Thread: Stato on Liam Murphys record!

Exclamation Stato on Liam Murphys record!

City have played 53 league games under Murphy since he took over from DM with a 1-1 Draw in Ballybofey.

Ok done my bit o stato/anorak work & (sparing ye the calculation ) heres my findings on Liam Murphys league record as manager:

• For a 33 game season he averaging a 54 points or 3rd place

If you exclude (maybe unfair to only use some games) the end of the DM season city only averaging 49 points or 6th place.

[COLOR=red]Does this make a case For or Against Murphy?[/COLOR] `

oi stato,

when was the last time city lost 4 in a row? was it at the start of the 96/97 season (Dave Barry's first full season in charge)?

Re: Stato on Liam Murphys record!

Originally posted by pete
    [COLOR=red]Does this make a case For or Against Murphy?[/COLOR]
    guess

Having watched the game on Chorus last night it proved alot of things to me. We had more possession, we had more oppurtunities (note, I didnt say "chances"), but we didnt deserve to win. We were clueless in almost every department. Gretg had a mare, as did Grady, as did Carey. if Georgie spent more time concentrating on his own game, and not bitching to others, he may have had a better chance of winning the cup.

Seeing Devines reaction at the corner at the end, where LM told him to hold on and dont go up for it proved that LM is a ****. At that point it didnt matter had we lost 0-1 or 0-3, we were out anyway Liam.

There were 11 city players out there the other night, but as my buddy put it, there wasnt a City team out there. No one was working fior each other.

Defeat to Derry is now a huge possibility, If we lose itll mean 5 in a row lost. Thats a bad stat even for a relegation team, but i feel that we will nick something, as always when things look awful for City, we bounce back and save Murphys hide again.

Originally posted by GWA
    but i feel that we will nick something, as always when things look awful for City, we bounce back and save Murphys hide again.
    just about right i reckon As for georgie, I couldn´t agree more- he needs to focus more on his own game and not others.

It most certainly makes a damning case against LM. Now, I said it Friday and I'll say it again, City (bad as they were) more than deserved to win the game. We had no shortage of chances just a MASSIVE shortage of luck when we most needed it. But, all that counts for nothing now. LM has managed to flush a very promising season down the jacks and we're barely a 1/3 of the way through it. Incompetence or what?

Murphy Out Now!!!

Originally posted by Shed End John
    LM has managed to flush a very promising season down the jacks and we're barely a 1/3 of the way through it. Incompetence or what?
    thats just about it really.

Originally posted by GWA
    There were 11 city players out there the other night, but as my buddy put it, there wasnt a City team out there. No one was working fior each other.
    Its the managers job to create a team.

I think some people will see this as griping after one lose but its really been on the cards all season. I think i've seen 6 (all but Harps) away games this season & would be difficult to remember a combination of poor city play for years.

Originally posted by pete

I think some people will see this as griping after one lose but its really been on the cards all season. I think i've seen 6 (all but Harps) away games this season & would be difficult to remember a combination of poor city play for years.
    I think that point really sums it up. A lot of people who couldnt make it to away games for whatever reason or just dont bother with away games and have only seen the team at home may feel that we are fickle and are never happy. They have only seen one poor performance and may see it as ridiculous for people to start giving out. However, the fact of the matter is that we have been brutal in every game away from home so far and we carried that form into fridays match, the away matches have been an unbelievable sequence of very bad displays and if we continue to play like that the best we can hope for is about 5th place.
    Champions!

seen all games - home and away

home we comptetant attacking force

away we meek timid team. lacking any coheasion and competance and 'moral fibre'

same players BUT different attitude

i mean longford and monaghan and finn harps and drogheda are average sides at best and we should be beating them

that said i'm looking forward to the derry trip and predict the first away win of the season

1-0 CCFC o'flynn

Well James if we win in Derry, I guess that confirms me as the away jinx!
    Champions!

Working on the jinx theory at the moment
    Colm you're still in the equation i might add

this weekend will tell alot

hmmmm is it weird that last night i dreamt of Alan Bennets Boots

none of the above conor but thanks for the advice
    it solved another matter though

Originally posted by Conor74

That depends.

Were the boots through on goals, with only the keeper to beat when suddenly you woke up?
    You are facing a challenge in life. Go for goal. Seize the nettle. Do not fear the sting.

Were the boots lost and alone, crying their way around Barracker or Pana?
    You have identity problems. You feel lonely. Talk things over with a loved one, or someone else's loved one, or anyone.

Were the boots sweaty and groaning and covered in PVC?
    That's smutty. Get into Confessions at Turner's Cross Church as soon as possible, young man.

Were the boots jumping around joyously following a thrilling away win? That's just fantasy.

If there was an award for post of the week that would get it.

Originally posted by James
    that said i'm looking forward to the derry trip and predict the first away win of the season
    1-0 CCFC o'flynn
    James, if we beat Derry up there, I will personally EAT an ENTIRE copy of either the matchday programme or 451 at the next home game AND you can hold me to that. Which tastes better?, just in case.

Murphy Out Now!!!