Yeah yeah, I'm a geek, yadda yadda.

adam,

just wondering how costs of running foot.ie and domain name etc are met?

do you pay anything out of your own pocket?

also why isn't there a sponsor for the website?

i'm sure somebody out there would be interested at throwing money at ya.

if only to meet costs?

522 Posts
    just wondering how costs of running foot.ie and domain name etc are met? do you pay anything out of your own pocket?

I run my own webservers, so the hosting is relatively cheap for the site; although I may need to move it to it's own machine soon. I pay for the domain name myself, and of course the moderators donate their time.

also why isn't there a sponsor for the website?

Because I want to run it for as long as possible without one. Community first, dosh second.

i'm sure somebody out there would be interested at throwing money at ya. if only to meet costs?

I'm willing to take a hit on it for a while more. We'll see how it goes in the new year.

Thanks,

I pay for the domain name myself

ah as FIFA would say...For the Good of the Game

Community first, dosh second.

i don't think one ad that doesn't jump out at ya or annoy ya would be that bad?

btw, how much time do you put into this?

Re: this may sound

Originally posted by eoinh
    like a stupid question but whats a high signal to noise ratio?
    ah, my arch-nemesis Communication Theory rears its ugly head again...
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

522 Posts
    ah as FIFA would say...For the Good of the Game

heh

i don't think one ad that doesn't jump out at ya or annoy ya would be that bad?

Oh, neither do I, but I'm not in any particular hurry to do it. I think at this stage it's just a matter of time before someone asks us about it, and we'll look at it then.

btw, how much time do you put into this?

Not a whole lot really. I tend to leave the soccer forums to the lads, and keep an eye on the the rest. I used to tool around with the code a bit, but I'm leaving that now because a completely new version is coming sometime in the new year.

I have a lot on my plate at the moment with several projects - CorkWAN in particular is going to start dragging chunks of time out of me - but I'm hoping to start adding new features in the new year, with an eye towards having them working smoothly for the new season.

so who's this Cork wan you'll be spending so much time with then???
    "I don’t want to tempt fate, but Thierry Henry is not having one of his best nights." - RTE co-commentator Jim Beglin, minutes before TH struck the stunning winner.

Originally posted by Magoo
    Cork wan
    Cork Wan ... she'dobe hanging around on Pana all de time like, i dobe scene her all over de place like, she is soooouuuund biy

Just for the record ....

I'd love to see IS on foot.ie i think it would really get things going.

I'd hate to have to sift through a load of cr@p all the time aswell. It would never get that bad though.

As for other fans having to put up with Cork fans banter all the time, i dont think so and even so that crap always dies down after a while if it does start, and then it is back to business and would be worth the effort.

I wouldn't mind if it was yellow with purple spots (could that be done )

The layout is fine, you can get your info fast and little messin' 'bout and if you have time you can get a good read.

Adam ...... you the man, keep up the good work.

522 Posts
    so who's this Cork wan you'll be spending so much time with then?

http://www.corkwan.org/

I tell ye lads, the name wasn't my idea but I had to fight to keep it.

I'd love to see IS on foot.ie i think it would really get things going.

Who? Independent Saints maybe?

I wouldn't mind if it was yellow with purple spots (could that be done?

Yes, it could. No, I won't.

Adam ...... you the man, keep up the good work.

Cheers hoss. Although to be fair, I do bugger all.

Originally posted by Vetinari
    [B]

I wouldn't mind if it was yellow with purple spots (could that be done?

Yes, it could. No, I won't.

[

GOOD CALL!

IS (as in Independent Saints) has its own board now and we're pretty happy with it. For anything other than Pats chat, we recommend foot.ie

Our own board gives us a whole range of things we just can't do with foot.ie and nor should we be allowed. Things are fine the way they are...

Originally posted by Dodge
    Our own board gives us a whole range of things we just can't do with foot.ie and nor should we be allowed.
    Like what? (as a matter of interest)

522 Posts
    Swear, I imagine.

No we ban swearing....

The main thing is private boards where only selected individuals can see it. We have our own board segregated (General, Supporters Club News, Website and OffTopic - as well as those private boards...)

Plus we have our choice off colours, our choice of avatars etc

Like I said nothing wrong with keeping foot.ie the way it is but in IS our own board is needed

522 Posts
    We can do private boards on Foot.ie. We can do colours too, as long as they incorporate the Foot.ie logo somewhere. And avatars, if someone is willing to supply them.

We're very accomodating on Foot.ie. But it's up to the people who want things to lay the groundwork. Community, dontcha know.

Originally posted by Vetinari
    We can do private boards on Foot.ie. We can do colours too, as long as they incorporate the Foot.ie logo somewhere. And avatars, if someone is willing to supply them.

We're very accomodating on Foot.ie. But it's up to the people who want things to lay the groundwork. Community, dontcha know.

All fair enough but none ofthis was advertised where as it was with our current provider. Like I said it's grand the way it is. the IS board for pats, foot.ie for everything else