Thread: Last game in St. Mel's

Yeah saw Rovers there for the first time outside Dublin. Memories not really good as before this season think we lost our last 4 games there.

Ground actually got worse over the years with first the shed falling down and then the gantry disappearing!

Any Athlone fan confirm what is happening to the ground? Who actually owns it?

I went to my first ever away game in St Mels about 16 years ago, Larry Wise scored a cracking free kick in a 1-0 victory to United! Many other great memories of St Mels, gonna miss that place.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Believe it or not Mels was my 1st away game too.About 7 years ago i'd say.Quarter final of the Cup...a drab 0-0 but some atmosphere and the largest away support i've ever seen for UTD.maybe 800-100?
    Best of luck Athlone.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Any Athlone fan confirm what is happening to the ground? Who actually owns it?
    Mels was swapped with the Council for the land where the new stadium is built.
    The council have been asked to keep it for sporting purposes but who knows
    how long that will last.

There was some confusion over the swapping of the land as it was generally
    believed that St. Mels Park was left in trust to the people of Athlone to have
    for sport in the town. Not sure if any of the official documentation on the
    matter is around anymore though.

37 Posts
    St. Mel's was the venue for my first ever away game too...but there wasn't an Athlone Town player in the ground! It was the 1985 "Bulmers" FAI Cup semi final reply between Limerick City and Galway United (back in the days when all semi finals were played at neutral venues).
    John Mannion scored the the winner in extra time for United. It was fitting that he scored as he was an Athlone native.

PS
    The grafitti outside Mel's that says "LARRY BE WYSE" should be perserved.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    one for future table quizzes me thinks!
    You must be very proud!.

Not many great memories of Mel's, mostly cos of a couple of scummy fans Athlone had but wish them the best of luck in their new ground.

The Heart of Oul' Ireland

I sprinted like mad through the old ticket gate
    With my bag swinging over my back.
    But up on the platform I cursed cruel fate,
    As the train chuffed away down the track.
    And I stood there despondently all on my own.
    Now what could I do for two hours in Athlone?

I decided that maybe I’d go for a stroll,
    While some light still remained in the day,
    To try and work out if the town had a soul,
    Or whether ‘twas lifeless and grey.
    And so I stepped out without procrastination,
    Away down the road from that old railway station.

My walking was random, no target I set,
    And I chose every street on a whim.
    The dull, faceless houses I soon would forget,
    And the fact’ries lay empty and grim.
    But as the bland afternoon slowly turned dark,
    I found myself standing outside St. Mel’s Park.

The gate lay wide open, so I wandered in,
    For I hadn’t been there for a while.
    I walked round the pitch to that shed made of tin,
    With my lips fondly pursed in a smile.
    An old man was sitting down one of the flanks,
    Alone in his thoughts on the worn, painted planks.

As I climbed up the steps and sat down by his side,
    He offered a faraway greeting.
    The wild, swirling wind with ferocity tried
    To lift off the rusty tin sheeting.
    The pitch spread before us so luscious and green,
    Our mem’ries unfurled, we both drank in the scene.

‘Twas nearly ten minutes ‘ere I at last spoke,
    And then ‘twas to mock this “museum”,
    “Ramshackle shed,” I observed, as a joke.
    “It’s a bit like that old Coliseum.
    I heard that the plan is to pull it all down,
    And move the whole ground to the far side of town.”

“I’m seventy six now,” he answered and smiled,
    With that dewdroppy look in his eye.
    “I’ve been coming down here since I was a wee child,
    And it’s maybe not long till I die.
    And this ramshackle stadium, battered and worn,
    Saw the first light of day in the year I was born.

‘I’ve spent my whole life with the black and the blue,
    I’ve shared all the highs and the lows.
    I know that this club may mean nothing to you,
    No reason it should, I suppose.
    But for me, it’s my father, my sister, my wife,
    And the only true love I have had in my life.

‘I remember one day as a middle-aged man,
    A dreary wet day in September,
    This stand was packed out to see A.C. Milan,
    In a game I will always remember.
    ‘Twas proudly we hosted those footballing giants,
    But they were surprised by our stubborn defiance.

‘I suppose that St. Mel’s is a piece of waste ground,
    When you play mostly in the San Siro,
    But our lads were impressive and knocked it around,
    And every man jack was a hero.
    They bravely attacked the Italian defence,
    Who resorted to fouling when things became tense.

‘Albertosi, the goalie, had plenty to do,
    With the Milanese backs in a panic,
    And Larkin and Duffy and Dougie Wood too
    Were each so composed and titanic.
    I pitied the poor old Italian, Benetti,
    Who spent the whole night running round getting sweaty.

‘The Italian tackling was coarse and extreme,
    And some of their tactics quite sordid,
    But then the whole evening turned into a dream,
    As a penalty kick was awarded.
    I barely could watch with the ball on the spot,
    But the massive, great keeper saved Minno’s weak shot.

‘Daly and Humphries tormented their backs,
    But we couldn’t convert any chances,
    Wave after wave of strong Irish attacks
    Were repulsed in quite cruel circumstances.
    It was the most marvellous and splendid nil nil,
    And there’s many round here who remember it still.

‘Of course, we were trounced when we played them away,
    But somehow it just didn’t matter.
    The lads gave the town such a glorious day,
    Served up on a great silver platter.
    And then in the eighties, we won the league twice,
    Which in my old age was exceedingly nice.

‘This stand that you mock has seen many great men
    Turn out for the black and the blue,
    Turlough and Michael O’Connor and then
    Pat Whelan and Harry McCue.
    Larry Wyse, Joey Salmon and bold Denis Clarke
    Have all entertained us down in St. Mel’s Park.

‘And now this old stadium’s gone to the dogs,
    This tin shed will rattle no longer.
    And sure, ‘twon’t be long ‘ere I pop my own clogs,
    For I surely won’t get any stronger.
    And here on this pitch, where my life truly mattered,
    I’ve asked that my ashes be solemnly scattered.”

I glanced at my watch lying tight on my arm,
    And a warning shot lanced through my brain.
    “I’m afraid I must go,” I announced with alarm,
    “Or else I might miss the next train.
    But thank you, good fellow, for putting me right,
    I’m sorry my words sounded flippant and trite.”

I left him there musing, and lost in his thoughts,
    As I made my way back to the station,
    But my mind was distracted and quite out of sorts,
    As I pondered our long conversation.
    And as I passed by a wall of graffiti-strewn brick,
    I doubled in pain and was violently sick.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

398 Posts
    Best of luck ATFC in new ground. Special memories of Athlone for me as this was my first ever away trip, last day of the season in 81/82 we won to win the league. Athlone got revenge by winning it the following year.

Can still see the dust from the sand on the pitch as Hilary Caryle I think socred the winner, or was in Sean Byrne, 2,000 dundalk fans in the then fashionable rugby black and white tops going mental, great memories.

That tiny stand in the corner, should be preserved forever in a corner of the new ground.

Farewell St Mels

hated the kip when we used to play there but it's still a bit sad. every game i was at there was awful apart from 2-2 in the last season of winter fotball.

farewell st. mel's
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

We played at St. Mels on two occasions - once in the late '70s and the other in 1980. I was at the first game. I can remember the O'Connors - I think!!!

Best wishes to Athlone in their new ground and as I have more than a passing interest in football grounds in Ireland, can someone post a link for the new ground?

lick on the "New Stadium" link
    http://www.athlonetownfc.com/

21 Posts
    I was there when Rovers clinched promotion the night before St Patricks day 1994 under the McStay era, Athlone also went up as runners up that season.
    It was around this time that the shed behind the goal was blown down. The chant going round was "St Mels Park is falling down" to the tune of London Bridge. Rovers wining two nil on the night.

Was up there last night, and was disappointing to see the side conceding two goals like that in a match that important to the club.

Saw my first ever LOI match there, and i'm sure it'll be missed
    Good luck in the new stadium.

176 Posts
    Mel's is a tip, but it's also an intimate ground, where the players are just inches from the fans. Drogheda's ground is one of the few of that kind left.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    St. Mel's was the venue for my first ever away game too...but there wasn't an Athlone Town player in the ground! It was the 1985 "Bulmers" FAI Cup semi final reply between Limerick City and Galway United (back in the days when all semi finals were played at neutral venues).
    John Mannion scored the the winner in extra time for United. It was fitting that he scored as he was an Athlone native.

PS
    The grafitti outside Mel's that says "LARRY BE WYSE" should be perserved.
    Remember it well.. Best of luck Athlone.

Did the place get ripped apart last night?

57 Posts
    We won the league in St. Mels in 1980. Fantastic day.

I think my first game there was circa 1974.

Sad to see it go but hopefully a new dawn and new future for Athlone.

In some ways it is sad to see it go but then it is also great to see a club who have struggled for the last 10ish years progress and move to a new ground. Some great memories from going to see Athlone for 3 years while in College. Mickey used to be our manager in the College too. It was great that palyers for the town were also involved at Colleges level and I really enjoyed my Sundays watching the games and back to the Shack for pints.
    The likes of Denis Clarke, Mickedy, Rod, Warren etc were great to watch.

Fair play for the free admission for the last game.

Onwards!
    "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

42 Posts
    does the new ground just have the one stand for now ?

Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    does the new ground just have the one stand for now ?
    Yeah but its a Grandstand......

sorry.