View Poll Results: Who would you like to see replace McCarthy if /when he goes?

Voters
39. You may not vote on this poll
  • Roy Keane

3 7.69%
  • Terry Venables

2 5.13%
  • Joe Kinnear

5 12.82%
  • David O´Leary

7 17.95%
  • Brian Kerr

13 33.33%
  • Other

6 15.38%
  • Either of the last 2 French Managers!

1 2.56%
  • John Toshack

1 2.56%
  • Roy Hodgson

1 2.56%
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Who would you like to see replace McCarthy?

Originally posted by Éanna
    Really like. Yeah he´s had a few big jobs in Spain, but he seems to be the guy the likes of Real etc hire in between big managers. He´s a stopgap that´s cheap to sack.
    Yup, seems to have a record as Mr. Temporary Fix-it

Originally posted by DAXION
    The Boy Tosser (Roy Keane) does not have the experience and I would refuse to attend a match if that F**King TRAITOR beame the manager.
    Some fan you are..... won't attend cos of who the manager is..... Put your hate of one man ahead of your love of your country.... What does that make you? A traitor perhaps????

brine2
    What Tosh
    For those of you unfortunate enough to miss out on John Toshack last night on TV3, here’s an extract from the post-match analysis of Newcastle United v Dynamo Kiev in which he pondered the merits of El Kaddouri’s performance:

"There aren’t too many coloured players in Russia, and, on this lad’s showing, there won't be many more."

Mediawatch doesn’t quite know where to begin with John‘s words of wisdom, so here are a few points in no particular order:

- Kiev is the capital of Ukraine and therefore not in Russia.
    - “Coloured”?
    - Are we right in assuming from his analysis that Toshack believes that because all ‘coloured’ players are ‘coloured’, they must all play to the same level?
    - What are the odds on the words ‘Toshack’ and ‘Stone Age’ appearing in a Daily Express headline any time soon?

Taken from:
    http://freeserve.football365.com/Fun...ry_45412.shtml

Alright smart ass, the remark was on the spur, and I have a right to my opinion, and as you probably can gather I am anti Roy, because he let his country down. Mick McCarthy did not let his country down.

Let me throw a question in your direction.

Republic of Ireland games are the only matches that I attend regularly, I have missed only 8 of the last 26 matches (starting with the 2-2 against Holland). 7 of those were friendlies, the only competitive game was the away match with Iran. I have been to somewhere in the region of 100 games home and away, considering that Dublin is an "away" game for me, as I live in London at the moment.
    I enjoyed Japan & Korea. I thought the boys done well. It made me really proud to be Irish in the Far East.

And Finally the question is.....

How many games have you attended over the last 15 / 20 years

I can produce all my match stubs

never mind this i´m a better fan than you cos i was at more games BO!!OX

YEAH AGREED, if having been to every match was a precondition for being a 'true' Irish fan, we'd have a total of about 10,000 supporters. Ur some l@nger DAXION
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

alright hands up, a stupid statement

no worries - all points made taken nonetheless
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Let me throw a question in your direction.

Republic of Ireland games are the only matches that I attend regularly, I have missed only 8 of the last 26 matches (starting with the 2-2 against Holland). 7 of those were friendlies, the only competitive game was the away match with Iran. I have been to somewhere in the region of 100 games home and away, considering that Dublin is an "away" game for me, as I live in London at the moment.
    I enjoyed Japan & Korea. I thought the boys done well. It made me really proud to be Irish in the Far East.

This is bullsh*t arguement but I'll play along......

Basically this "I go more matches than you so I'm a better fan" rubbish is simply an arguement of finances. All that proves how much more money than me you have!!!! You admit you don't attend club football, so that's already several thousand saved over a season to put towards international matches....

Whoppee do - you go 7 or 8 matches a year, so that obviously means that you know more than me who on has been known to watch more matches than that live in a month, and it sure as hell gives you more right to express an opinion.

For the record I have been to every home match in the last 3.5 years since I moved home bar Portugal, Holland and Iran (as I couldn't get tickets for those games thanks to the corporates).... I'm only 26, so take out the school and college years when I was skint, you're basically left with the time since I left education which is....... the last 3.5years!

Mick McCarthy did not let his country down.
    That's another matter of opinion.....

Originally posted by Macy
    [B]
    you're basically left with the time since I left education which is....... the last 3.5years!

... maybe i'm wrong but isn't life itself an edu-ma-cation???

Fair play to ya but i'm sure you'll have noticed there are not many people who attend a lot of both club & international games.

Admittadly i've only been to one international match (free ticket for friendly v Denmark last year - one with "the booing") + a testimonial but international matches just don't have the same draw as club matches. Was zero atmosphere at my one game & wouldn't have been worth 35 Euro.

Its also almost impossible to have the same level of passion when Ireland only play every couple of months.

I haven´t been to an Ireland game and I don´t have any huge aspirations about it. I don´t like the idea of giving money to the FAI, or spending my money on watching a team that has lttle connection to irish soccer.

Exactly. I could easily ask Daxion how many eL games he's ever been to. We'd have a right argument over who really was the better fan, but, where would that get anyone. For the record I have attended well over 300 eL games over the last 12-13 years, including a few not involving City.

Murphy Out Now!!!

I haven't missed an Ireland match in 10 years!

I've seen the ****tiest of matches and the best of matches, I have been there on miserable wet nights for woeful friendlies and I have spent hours on the feckin canal trying to get to the ground and then ages trying to find a parking spot and I don't know how many times I have missed the first five minutes of a match!

But feck it I''m not any more or less of a fan than the rest of ye!

But what I have been sick over recently is to find out exactly the way the international set-up has been run. I have busted my balls to get tickets and be there for every match only now to find out what a shambles and a joke it all is. I love the players everyone of them they have done their job when asked of them.

But Love Keane or Hate him (which most of ye seem to do) I firmly believe we will be the better off for this. It may take two years or Four but nobody can hide now its all out in the open. The bull**** and inadequacy will be rid of! Heads will roll, maybe not straight away but instead of thinking in the short term look ahead and how things will be for the next European Championship campaign.

I always thought the rumours about how our set-up was such a shambles were exaggerated jokes and heresay and I laughed with everyone else at the "sure aren't we great anyway stories". But I wont settle for that anymore, we aren't going to major Championships to make up the numbers or just to see how far we can get! I want to win one of them - no excuses!!

I want us all to be gutted and angry when we get knocked out only to mellow and then assess where we went wrong, but be determined not to make the same mistakes! I dont know how you all feel but I feel cheated for the last 10 years I have been going to matches.

I expected our players to be treated like Gods by the officialdom and expected them to be prepared like thoroughbred horses primed for the big race, that is why I never questioned the price of tickets or the cost of the new Ireland Jersies and merchandise. Apart from my vocal support at Lansdowne my only way of support was financially and I am sick to see how my money was squandered!!

But Our dirty laundry has been washed in public and we will be all the better for it. If you don't learn from your mistakes you are doomed to repeat them.

brine2
    Ahhhhhhhh! Peter Reid is one of the hot favourites!

Please god, save us from this eejit!

Originally posted by The Chief
    But Our dirty laundry has been washed in public and we will be all the better for it.
    Fingers crossed.

Originally posted by brine2
    Ahhhhhhhh! Peter Reid is one of the hot favourites!

Please god, save us from this eejit!
    Not anymore. Himself, Dave O'Leary, Joe Kinnear AND Martin O'Neill have all ruled themselves out of the running (seems like it IS the job from Hell).
    Which leaves John Aldridge as the current favourite, at least in the media, to take over. Christ help us.

Murphy Out Now!!!

Originally posted by Shed End John
    Which leaves John Aldridge as the current favourite, at least in the media, to take over. Christ help us.
    hate to say i told you so but...........I remeber saying why get rid of Mick cos his replacement is unlikely to be much better

Yeah, we should all have seen it coming. It's not as if Aldo has all that much managerial experience and that is the crux of the matter.....getting an experienced replacement (a damn sight easier said than done).

Murphy Out Now!!!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123