TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY
The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!
All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.
This decade. The N22 and the N71 are fine but all the roads in between, you'd be going around in circles looking for places.
Have you ever thought that there are some places that we just don't want you to find? I don't agree with you anyway.
Cork is the largest county in Ireland and West Cork is the largest region of the county. The Dubs can't even manage decent signage in their few square Kms and then they have the cheek to criticise others.
The Ordnance Survey are there for a reason. Buy a map!
1. I am not a Dub, I'm a Meath man.
2. I have already said that signage in general is bad in this country and that you don't tend to notice it as much as when you are in familiar surroundings.
3. I have no problems anywhere else.
In fairness Cork City can be really confusing to tourists to drive around. You have got a one way system that is not signposted that well and then you have got the river which splits in two. I don't know how many times I've been stopped by tourists asking for directions and trying to explain to them that yes I know you have crossed the river once but you need to coss it again!
As for the South Ring Road and the signs for the tunnel, at certain junctions it is confusing to follow.
Having said that try following the signs to get out of Dublin and those purple junction signs!
Cork City FC
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.
Dublin City Council had a brainwave about these fancy new signs and went ahead erecting them. There was a dispute between them and the Transport Minister midway through the rollout because he hadn't approved the signs and work stopped. Not sure how the fiasco was resolved, if indeed it ever was.
Sorry BGR, I can't agree with you on that. Even the Dubs were up in arms over those dumbass signs when they came out first; in fact I'm pretty sure some of them were taken down and/or replaced. I'm also pretty sure they're not to a standard; I've been in a good few countries and I don't think I've ever seen anything like them. Before those of course the signage was even worse, in that it wasn't there.
In all honesty, and I'm not just being patriotic, I've always thought Cork signage wasn't too bad. The roads in the city centre can definitely be a bit convoluted though, the south ring road in particular. But that's the City Manager's fault; we've had a string of incompetents in that department. And at least it's not the M50.
It should be noted that if you were down for De Jazz, some of the signs would have been taken down just to frustrate you. Because De Jazz is for foreigners, and we like to p*ss off the foreigners.
Last edited by dahamsta; 01/11/2006 at 1:45 PM.
Here's my thoughts on Joe Gavin.
Wasn't down 4 dee jazz unfotunately was working.It should be noted that if you were down for De Jazz, some of the signs would have been taken down just to frustrate you. Because De Jazz is for foreigners, and we like to p*ss off the foreigners.
adam![]()
take your point about the M50 in defence to Corks Infrastructure I cant Have been stuck in traffic for more than ten miniutes. just aswell Or Id still be driving around the place now. on the up side though got to listen to REDFM 20k in a day which was pretty cool but jaysus the three of them were pretty thick answering the questions
You were probably lucky with the traffic then, because if there's one thing I would have to concede, it's that the traffic is getting worse and worse. I have to go right across the city to Hollyhill at least once a week now, and the journey has to be planned meticulously!
My gf agrees with you on signage btw, so perhaps it's just that I'm used to it, know the routes -- I did used to drive a van around the city, which is always a help. But I reckon ye're both wrong, and I'm right. As ever.
Joe Gavin is the best thing to happen to this city in years. He is without doubt the man who drove large regeneration projects where others dithered. Could go on and on but look at the city 10 years ago compared to now.
There is a story that when he took office he took all the city planners and showed them pictures of all the tower cranes in the other cities and took them to the top floor of city hall and said he wanted to see the sky covered with them within 2 years and he did it!!
Cork City FC
Ye signed Joe Gavin from Galway City Council FC a few years ago on a free transfer. He tried to transform the mentality of Galway from big town in to a big city and failed. Galway is a really big village with 17,000 students and 330 bars.
Galwegians are comfortable with our image of being laid back. Clamping? Are sure clamp it yourself or park it up on the feckin footpath. Pay the fine within 21 days. If not, we will send you out 17 reminders. If you can't pay for it then, sure we will give you an 'auld grant.
Joe G. He's havin' a larf.![]()