Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Rossport Today

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Isn't it the Indo at the moment? Isn't that worse?

As long as we can keep the Star away from the top spot we'll be ok.

Indo, then IT, then the Sun, then the Star.

IMO The Star is miles ahead of the Sun. Say what you like about the Star but editorially it's Irish. Small consolation but it does make a difference.

I deal with Sun/NOW/Mirror/People hacks every day. They're all based in the UK and making editorial decisons about Ireland with zero knowledge.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

521 Posts
    I don't care how Irish it is, it's a rag. The Sun isn't much better, but the Star is just plain lowest common denominator sentationalist claptrap. The hacks can't even write their own stories ffs, they have to steal it from message boards.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    People aren't stupid, just blighted by years of having no opposition worth voting for. Its hardly surprising that half the population couldn't give a flying fig about politics.
    And that's why you and your like are ****ing into the wind.

Not the case. Its a slow process but once we establish ourselves in an area we gain a lot of support - but as I said, very slow process.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    It's not but hey, don't let that get in the way of your prejudices.

oh sorry, its second then, or third

Quote Originally Posted by onceahoop View Post
    Are you saying that the Judiciary is not independent?. There is a clear seperation of power between it and the executive.
    The judiciary are political appointments.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    The judiciary are political appointments.
    Any suggestion for alternative? Remember we do elect the politicians. I think political appointees a lot better than way Sheriffs & Attorney Generals elected by the public in the US.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Any suggestion for alternative?
    I'm not sure there is an effective alternative, probably the best of a bad lot. Thinks it's a whole other thread myself, particularly given recent high profile events.

I was more making the point that the Judiciary are not necessarily independent and unbias, as some were making out.

An elected and recallable Judiciary is the only way it can be accountable. There needs to be a complete overhall of the whole legal system. Solicitors and Barristers get way to much money. In the case of tribunals that have no propper outcome they actually profit from having the whole thing drag on and on and on.

I think political appointees a lot better than way Sheriffs & Attorney Generals elected by the public in the US.
    Yeah, that aul democracy is terrible stuff. Better to do away with it altogether. Sure what would ordinary people know about anything.

But they're not the judiciary - that's the equivalent of electing the DPP rather than the Judge.

Yeah, that aul democracy is terrible stuff. Better to do away with it altogether. Sure what would ordinary people know about anything.
    If we could limit the number of people who get a vote would be good but don;t think its feasable. Sure look at the number of people who re-elect idiots like Lowry, Healy-Ray, Flynn etc... I think they have proven they can not be trusted with votes.

A directly elected judiciary would lead to populous causes played on by the red top tabloids using bad cases to dictate bad law.

If we could limit the number of people who get a vote would be good but don;t think its feasable. Sure look at the number of people who re-elect idiots like Lowry, Healy-Ray, Flynn etc... I think they have proven they can not be trusted with votes.

A directly elected judiciary would lead to populous causes played on by the red top tabloids using bad cases to dictate bad law.
    There's a documentary on RTÉ One next week called Eoin O'Duffy: An Irish Fascist. It might be of interest to you as you seem to have similiar views.

There's a documentary on RTÉ One next week called Eoin O'Duffy: An Irish Fascist.
    What night is that on?

It's actually Tuesday December 5. Fascinating stuff that will make FG and the Guards squirm after spending 60 years pretending that they don't have fascist DNA. Press release below.

Eoin O'Duffy - An Irish Fascist is a new and revealing portrait of a man who, over sixty years after his death, continues to be remembered as one of the most controversial figures in twentieth century Irish history.

Eoin O'Duffy's reputation as one of the villains of Irish history is rooted in his role as leader of the Blueshirts, Ireland's fascist movement during the 1930s, when he modelled himself on Benito Mussolini and declared his admiration for Adolf Hitler.

But as this new documentary reveals, O'Duffy was much more than an Irish fascist.

As a ruthless IRA leader during the War of Independence, a close ally of Michael Collins, the Garda commissioner who helped shape the force today and the first President of Fine Gael, O'Duffy was a complex and contradictory character - and one who played a central role in the creation of modern Ireland.

With access to previously unseen documents, including O'Duffy's unpublished memoirs, Eoin O'Duffy - An Irish Fascist provides a riveting and revealing insight into one of Irish history's most intriguing characters.

The documentary explores the personal motives that drove O'Duffy throughout his life: from his impoverished childhood in Monaghan to his revolutionary republicanism; and from his leadership of Fine Gael and the Blueshirts during the 1930's to his final days as a Nazi sympathiser during World War Two.

The film reveals how O'Duffy was a man blinded by ambition and haunted by personal demons. It also shows how he failed to live up to his own ideals, not least as a preacher of teetotalism who was, in private, a chronic alcoholic. The documentary also assesses recent claims that O'Duffy was a closet homosexual.

Eoin O'Duffy - An Irish Fascist features contributions from a range of leading Irish historians, including Dr. Fearghal McGarry of Queen's University, Belfast, author of a recent biography on O'Duffy, and Diarmaid Ferriter of Dublin City University.

Gas pipeline explodes in Indonesia on Java Island death, injuries and unfolding environmental disaster
    Indonesia blamed an uncontrolled mud flow on Thursday for a gas pipeline explosion that killed at least seven people and injured 12 on Java island.

The late Wednesday blast -- which disrupted gas operations in the area -- occurred near the city of Surabaya in a part of the state-owned Pertamina East Java Gas Pipeline.
    The Rest of the Article

from http://www.unison.ie/breakingnews/in...ca=9&si=101851

Seventy percent of people in County Mayo believe that work on the controversial Shell Corrib gas pipeline should be allowed to continue uninterrupted, according to a 'Red C' opinion poll for the Irish Independent and Prime Time.
    This Poll indicates a strong backlash against the recent violent clashes between demonstrators and Gardai in Bellanaboy.

Only 8% of people agree with the statement that protesters at the gas pipeline speak for all of the community while 40% said the demonstrators only represent a minority.

A further 53% believe that protesters are indulging in intimidation, while 52% of people believe they are being manipulated from outside.

This is actually a distortion of the poll findings as you would know if you watched primetime last night. There were several polls undertaken all of which contradicted each other. In fact in one poll, people who said the protesters were wrong said they would take the same action if it happened in their area! In other polls taken the majority sided with the protesters.
    The indo as has been pointed out before has an agenda here as Tony O Reilly has a majour stake in a similar gasfield off the coast of Clare and is more than likely waiting to see the outcome of rossport to do the same thing there.

Shell win, Protestor lose

There were several polls undertaken all of which contradicted each other. In fact in one poll, people who said the protesters were wrong said they would take the same action if it happened in their area! In other polls taken the majority sided with the protesters.
    Yes I saw that somewhat contradictory poll results too however a clear majority of people basically voted for Shell over the Protestors when had to choose. The protestors have too many mixed messages & have lost any public support they ever had.

I think PrimeTime & the Irish Independent poll is reputable poll. I have not seen any other polls undertaken by professional companies.

When is the last time we have mud slide of Indonesian proportions in Mayo.

Irish Times did one. which I think was almost 50-50. As I said already I wouldn't read anything into a poll in O Reilly's rag as he has an agenda. The constant vilification of the protesters in the media will have an effect on polls too.
    On the protesters sending mixed messages, I think the official Shell to Sea people's publications have been very clear about what they want. However the media have often misrepresented them. It doesn't help when news reports focus on people saying rosaries and "news" reports of fictitious female Gardaí being injured by protesters (Notice these claims are never substantiated, there is never any footage and there is never an interview with the "victim".)
    Also good to see my post proving once again the instability of these pipelines being ignored.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast