Well there's Andy Myler scoring a goal, then Andy Myler scoring the goal of the season...and the joke of a ref. I'm sure Sheils didn't find him particularly funny..
Though it also looked intriguing off it from where I was![]()
and i dont think we'll be talking much about what happend on the pitch....
Well there's Andy Myler scoring a goal, then Andy Myler scoring the goal of the season...and the joke of a ref. I'm sure Sheils didn't find him particularly funny..
Though it also looked intriguing off it from where I was![]()
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.
what about the rovers scumbag that tried to assault the limerick goalkeeper when he came onto the pitch?and the rovers scumbags that tried to get into the shed to start trouble?f**k'n scumbags..
The guy that ran onto the pitch was a Limerick supporter not rovers, also what happpened last night was an absolute disgrace,a steward workin for Limerick FC jumped over the wall a punched me in the face after i asked him was he gonna get the guy off the pitch.
Danny Drew is always askin for people to come up and support the club and he hires these scumbags for crowd control,i will never again set foot inside that s**t hole Hogan Park.
The club must be the laughing stock of Ireland.
Before this gets into a slangging match at the club and its supporters id like to say my bit. The security company at last nights game were FAI appointed not Limerick FC. The usual company were...unavialable for last nights game. The FAI fealt that,with the last game in limerick when a rovers scum element arrived, coupled with the view that a bad southhill element could turn up, that their company would be more in touch with how to deal with the situation. They failed miserably and the world of scum which only a manditory extermination order would only be a good thing turned up. The new company were not up to scratch on who Limerick/Rovers fans actually were and let in the world of scum from LIMERICK. They were not fans of Limerick football club and the guy who ran onto the field to attack the (as he saw it) the rovers keeperis indeed from Limerick. For their part the rovers fans who did turn up were true hoops and good bunch. one or two idiots but thats to be expected at any game. My worry is that true limerick supporters might have been frightened off comming to the games anymore by this scum element who attended last night. I dont see how DD can be blamed for these people being there.
Id agree with gaels comments, now im not in the buisness of licking rovers supporters arses like our Galway friends, however on Friday none of the trouble was caused by them (get it right) as regards the match they well deserved to win at least 2-0, and yes mylers 2nd was class.
I for one have had it up to my tits with it at this stage. The match against rovers was a disgrace for many reasons. The incident with the Scumbag walking on the pitch was one of many that night. A can was thrown at Barry Murphy, several plastic bottles were lobbed at one rovers player taking a corner, two shoes and a welly also made on for good measure.
We can put it down to a scumbag element that came for a scrap and thats definately a vaild arguement considering half the hoodies in Limerick were waiting at roxboro for the Rovers fans after the game. But lets face it lads, Hogan Park has attracted these f**kers long before friday night. Twin this bulls**t with Drew at the helm of this club and it just adds up to one conclusion, this club is a complete **** take and we all get to pay 12 euro for the insult.
I wont be paying for that s**t unless or until things change bigtime.
Limerick 3:7
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"
seeing as every home game is an away game for me i have stopped making the journey home for matches since a couple of matches into drews "managerial reign". i want to support the club but simply cannot while he is manager and players are walking out.
it pains me to say it but our season ended the day noel was sacked and drew took over. noel had to go though.
andy myler is the type of player we should be looking to get. a couple of players with plenty of eircom league experience to help the under 21s fulfill their potential.
you gowl!
As for the actual football match, 2-0 to Rovers was a fair result I think. I was going to say that thats the worst I've seen Limerick play in a long time but then I realised that I've been saying that practically every week these past 3 or so months. This team needs a serious overhaul at the end of the season, starting with getting in a strong willed manager that won't take anything other than total dedication from his squad. That said Danny needs to seriously realise that he can't interfere in team matters at any level, whether its in coaching tips, signings or his infamous half time team talks.
As for what happened off the pitch, well it was inevitable really wasn't it. Anyone who saw the 30 or so lads who came in at the start of the game and camped themselves at the end of the Shed should have realised that there was going to be trouble. Sadly we live in a state with the most inept police force this side of Springfield and they didn't call for support until it was too late, i.e. some heads had been kicked in up at Crazy Prices. I watched that scuffle from a far and it looked pretty nasty to be honest, but apparantly some of these 'Limerick supporters' had arranged to meet some of the Rovers Ultras there for a good old fashioned hooligan fight, and if thats true (just what I heard from one of the stewards who has Rovers supporting friends, so I can't say that is fact) then not only do we need to ban all of the Limerick mob who caused trouble on the night, but Rovers should try to ween out this element of their support too, because it's not helping any of our clubs, or the league in general.
All in all I think we are stuck in a catch 22 as a club. Given that Limerick is a rugby town we need to tap into the working class support for our club, and while most of us from around that area are perfectly happy watching a game of football and singing a few songs, there will inevitably come an element that still think that football is more about having a punch up afterwards than actually supporting the club
Last edited by jebus; 05/11/2006 at 12:07 PM.
I don't think that's fair. The rest I agree with. First off I wasn't at the game so I am reacting to posts here and not the incidents. It seems Rovers fans were not instigators in the ground. The people who came to the game to cause trouble (I refuse to refer to them as Limerick supporters, even in inverted commas) were there because it was Rovers and they fancied a fight with them. End of. I doubt any of them will be back. I have never seen any trouble at matches in Rathbane so I don't agree with the comments about this being 'typical' in any way by thelimerick. That said, the club should not be complacent. Limerick has a bad reputation for a reason and we can't be equivocal in condemning this stuff and stopping these guys from coming to matches. We don't want their €12. I would be completely in favour of a ban for these guys. Though i doubt it would have much effect seeing asthey probably never come to matches anyway (and with Rovers in the premier next season that will be even less likely).
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
Personally I think the other night was a disaster for Limerick from start to finish. I'm not eve going to talk about the game other than to say that we utterly toothless in the final third, Myler's second was a blinder and Wayne Colbert and Dave Ryan were both impressive.
The trouble at the game the other night was embarrassing for the club though. The moron who came on to the field to accost our own goalkeeper should be banned for life. End of story. No excuses. No hard luck stories. Turf him out and don't let the door hit him on the way.
The incident with the steward assaulting a supporter (and let's not dress it up or down here, that's what it was) was completely out of order and undeserved as well. The items thrown onto the pitch... why didn't our esteemed comedy cops go down to that end at the time?
What happened at the shopping centre was pretty crazy by all accounts too. That said the club can't be held culpable for what happens that far from the ground anyway, it's a police problem again.
I honestly felt for the Rovers support in the ground the other night. These people hadn't come looking for trouble and shouldn't have had any to deal with. I would offer genuine sympathy for the ordeal that they had to endure after the game. The club are going to get hit with a fine and deservedly so. That said it is a bit rich blaming Drew for the steward's behaviour when the FAI appointed them. There's not much we can do but take our medicene on this one.
What really irritates me is that the end result of all this is that the club is dragged through the mud by a shower of no marks who won't even bother to turn up for the Athlone game because there's no scope for trouble there (unless they come looking for me and anybody else who's criticised them on this thread. That's crediting them with literacy though...). A miserable night all round.
Well if you were the guy who was punched by the steward you really have no reason to throw stones as you are in a glass house! by all accounts the steward was being harrassed all evening from you and this is from the people around you. There is no excuse whatsoever for the stewards behavior but you really need to examine your reasons for going to the game if you were intent on riling some bloke who was trying to do a Job on the evening.
"When faced with total negativity, a smile is a weapon of mass destruction"
Similar situation at the Limerick - Leeds Utd game not too long ago when two absolute w****rs from Limerick were riling a steward who was just trying to do his job. I say 2, but there was a gang of about 6/7 of them, a mixture of old lads in their 30's/40's and teenagers, the latter all rigged out of course in their scumbag bearUSA tracksuits and baseball caps. The sad thing was it was the older lads that were causing the problems. They kept going up to the boundary wall when they were told to keep away from it, then giving the steward abuse everytime he had to come down to them. The steward had long hair and they were abusing him about this as well. To top it all off one of these scumbags then accused the steward of man handling his kid - no such thing happened. What a great example of parenting he was to his youngfella.....Why the f**k do these vermin come to games? They're nothing but scum, complete degenerates who come from, and belong, in the gutter. It's a pity the steward at the Leeds game didn't punch that w****rs lights out, cos it was on a lot of peoples minds.
If what you say above is true and the steward was being given abuse, fair play to him and I hope it hurt. There's nothing like getting a taste of your own medicine to shut a smart arse up. There's some scumbags going to games at Hogan Park, that's all I'll say...but what do we expect, it's a ****hole anyway.
Last edited by 4tothefloor; 06/11/2006 at 1:55 AM.
For what its worth lads, was talking to a couple of Lims fans (top lads btw) before the game in the ground & they were already warning us that there could be trouble afterwards stressing though it would be locals & not LImerick FC supporters, genuinely felt for the real Limerick fans, its terrible to have to endure the nonsense you did friday night, it must be a soul destroying experience having to watch games in circumstances as grim as that experienced on friday night. Hats off to the local plods though, unlike their Dundalk counterparts they seemed well organised outside the ground & prevented any major hassle when we were attacked at the top of the road leaving the ground whilst heading back to the hotel.
Koh
Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!
SRFC will NEVER die!!
So much rubbish written in this thread but I'm gonna try and give it a go anyway............
First off, fairplay to the steward for hitting your man???
What planet are you on? That steward was a disgrace, he's there to do a job absolutely no excuse for hitting anyone it would have been more in his line to stop that plank getting on the pitch.
I suppose you think Barry Murphy should have jumped into the shed and given us a few slaps aswell?![]()
Secondly, anyone blaming Drew for the shambles off the pitch Friday night is at best ill-informed, at worst a moron with an agenda (There always the most dangerous kind of moron)
Thirdly "some of the Limerick supporters had arranged to meet some of the Rovers ultras for a good old fashioned hooligan fight" I don't know who told you this man but it's complete fabrication. For one thing why would said "supporters" have paid to get into the game if it was all pre-arranged for afterwards? Also a lot of their filth had the good sense/cowardice not to travel this time
Which brings me nicely to my next point...
Like Monkfish above I'm not in the business of kissing Rovers ar$e so lets call a spade a spade shall we? Anyone whos in the know realises that there was a hell of a lot more to the trouble Friday night than a simple matter of "it being Rovers and they fancying a bit of trouble". To suggest there was nothing more to it than that is an insult to my intelligence quite frankly
Suffice to say. Wrong Pub. Wrong Town.![]()
I just regret that a lot more of their filth from the first day didn't travel down as what happened up in Crazy Prices afterwards could have been a lesson in manners which could ultimately have benefited the whole league.
I do have sympathy for most of the Rovers fans that did come down though, some really decent football guys there. I'm just suggesting that when they are apportioning blame for Fridays debacle they can apportion quite a lot of it a lot closer to home.....
Finally I'm sick and tired of all the bleating about Hogan Park from people.
Yes Hogan Park is a ****hole but it's our ****hole
Other ****holes in the league (in no particular order) include:
St. Colmans, Ballybofey, Station Road, Terryland (yes,yes it's clean before the galway fans come on but it's still a morgue) Oriel Park, Buckley Park, Century Homes Park, Tolka Park, Turners Cross, Flancare Park, United Park, The Brandywell, Dalymount Park, Belfield, The Carlisle Grounds, Richmond Park, The Showgrounds and the RSC.
I'll admit Rathbane has its problems but seriously lads if you don't like hanging around ****holes maybe the Eircom League isn't the place for you?? May I suggest a nice cosy bar-stool in some pub (Which will also most likely be a ****hole too)![]()
I wasn't at the game on Friday night but that SCUMBAG that went on to the pitch to our keeper is a Limerick Supporter (make no mistake) and he is at all the home Limerick games, he is a drunk and a complete *******, he is the guy that always shouts rude and obscene things at any guy/player/offical who is involved with any club playing in Hogan park (and he thinks its funny) I hope he is banned for life as he is not wanted or needed to support our team.
also I hear the rovers thugs caused trouble in the spotted dog on Friday too
Do you know what he said to Aussie?: Fcuk back to Dublin, you dirty Dublin *******![]()
In fairness I was in the Dog until about seven and didn't even see a Rovers fan let alone a scummy one. Granted thay could have been in the lounge but there wasn't a peep while I was there anyway
Bit of a contradiction dont you think?
A steward cant hit a fan as his job is invovled, but if a group of Limerick people beat up a group of Rovers folk (i am guessing this is what happened at crazy prices), it is worthy and actually benefits the league.
Dont get it.
Last edited by osarusan; 06/11/2006 at 9:32 AM.