Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Keane - McCarthy - Let this be the end of it

Quote Originally Posted by Dawn_Run View Post
    Anyone else see it as a tad hypocritical of McCarthy coming out and bringing it all up again by saying that it should be put to bed? I'd forgotten all about it until he goes and makes a statement. Eejit - he's scared of what might happen on Nov 24th if you ask me.
    I wish i could forget Saipan, however it is something that i will take to the grave with me, i will remember the what could have been, and the excitment of the tournament for the boys in green, and of course i will remember the whole Keane saga.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Olof Mellberg - greatest beard in football today, perhaps even ever...
    Can any of ye rememebr the guy for sheff utd, Cork ? that wouldnt shave till he scored, hard for a defender, but hemanaged one in the FA semi-final
    years ago, not that last time sheff utd were there but the time befire
    he had a cracking beard

2,796 Posts
    Alexei Lalas, Abel Xavier, Ricky Villa, Mickey Droy (?) and George Berry of Wolves. They'd all be up there. And our own Tony Grealish of course.

3,501 Posts
    Chuck Norris!

Back on topic - I doubt that Mick called purely to check on the availability of players. With the Wolves - Sunderland game coming up and the media hype that was inevitably going to build up to it (Sky Sports have alreday moved it to Sunday for live coverage - Paddy Power were taking bets on whether or not they would shake hands) I reckon Mick decided to bite the bullet (so to speak) and have a word with Roy to nip this in the bud before it gets blown out of all proportion. And fair play to him for doing it.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 01/11/2006 at 9:56 AM.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dawn_Run View Post
    Anyone else see it as a tad hypocritical of McCarthy coming out and bringing it all up again by saying that it should be put to bed? I'd forgotten all about it until he goes and makes a statement. Eejit - he's scared of what might happen on Nov 24th if you ask me.
    This story was all over the back of Sunday's papers. However, it was Roy Keane who brought it to the media's attention then.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Good man Mick. Always the gentleman.
    Exactly.

20 Posts
    Pity then he was such a s*it manager....

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post

Spot on, forget about Saipan and all that crap. I'll never forgive him for the match we drew away to Macedonia (Euro 2000 qualifiers) when we were 1-0 up and literally coasting to victory and he decides to be "tactical" and bring on Matt Holland for his bloody debut then we go and sit back, concede, and subsequently not win the group that was ours for the taking...

Actually, on top of that, I'll never forgive him for actually giving Matt "the Invisible Man" Holland his debut in the first place....
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

114 Posts

Spot on, forget about Saipan and all that crap. I'll never forgive him for the match we drew away to Macedonia (Euro 2000 qualifiers) when we were 1-0 up and literally coasting to victory and he decides to be "tactical" and bring on Matt Holland for his bloody debut then we go and sit back, concede, and subsequently not win the group that was ours for the taking...

Actually, on top of that, I'll never forgive him for actually giving Matt "the Invisible Man" Holland his debut in the first place....
    Not Matt Hollands fault, and a mistake subsequent managers failed to learn from.

Disagree about Holland - goals against Portugal & Cameroon and many highly visible performances were much appreciated. If you want an invisible midfield look no further than those games we have played since he retired.

I always thought Holland was tidy enough. Nothing spectacular but simple and effective.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Good man, Bill. Always the constructive comment .

Rubbish manager ok - one competitive home defeat (his last game) in 6 years as the Irish manager and qualification for a World Cup for only the third time in our history. Also got to the last 16, something Scotland has never done, and lost out on penos only. Respected by all his players but one.

Matt Holland - certainly can't be blamed for that defeat in Macedonia. Wasn't there some stupid handball in the box? Scored great goals against Portugal and the Cameroon.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Lets be honest here the only reason Holland looked alright for Ireland was that most of his appearances were alongside the aforementioned R.Keane. How he has been considered a premiership footballer for so long will always remain a mystery to me...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

794 Posts
    Lets be honest here the only reason Holland looked alright for Ireland was that most of his appearances were alongside the aforementioned R.Keane. How he has been considered a premiership footballer for so long will always remain a mystery to me...
    I don't think one R.Keane was beside him in Japan when he scored against the Cameroon but I may be wrong
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

20 Posts
    Good man, Bill. Always the constructive comment .

Rubbish manager ok - one competitive home defeat (his last game) in 6 years as the Irish manager and qualification for a World Cup for only the third time in our history. Also got to the last 16, something Scotland has never done, and lost out on penos only. Respected by all his players but one.
    qualified for a tournament at his 3rd attempt mainly due to roy keanes desire to play in one. too many horrible performances to mention. Iceland at home? malta away?(yes they nearly bet us) croatia away? russia away? swiss at home? belgium away? spain in WC? and the little matter of his fantastic club record where he has managed 3 clubs. relegating sunderland twice and millwall went down the season he left them with much help from him.
    Crap manager and no matter how many ridiculous "facts" you are goin to throw out there owlsfan(as ****in usual ) you would convince me that what I saw with my own eyes wasnt fact.

I don't think one R.Keane was beside him in Japan when he scored against the Cameroon but I may be wrong

Conveniently papering over the cracks my friend! I'll admit that it was a great strike and he scored a couple of other goals for us (Portugal most notably) but lets be honest here our midfield in WC 2002 was nothing short of terrible. I can remember in most games we played (even Saudi Arabia!!!) the opposition's midfield waltzing through ours on several occasions, thanks to the invisible man himself and his slightly less invisible partner (Kinsella)

Sorry am not trying to open up a Saipan can of worms here - just making my point that Matt Holland is, in fact, crap...

Conveniently papering over the cracks my friend! I'll admit that it was a great strike and he scored a couple of other goals for us (Portugal most notably) but lets be honest here our midfield in WC 2002 was nothing short of terrible. I can remember in most games we played (even Saudi Arabia!!!) the opposition's midfield waltzing through ours on several occasions, thanks to the invisible man himself and his slightly less invisible partner (Kinsella)

Sorry am not trying to open up a Saipan can of worms here - just making my point that Matt Holland is, in fact, crap...
    matt holland was far from crap .. would walk into our team no bother still at this stage of his career. our midfiled in wc 2002 did very well and with a bit more luck would have been in the quarters . Staunton should ditch his pride and get holland back in the team.

794 Posts
    qualified for a tournament at his 3rd attempt mainly due to roy keanes desire to play in one. too many horrible performances to mention. Iceland at home? malta away?(yes they nearly bet us) croatia away? russia away? swiss at home? belgium away? spain in WC? and the little matter of his fantastic club record where he has managed 3 clubs. relegating sunderland twice and millwall went down the season he left them with much help from him.
    Crap manager and no matter how many ridiculous "facts" you are goin to throw out there owlsfan(as ****in usual ) you would convince me that what I saw with my own eyes wasnt fact.
    Isn't it amazing the spin that can be put on things? When McCarthy left Millwall they had just been knocked off the top of Division One table - they were relegated at the end of the season under Bruce Rioch which strikes me that McCarthy had been doing a great job there.

Every Manager will have poor performances. Let's look at the 5 games you mention out of
    the 68 he was manager for. Switzerland (our first ever home defeat under Mick) and Russia came at the end of his tenure. Belgium away was a great performance and but for an incorrect decision by a linesman giving the throw in to Belgium, we may well have won that game. I was at that game and the Spanish game you mention which we lost on penos - if that was a "horrible performance", I am not sure what you expect from the side? Croatia was brutal ok.

Mick Mc took over an ageing Irish team and had to rebuild from almost scratch. He did a great job. Got us to two play offs and qualified us for Korea/Japan. He also got Sunderland to one play off and then got them promoted, despite the club being debt ridden and having no money to spend.

I saw Irish teams with far more talent than Mick's teams finish bottom of their group or fail to qualify for anything.

You are negative about everything Irish other than Roy Keane

Re: Holland playing for us now

Now we all like a laugh but that's just taking things too far.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

qualified for a tournament at his 3rd attempt mainly due to roy keanes desire to play in one.
    Don't make me laugh......

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour View Post
    matt holland was far from crap .. would walk into our team no bother still at this stage of his career. our midfiled in wc 2002 did very well and with a bit more luck would have been in the quarters . Staunton should ditch his pride and get holland back in the team.
    I really am hoping that there's more than a hint of sarcasm to that post or maybe you had a couple of drinks when posting that...I would never EVER have Matt Holland back near an Irish team, can't pass, can't tackle, never stamps any authority on any game - he's basically an anonymous player and wouldn't even be good enough to warrant a place in this squad if he was available.

Saying that our midfield did well in 02 is purely rose-tinted memories - sure even the Saudi's dominated our midfield for long periods! (Yes the same Saudi team that lost something like 8-0 to ze Germans)...

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast