Thread: Ollie To Sue DCFC Fan!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban View Post
    Not saying the guy's a saint, but good God, every time he's in the papers / on radio / on TV, there are people who will try and twist and turn everything he says to try and prove he's the antichrist.

I would imagine the defamation threat would simply to emphasise the point that the poster was telling lies. If he merely said "I didn't say that," it wouldn't have got the coverage.

On the other end, maybe it might help to curb some of the sh1t spoken on here and other forums.
    If Ollie said nothing, nobody would've batted an eyelid as he's been accused of far worse things on the internet. The fact he chose to challenge htis one suggests at the very least that he's an idiot

Suggests?
    DCFC

small minded club with a small minded idiot in charge just incase ollie reads this im a bit strapped for cash any chance of some cheap smokes.

well lets hear this interview and see this transcript, if he didnt sday it, then the derry fan should retract it. If he did, he should be ashamed and he should be doubly ashamed for the course of action taken by shelsw.... who is who btw, I wonder what the w stands for???

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    drivel
    And people have the nerve to call Ollie an eejit?????
    Last edited by Réiteoir; 03/11/2006 at 10:03 PM.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Quote Originally Posted by EireBadBoy View Post
    It's all a wile pile of craic altogether!
    Indeed.

Never a dull moment in this League!

Maybe he's covering himself til he gets the transcript (which the ob is already privy to), or maybe he jumped the gun? We'll see, I haven't heard it.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    A strange and tricky one this.

Legally the publishers, in this case Shelsweb, the offiical website of Shelbourne FC, the contributor and the distributors,(ISP) are liable for any libel, defamation or slander, joinltly and separately.

Shelsweb should have immediately removed the post once it was brought to their attention but they chose to leave it in the public domain.

Speaking to a legal eagle on this matter he was minded to advise that by not removing the offending words the case would, if there was one to answer, have very limite dlegal recourse.

I dunno!
    I presume the DCFC poster lives north of the border which would add further difficulties in persuing a case.

Ollie Byrne Kicked my dog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

go on sue me
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters

Red&White
    Quote Originally Posted by Strabane_Harp View Post
    Ollie Byrne Kicked my dog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

go on sue me
    Ollie Byrne Ate My Hamster!

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Breaking News: Cancer threatens to sue BohsPartisan for defamation of character.
    Comedy Gold.

Poor ould Ollie, he always seems to get a raw deal.