Thread: Athlone V United

Athlone V United

Match preview here http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-p...-united-6.html
    you can also fork out €850 to watch some English crap, or you can spend around €50 and make your way to Dubarry park this friday!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 27/10/2006 at 9:52 AM.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

46 Posts
    Most important 90 Mins of the season anything less than a win our season is over

It will be intersting to see our team tomorrow with our injuries

my team whould be:

Goughie

Reilly, keady, Carter, Cretaro,

O Brien, Foley, Russel, Cookie,

O Dowd, Gethins,
    Last edited by Trainee; 27/10/2006 at 10:22 AM.

I'd agree with that Trainee, Wes has been playing while injured for a few weeks and shouldn't be risked again if hes not fit. Russell deserves his shot he was great in Limerick and he has been going well in the u 21s.
    Gethins shoulnt have been dropped last week and Murphy hasn't given any indication that he can return to his previous form.
    Hopefully Billy will recover in time.
    We have to win every game draws are useless, I look forward to seeing an attack minded United team taking to the field for the rest of the season.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

46 Posts
    Billy wont be playing I heard he is out for rest of season with a dislocated shoulder and Wes will struggle to play again this season with his hamstring
    Frawley maybe back next week

this injury crisis may just bring the best out of them - hopefullly!!!
    more water!

In the 2 games we've lost to Athlone this year they've scored in the 81st and 90th minute.
    They also scored in the 86th minute in Terryland to equalise in the last league match.
    It's vital we keep our concentration tomorrow.We are better than Athlone and we most show it once and for all in Dubarry Park.As the Cian O Connell said in the Advertiser this game will be robbed of the crowd from Galway we would have brought if it wasn't for the Ozzie Rules.It's up to all of us travelling to show the lads that we're 100% behind them.Lets roar them to victory!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

we are blessed

to have some versitile players like fran who can fill in to a number of positions.it will work out well if he can fit in at centre back and then we can bring russel into the team.fran hasnt played there consistently in a long time but athlone have limited attacking power(1 of lowest amount of goals scored in the league).but bogey teams need to be paid alot of attention to,we are kinda harps bogey team and thats probably a reason we escaped with a win there a couple of weeks ago so ppl expecting an easy win will be in for a shock.i wonder how it will look on t.v and what ratings will be with that other thing on at the same time.

Looking good so far!

Alan Gough
    Mick O'Donnell; Wes Charles; Nigel Keady; Raf Cretaro
    Derek O'Brien; Fran Carter; Ciaran Foley; David Cooke
    Conor Gethins; David O'Dowd

2-Nil, just gone half-time. Penalty from Conor Gethins (23 mins) and goal from Derek O'Brien after goalkeeper could only parry Fran Carter's effort.

Fans looking and sounding great on the web stream! Flare looked great earlier. Tried a screen grab but it stream came out as a black square

Way we are playing we should get a couple more.

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan View Post
    Looking good so far!

Alan Gough
    Mick O'Donnell; Wes Charles; Nigel Keady; Raf Cretaro
    Derek O'Brien; Fran Carter; Ciaran Foley; David Cooke
    Conor Gethins; David O'Dowd

2-Nil, just gone half-time. Penalty from Conor Gethins (23 mins) and goal from Derek O'Brien after goalkeeper could only parry Fran Carter's effort.

Fans looking and sounding great on the web stream! Flare looked great earlier. Tried a screen grab but it stream came out as a black square

Way we are playing we should get a couple more.
    Three more! Hat trick for Gethins. He should have had 5 or 6!

O'Connor: "I thought we were terrible" - about right. "They overran us".

Gethins:

"We need to win every one of them to win the league"

"It was a great shot from Dowdy so it was and I saw the keeper down so I just chipped it over him"

"I could just see him off his line so I just thought I'd hit him again"

Cousins:

"We're looking at the goal difference so we just thought we'd get as many as we could"

"It was a great team performance ... We're moving in the right direction in the long term as well".

"The bottom line is we can only do what we can do on the pitch."

"I'm a football manager not a diplomat"

Man of the Match

... fairly predictably went to Gethins. But the team overall worked hard and it was great to see them keep going and trying to boost the goal difference!

im glad we finally

beat athlone like that,in theory we should do it in a few games against them when you compare team sheets and squads,resoruces available etc but we dont.i realise as the athlone manager said it was real "end of season" stuff for them and when the third goal went in their heads dropped understandably.
    goal difference is gonna be crucial i feel,theres no reason why we cant put a few past kildare too as their season is also over and they might drop their heads if we get a couple of quick goals.
    but job done tonight and you can only beat whats in front of you and fair play to lads because they did that and more.
    F.A.O BOARD MEMBERS:CAN WE PLEASE KEEP CONOR GETHINS???????
    what happened near the end?a few kids throwing stones was it?looked like they were all waiting for ye down one end,looked dodgy but maybe nothing happened,hopefully.

it all started when 2 little slappers from athlone hit one of our girls. in fairness the "mad as cootes" lads were appologising to us after the game. fair play to them. bounty bar was good craic. shame two idiots ruined a good nite for all involved. good luck anyway in your new stadium lads.

84 Posts
    shame two idiots ruined a good nite for all involved.
    Spoke to some of the committee last night after the game and between them and the Cootes we are going to go through the TV footage and indentify these and believe me they will never see a game of football involving Athlone again.

Well done on the result as you say you can only beat what is put in front of you and you did that well.

Nice to meet some of the people on the forum. Even magicme travelled to Athlone to get her football fix.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

HI Battery Rover,

When going through the survaliance check out the gufc supporters and athlone stewards asking the gardai for some protection! I asked and they said "dont worry" and a steward asked for assistance and they told him " cant you do it yourself" and they then walked away !! It all really kicked off then when 3 lads (aged 18-20) came up behind us and through a lit firework into the middle of us, exploding 3 feet behind my wifes head. I decided then that it was to dangerous to stay around and left as they had gathered around my car in the car park after they ran down to that end. They were kicking the car doors and as I got assistance fromthe gardai to get my car out we were pelted with stones (theres nearly €900 worth of damage to my car) . I pointed the 3 lads out to an official of the club and told him exactly what happened.

I can soundly say you'll never see me in Athlone ever again.

Well done on the result you deserved it I suppose.

Good fun in the bounty before.Still cant believe that mad mons fan travelling down for the game

As for the kids causing trouble.I'm embarressed and still raging. We could have had a great support but once again it was more important to shout abuse at the opponsition.

I hope the guy that got injured will be ok.Unfortunately some used the occasion to play "Greenstreet".

84 Posts
    Terry, I don't really know what to say as i am really upset at what happened last night. One thing though is as a supporters club we will do everything we can to weed out these scumbags, b*stards, knackers.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Hey Battery & Grounded...less of the "Mad Mons Fan" will ya! When a girl needs football a girl needs football!

I feel sorry for Battery and all the other lovely people of Athlone for having young girls like those coming near ur game. I was with the Galway fans and was disgusted by their behaviour. There was about 6 girls aged 15-17 who kept winding the Galway lads up and when one of them told them to feck off they accused him of spitting in her face and one of them proceeded to gob him right in the face...twice. It was such a shame coz the athmosphere was great and the Cootes were lovely. Its a pity that a few silly little girls who thought they were gorgeous decided to ruin the fun for everyone.

The lads threw a banger once into the middle of us and we went and told the "stewards" about it.This was also after a couple of rocks were thrown and our flags were taken.When it went off the second time the GUFC lads had enough and decided to sort it out for themselves.The cowards ran and that was it really.

On another note the Mad As Cootes must be commended for showing their disgust at the incidents after the match.Fair play.....a credit to Athlone!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

It was a crying shame that it happened and based on the tv pictures does not portray attendance at an eL game in good light, nor indeed (regardless of who caused the incidents) light either set of fans up in glory.

The 150 people running was clearly visible on tv and the commentators picked up on events, saying there was no need for this sort of trouble etc etc.

I assume the matter will be dealt with by the FAI - though will this depend on whether the match officials mention it in their report?

In light of the previous incidents, the incidents referred to by the Sligo lads in the other thread and the pre-game concerns expressed on this forum, it is disappointing that Athlone Town officials did not act to ensure a situation like this did not develop.