Thread: Ronan on Joe Duffy

74 Posts

Ronan on Joe Duffy

Only heard the end of it about the incidents in Athlone on saturday night.

Was he defending what was said about us or complaining about what happened?

Missed it too, maybe PD heard heard it? what was said?
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

What did happen???

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    What did happen???
    Athlone "fans" were throwing stones, bangers, fireworks at opposition supporters

was just told there he was defending our supporters and saying that we usually get on well with most ATFC fans

74 Posts
    but who rang in the first place complaining?

shock horror! hopefully he did us well - but obviuosly someone from athlone was complaining about GUFC supports - as terry said he rang to defend gaillimh aontaithe
    more water!

I cant imagine why Athlone fans would be complaining about United fans unless its the norm in Athlone to be pelted with fireworks and spat upon and then attacked by juvenile delinquents.Then again that does seem to be the norm.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

more water!

just beat you to it!
    more water!

Both Ronan and Nial were on. It was not a huge discussion by any means and i didnt hear any txts been read out about it. I'd say it was Joe himself that rang in about it Tommy. He's always looking for something to ****e on about!!! Moany git!!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

F*ck's sake. A few kids throw a few stones with nothing better to do and it's on Joe Duffy. Next thing it'll be the leak in the local bingo hall.
    I'm sure it was worth listening to for Pa's wit though!

someone posted on another thread that they had €900 damage to their car - i know going on the joe duffy show doesnt solve anything (bad for EL etc.) - but the bad behaviour shouldnt be ignored and the stewards/guards have to be held responsible in all this
    more water!

37 Posts
    The Liveline show can be listened to at http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/
    but they put them on the website a week later.

Check it out next Monday when the previous week's programmes will be put up on their site.

I heard the programme today. Nobody came on the air from Athlone Town FC. The two speakers from Galway United FC played it down and hoped it wouldn't happen again.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by JW. View Post
    F*ck's sake. A few kids throw a few stones with nothing better to do and it's on Joe Duffy. Next thing it'll be the leak in the local bingo hall.
    I'm sure it was worth listening to for Pa's wit though!
    JW were you there?
    It wasn't as minor as you make it out to be.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

In fairness I wasn't Conor, but I was told it wasn't exactly the Istanbul derby. By all accounts it was a thoroughly avoidable scenario. Whether the actions of a few kids merits debate on national radio is another thing.

Quote Originally Posted by JW. View Post
    In fairness I wasn't Conor, but I was told it wasn't exactly the Istanbul derby. By all accounts it was a thoroughly avoidable scenario. Whether the actions of a few kids merits debate on national radio is another thing.
    I don't think it should have been on the radio either.However out of the 150 or so who ran many were aged between 18-20.These are by law men and should have known better.It wasn't the Istanbul derby no but there were punches thrown,bangers let off and general antogonising behaviour......this won't occur at many if any other LOI game this year.Athlone should have copped on.There had been trouble at all 3 games pretty much this year and questions have to be answered why there was no segregation.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

74 Posts
    We have never had to have segragation in Athlone lads its only in the last year all this has happened and were not exactly snow white here although saturday night was mainly the fault of a total lack of stewarding by athlone.

We have to take a long hard look at ourselves this season and make sure that our reputation is not tarnished by individuals who step out of line and cant take any criticism no matter if its valid or not.