Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Driving in Cork AARGGHHHHHHHHHH

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    We do that on purpose to keep the Dubs out but unfortunately, too many of them still manage to clog up the place.
    Actually, if you had a map and any clue where you were going, the signage in West Cork is good. It's not too often that I meet lost tourists down there but I suspect it's their ability to read which sets them apart from the Dubs.
    Well I'm usually pretty good at navigating. I've only ever had problems in West Cork, Kerry and a certain part of the West of France (but I think that that was a new road and they hadn't got the signage in order yet.)
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    I've only ever had problems in West Cork, Kerry...
    What decade are we talking about here?
    West Cork/Kerry have a very sophisticated tourist board and they've done great work on improving signage, etc.

Unless you're talking about driving up some boreen, in which case, your complaint is petty.

This decade. The N22 and the N71 are fine but all the roads in between, you'd be going around in circles looking for places.

...you'd be going around in circles looking for places.
    Have you ever thought that there are some places that we just don't want you to find? I don't agree with you anyway.
    Cork is the largest county in Ireland and West Cork is the largest region of the county. The Dubs can't even manage decent signage in their few square Kms and then they have the cheek to criticise others.

The Ordnance Survey are there for a reason. Buy a map!

1. I am not a Dub, I'm a Meath man.
    2. I have already said that signage in general is bad in this country and that you don't tend to notice it as much as when you are in familiar surroundings.
    3. I have no problems anywhere else.

1. I am not a Dub, I'm a Meath man.
    You all look the same to me!

3. I have no problems anywhere else.
    Well that explains it then. The West Cork signs have an accent that you can't understand.

In fairness Cork City can be really confusing to tourists to drive around. You have got a one way system that is not signposted that well and then you have got the river which splits in two. I don't know how many times I've been stopped by tourists asking for directions and trying to explain to them that yes I know you have crossed the river once but you need to coss it again!
    As for the South Ring Road and the signs for the tunnel, at certain junctions it is confusing to follow.
    Having said that try following the signs to get out of Dublin and those purple junction signs!
    Cork City FC

Well that explains it then. The West Cork signs have an accent that you can't understand.
    Why anyone would have to be in West Cork long enough to notice the signage is the sad part of the story for me...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23 View Post
    In fairness Cork City can be really confusing to tourists to drive around.
    They shouldn't be driving around the city in the first place.
    That's what the ring road and the Park 'n' Ride is for.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    Umm, BGR, aren't you from Dublin? The city with the signage you need to familiarise yourself with over a period of years?
    Ok Fair Point. Perhaps the point I should have been making was as adam points out the signage in dublin is very different to that in cork. why in the hell is this when they'e both in the same country.(cue all the peoples republic jibes)

Dublin City Council had a brainwave about these fancy new signs and went ahead erecting them. There was a dispute between them and the Transport Minister midway through the rollout because he hadn't approved the signs and work stopped. Not sure how the fiasco was resolved, if indeed it ever was.

OK. But its the signs in Dublin that seem pretty much standard in the other counties I've visited over the last while except Cork and in particular Cork City

521 Posts
    Sorry BGR, I can't agree with you on that. Even the Dubs were up in arms over those dumbass signs when they came out first; in fact I'm pretty sure some of them were taken down and/or replaced. I'm also pretty sure they're not to a standard; I've been in a good few countries and I don't think I've ever seen anything like them. Before those of course the signage was even worse, in that it wasn't there.

In all honesty, and I'm not just being patriotic, I've always thought Cork signage wasn't too bad. The roads in the city centre can definitely be a bit convoluted though, the south ring road in particular. But that's the City Manager's fault; we've had a string of incompetents in that department. And at least it's not the M50.

It should be noted that if you were down for De Jazz, some of the signs would have been taken down just to frustrate you. Because De Jazz is for foreigners, and we like to p*ss off the foreigners.

Last edited by dahamsta; 01/11/2006 at 1:45 PM.

But that's the City Manager's fault; we've had a string of incompetents in that department.
    As a Cork City FC fan, I cannot allow you to say a bad word against Joe Gavin!

521 Posts
    Here's my thoughts on Joe Gavin.

Your thoughts on him aren't going to provide a training facility for Cork City FC.

It should be noted that if you were down for De Jazz, some of the signs would have been taken down just to frustrate you. Because De Jazz is for foreigners, and we like to p*ss off the foreigners.

Wasn't down 4 dee jazz unfotunately was working.
    take your point about the M50 in defence to Corks Infrastructure I cant Have been stuck in traffic for more than ten miniutes. just aswell Or Id still be driving around the place now. on the up side though got to listen to REDFM 20k in a day which was pretty cool but jaysus the three of them were pretty thick answering the questions

521 Posts
    You were probably lucky with the traffic then, because if there's one thing I would have to concede, it's that the traffic is getting worse and worse. I have to go right across the city to Hollyhill at least once a week now, and the journey has to be planned meticulously!

My gf agrees with you on signage btw, so perhaps it's just that I'm used to it, know the routes -- I did used to drive a van around the city, which is always a help. But I reckon ye're both wrong, and I'm right. As ever.

Joe Gavin is the best thing to happen to this city in years. He is without doubt the man who drove large regeneration projects where others dithered. Could go on and on but look at the city 10 years ago compared to now.

There is a story that when he took office he took all the city planners and showed them pictures of all the tower cranes in the other cities and took them to the top floor of city hall and said he wanted to see the sky covered with them within 2 years and he did it!!
    Cork City FC

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebs23 View Post
    Joe Gavin is the best thing to happen to this city in years. He is without doubt the man who drove large regeneration projects where others dithered. Could go on and on but look at the city 10 years ago compared to now.
    Ye signed Joe Gavin from Galway City Council FC a few years ago on a free transfer. He tried to transform the mentality of Galway from big town in to a big city and failed. Galway is a really big village with 17,000 students and 330 bars.

Galwegians are comfortable with our image of being laid back. Clamping? Are sure clamp it yourself or park it up on the feckin footpath. Pay the fine within 21 days. If not, we will send you out 17 reminders. If you can't pay for it then, sure we will give you an 'auld grant.

Joe G. He's havin' a larf.

PS What's it like for an outsider to drive in Galway?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast