Page 27 of 60 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: Sean St. Ledger

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    He had a stinker in their second game of the season, after Mills had a stinker in the first. Eriksson seems to have given Mills the nod (not surprising after paying 5m for him).

It always surprises me when players like Legder and O'Dea do quite well at the international level, then stagnate at club level.
    Thankfully I think O'Dea is doing well enough for Leeds.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    He had a stinker in their second game of the season, after Mills had a stinker in the first. Eriksson seems to have given Mills the nod (not surprising after paying 5m for him)
    St Ledger was playing well, before he got caught on the ball, as for Mills he's been poor but Sven plays him after paying so much for him.

In the league cup, St Ledger has been the better of the defenders, but still no joy from Sven.

Looking to go on loan but Sven is unhappy to loan him to a rival club that may challenge in the championship.

St Ledger has been very professional and worked hard in training, but it must be hard when you play well and get man of the match at International level, then dont even make the bench at Leicester.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the doc View Post
    St Ledger was playing well, before he got caught on the ball, as for Mills he's been poor but Sven plays him after paying so much for him.

In the league cup, St Ledger has been the better of the defenders, but still no joy from Sven.

Looking to go on loan but Sven is unhappy to loan him to a rival club that may challenge in the championship.

St Ledger has been very professional and worked hard in training, but it must be hard when you play well and get man of the match at International level, then dont even make the bench at Leicester.
    Sean, dont take it personal. Try getting a few MOTM at the club side you are playing for, that will have more sway in keeping you in the side.

Looking for a Loan spell after 5 minutes at the club doesnt sound too good either. Knuckle down, good lad.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

285 Posts
    Didn't even make the bench again this week
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    Didn't even make the bench again this week
    There must of been a falling out... How he cant make the bench is ridiculous!

He could be injured I suppose. Sean, can you confirm this?

285 Posts
    Also slightly off topic but Damien Delaney has been benched for the last couple of games in a row but still makes the Irish squad. IMO Trapattoni should go get someone on the granny rule as our centre half options are becoming desperate.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

2,796 Posts
    SSL and O'Dea have done just fine for us when called upon. SSL looks really comfortable in international football, whether he's playing for his club or not.

3,501 Posts
    Also slightly off topic but Damien Delaney has been benched for the last couple of games in a row but still makes the Irish squad. IMO Trapattoni should go get someone on the granny rule as our centre half options are becoming desperate.
    bit of an over reaction there surely? Between Dunne, O'Shea, St Ledger, O'Dea, and Clark we're reasonably well served at centre half. Paddy McCarthy having a decent season at Crystal Palace too.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    As far as I can make out, Chambers (Forest) Stearman (Wolves) and Gerrard (Cardiff) are available to him, or indicated they would like to be, Connolly at QPR qualifies also I think, as does Zat Knight as his England cap was in a friendly. Out of that lot, its much of a muchness between them and our current back up CB options I reckon, and in those circumstances Id favour the guys we have everytime. O'Brien has had a bonus run in the Derby side too and up until the weekend it was going very well for him.

Did you have someone in mind for this green granny recruitment manouvre?

Stick Jermaine Pennant in at centre half I reckon. Gotta be better than whoever the Sunday World's current whipping boy is.

85 Posts
    Is he injured?? Not even on the bench for Leicester today.

366 Posts
    I don't think he's injured but Mills has been sent off for Leicester so that might increase his chances of getting a game or two. Then again, if he couldn't even make the bench today..

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    The way it was re shaped today after the red card, the RFB went to CB and the sub came in at RFB, so maybe he will feature, if he doesnt then there is something more amiss.

From about a week ago
    "I feel fine and sharp. It was great to get on and play on Friday night. It's difficult and personally frustrating for me to be not playing for my club," St Ledger told the Herald ahead of Armenia.
    "It's a bit of a nightmare at the moment, to be honest. I want to play but to keep my place with the Ireland team I need to be playing at club level regularly and I haven't been doing that.
    "I haven't even made the bench for the last few games with the club and that's frustrating. It's not down to injury, it's purely tactical.
    "It's hard to get angry with the manager as he's such a nice man and a good person, he's brilliant to work under. I want to be successful at Leicester. It's a massive club with great potential so I have to keep working as hard as I can to stay in there.
    "But maybe I need to go on loan to get some football for the time being. If we do get to the play-offs I need to be playing if I am to stay in the team and if I'm going to be match fit."

St Ledger joined Leicester in the summer as part of the fall-out from Preston's relegation to League One, but the move has not gone according to plan and he's made just one league appearance for the Foxes.
    "It's not easy when you can't even make the bench. You only have five subs on the bench in the Championship and our right back can play centre half so they have other options. I just have to deal with it, but it's been a very frustrating period," the player says.
    "I have spoken to Sven about it and he said he'll speak to me again after the international break. We have only three centre halves at the club and if one of them gets injured then I am back in the team, but it's not easy.

207 Posts
    This is perfect. Usually when we qualify we have an important player not getting his game at club level.

If Sledge continues to not play regularly at club level for the rest of the season, O'Dea should get the nod to start if we qualify for the Euros.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    This is perfect. Usually when we qualify we have an important player not getting his game at club level.
    "And it's come through here.....McAteer!! Sledge!!"

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaysus View Post
    If Sledge continues to not play regularly at club level for the rest of the season, O'Dea should get the nod to start if we qualify for the Euros.
    Club level has no bearing to international record or capability, at which Sledge is streets ahead of O'Dea. Nonsensical post by another Dunphy inspired armchair pundit who thinks the 11 most frequently played Irish players in the EPL/CH should be our starting as if its some sort of qualifying merit over the lads who y'know actually deliver for the team in question.

Quote Originally Posted by Murfinator View Post
    Club level has no bearing to international record or capability, at which Sledge is streets ahead of O'Dea. Nonsensical post by another Dunphy inspired armchair pundit who thinks the 11 most frequently played Irish players in the EPL/CH should be our starting as if its some sort of qualifying merit over the lads who y'know actually deliver for the team in question.
    Nonsense. St Ledger even said himself that he has to start regularly for Leicester to keep his Ireland place - see #535.

Page 27 of 60 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast