? What are we supposed to do, learn Polish so that we can support our local team? As I said, some here need to cop on to themselves, FFS! I'd rather see us die than this 'cos I for one wouldn't support it. Unless it's Limerick FC in blue, I'd be joining JohnD...

I'm with LFC In Exile on this one, some of the comments on here lads have really swung the needle of this thread close to 'racist' at times, and not just 4tothefloor either (who seems to be harbouring a grudge, possibly about being dumped by a Pole ), you can say I'm being PC, but some of what is being said is really getting out of hand.

And honestly, maybe I didn't read the first two pages well enough, but I don't see that many people rejoicing about this, the majority seem to be of the same opinion, that if the club colours and name are changed than it just ain't Limerick FC

What has Drew done wrong b4 this?

There's a lot of bad feeling towards him on here, or are you bitter?

Dont mean to offend, just telling it how i see it, and i stand by everthing i said regarding our polish friends, ask anyone who has had the pleasure of working among them for over a year. You think the Irish can be racist!!! Staying slightly on topic, regarding Mr Drew, has the best intentions for the club however hes a bit mad, il say no more.......
    Regarding the cosortium bid/dream. As i said before, leave us the name, colours and location, and id welcome anyone who wants it. A.N.Y.O.N.E.
    I have however recieved news from a well informed un-named source (who has nothing to do with the club) regarding a corsortium bid. The difference with this one is their nationality. Lets say its closer to home, and lets say their plan is more than interesting!........the plot thickens

That was the Nazi's. No need to send us to Auschwitz, just Poland would do, believe me
    It's a Nazi created camp in Poland, doh... I'm saying that, having been to Poland, there's no need to send us to the camp in Auschwitz, just regular Poland would do. Does everything have to be explained to you in great detail?
    Hmmmm....nice attempt at a recovery from your failure in history and geography...

I think it's you reading that one incorrectly Joe. Made perfect sense to me.

I don't think anyone is denying that if the club changes name, colours, crest etc that it is no longer the same club. But if nobody in Limerick is willing to help or take ove rthe club then how can we complain about a Polish consortium?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I'm with LFC In Exile on this one, some of the comments on here lads have really swung the needle of this thread close to 'racist' at times, and not just 4tothefloor either (who seems to be harbouring a grudge, possibly about being dumped by a Pole), you can say I'm being PC, but some of what is being said is really getting out of hand.
    Was the other way around actually, not that I give a s**t now The irony here Jebus is that the Poles, mostly the men it has to be said, are probably among the most racist I've ever met. They're ignorance to other cultures, and to women, is astounding. Speaking of those experiences on here is not racist. It's not my fault they're ignorant.

Hmmmm....nice attempt at a recovery from your failure in history and geography...
    Your handle is quite apt Joe. You're obviously one of those where everything has to be spelt out to you literally. In future I'll keep this in mind and write a step-by-step guide just for you. I'll also include smilies 'cos you probably can't distinguish sarcasim/irony without them either, based on your above performance. Is that alright for you Joe?
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 16/11/2006 at 12:56 PM.

Lads this has been a good thread overall so can we all try and play a bit nicer please? Don't wanna lock it.

..the Poles, mostly the men it has to be said, are probably among the most racist I've ever met. They're ignorance to other cultures, and to women, is astounding. Speaking of those experiences on here is not racist. It's not my fault they're ignorant.
    Summing up an entire race of people based on your limited experience of them, and deeming "them" racist and ignorant is in itself, racist and ignorant.
    Considering you speak negatively of "their" racism and ignorance in the first place you would think you could spot that in yourself. For a country that pretty much invented migration you think we could show a bit of humility.
    If this whole story is indeed bull from the propaganda master himself, it'll have served only to show how gulable and racist we are.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Excellent post. Well said.

Summing up an entire race of people based on your limited experience of them, and deeming "them" racist and ignorant is in itself, racist and ignorant.
    Listen, I've had enough experience of them myself to know what I'm talking about, and I certainly wouldn't call it 'limited' experience. It's enough for me to generally not have a great opinion of them. Of course they're not all like that, and I've already said that, but by and large my experiences have been negative both here and in Poland. The highlights for me would be seeing a black guy getting spat on in broad daylight in a shopping street in Gydnia just for the sake of it, being abused for speaking English in same place by a businessman and over here, seeing on many occasions how the guys behaved themselves in the now defunct Polish Bar. And as I say, they're just the highlights, or lowlights... I have no problem standing over what I said - Polish guys are, both in my travels and here, one of the most racist and ignorant people I have met. I'm sorry, but that's my experience and I don't see any problem with that. Describing racism from experience is not racist.

For a country that pretty much invented migration you think we could show a bit of humility.
    I have no problem with the Poles or them being here. I've employed them, worked with them etc. But the ignorance I've experienced so far and as mentioned above is not my problem. Would I be better off not mentioning it so? Lets just pretend that they're all like the pope and everything is great. Why have an opinion at all?

Excellent post. Well said.
    Excellent post joe. You must have had your weetabix this morning.

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    I have however recieved news from a well informed un-named source (who has nothing to do with the club) regarding a corsortium bid. The difference with this one is their nationality. Lets say its closer to home, and lets say their plan is more than interesting!........the plot thickens
    Any clues Monkfish? You can't just throw that one out and leave us hanging
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 16/11/2006 at 9:12 PM. Reason: spelling

Lets just pretend that they're all like the pope and everything is great.
    Now hold on a minute, there's been a lot of rubbish posted in this thread but there's no way anybody is going to convince me that that homophobic old relic was a great man!

Also working across the road from what was the Polish bar I will back 4tothefloor up on that one, it was the biggest kip in the city during its operation.

Im not sure how true the news i got was, so it wouldnt be wise to splash it all over the internet, having said that, if this "situation" happend then its good for Limerick. The person who told me this is not the bull****ting type so iv no reason to doubt him, what happens remains to be seen....

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Also working across the road from what was the Polish bar I will back 4tothefloor up on that one, it was the biggest kip in the city during its operation.
    Which is some praise indeed given some of the 'indigenous' drinking spots.

4tothefloor and SLK, I'd hate for people to judge Irish people by what groups of young, emigrant, obviously heavy-drinking groups do. There were quite a few of the types of lads you describe in the bars of New York and London in the 80s. How would you feel if their behaviour was seen as symptomatic of the whole population?

Also, nobody is saying you can't have an opinion but the basis of generalising from your limited experience is questionable. And your experience is limited. Not least the fact that the emigrants here are typically young and living the life of a transient emigrant. Not representative. Also the incidents you mention happen in Irish bars regulalrly also, people get abused for not speaking English. Black and Asian people have also been spat at and abused. By criticising an entire country because they are racist doesn't justify displaying prejudice against them. And just because you hire people doesn't mean you are not prejudice.

Sorry this is off-topic but I don't think comments such as the ones expressed on this board should go unchallenged anywhere.
    Last edited by LFC in Exile; 17/11/2006 at 7:49 AM.

Which is some praise indeed given some of the 'indigenous' drinking spots.
    Whatever man, take whatever moral high ground suits you. I've no issue whatsoever with any group in this country but that bar was closed for a reason. Reason being that it was full of scum both Polish and Irish whose idea of a good night generally involved the breaking of windows of both resident's and other trader's, a few arrests and most memorably on St.Stephen's night a couple of paddy wagons, a half dozen squad cars and a hail of bottles that pelted down on the 'fine' cops of our city. As a people I don't feel any different about the Poles than I do about any other nationality in the country but that bar attracted the worst of them and if you're going to view that as racism then so be it.

Also, nobody is saying you can't have an opinion but the basis of generalising from your limited experience is questionable. And your experience is limited. Not least the fact that the emigrants here are typically young and living the life of a transient emigrant. Not representative. Also the incidents you mention happen in Irish bars regulalrly also, people get abused for not speaking English. Black and Asian people have also been spat at and abused. By criticising an entire country because they are racist doesn't justify displaying prejudice against them. And just because you hire people doesn't mean you are not prejudice.
    You don't know what my experience is, so you can't comment on whether it is limited or not. The Poles have been here two years now. I've also been in Poland. Most of the stuff I witnessed involved no drink whatsoever. I only gave the Polish bar a mention because it was notorious. And some of the stuff I witnessed in there was with regard to how they treat/approach women etc and not directly involved with drink. The stuff regarding the black guy and me being almost attacked for speaking English - sorry but I've never seen that happen over here. You can take the moral high ground all you like my friend, but you cannot change someone's experiences. I've said what I have to say and I stand by it all because it's all true. I'm not adding any more to it in case I upset the Mother Theresa's on this thread

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast