Page 20 of 60 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast

Thread: Sean St. Ledger

Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    To think, some of ye were saying that Aston Villa or Liverpool were going to come in with an offer of four million pounds for this joker. He's a Championship player at best, I've never been impressed with him on international duty.
    Yeah but no player has ever impressed you.

Quote Originally Posted by the doc View Post
    Both being messed about by DF the PNE manager, for joining up with the recent Ireland squad against his wishes!
    I suspect the messing about with the line-up is as much to do with PNE being bottom of the championship with a -15 goal difference, at least in some part due to Sledge's defensive ineptitude.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Adrock View Post
    I suspect the messing about with the line-up is as much to do with PNE being bottom of the championship with a -15 goal difference, at least in some part due to Sledge's defensive ineptitude.
    Or the medial knee ligament tear he got early on against Hull!

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    It's important to point out that at international level, St Ledger has two defensive midfielders sitting in front of him and Dunne by his side guiding him through games, yet his defensive fralities and lapses in concentration have been exposed. It is very much arguable that Kilbane is the weakest link in the back line, but there is an honesty in effort from Kilbane and willing to accept responsibility that St Ledger sorely lacks. It'd be of much more benefit to St Ledger if he was willing to accept his limitations, work on these limitations, stop inventing these fanciful January club moves, and lose the ego.

You were badly exposed for both goals against Hull. And you gifted Barnsley a win. Is DF really to blame?
    Dear moron, SSL got injured after 5 mins in the Hull game, and couldnt run, but played on for the team at the managers request, thats the reason for the goals against v Hull

52 Posts
    To think, some of ye were saying that Aston Villa or Liverpool were going to come in with an offer of four million pounds for this joker. He's a Championship player at best, I've never been impressed with him on international duty.
    Fancy betting against that? Put your money where you mouth is!

2,771 Posts
    CR already owes me a grand!
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

131 Posts
    Whatever St Ledger's current problems with Preston after Dunne he's been our best centre half since Cunningham retired so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt if he's going through a bad run of form. I wouldn't be too keen to shift O'Shea into the centre back position for Ireland at his expense either at present. He's been useless this year for United (even more so than normal).

366 Posts
    Sean's in brutal form at the moment but retconning his Ireland contribution is disingenuous. He's been solid for us.

Needs to get himself sorted though.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Whatever St Ledger's current problems with Preston after Dunne he's been our best centre half since Cunningham retired so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt if he's going through a bad run of form. I wouldn't be too keen to shift O'Shea into the centre back position for Ireland at his expense either at present. He's been useless this year for United (even more so than normal).
    O'Shea might be one of the weaker players at Manu (which is no disgrace) but you cant really see him losing his spot in the United line-up to a Burnley reserve player! I dont think St Ledger's really had a good run of form all year - probably been reading his Irish press too much and thinks he's Cannavaro.
    Last edited by Adrock; 29/11/2010 at 10:05 PM.

358 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Adrock View Post
    O'Shea might be one of the weaker players at Manu (which is no disgrace) but you cant really see him losing his spot in the United line-up to a Burnley reserve player! I dont think St Ledger's really had a good run of form all year - probably been reading his Irish press too much and thinks he's Cannavaro.
    Who are you talking about when you refer to a Burnley reserve player?

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    Who are you talking about when you refer to a Burnley reserve player?
    Preston have loaned in Leon Cort from Burnley. Cort was given his Preston debut at the expense of St Ledger.

Yes Sean we are all well aware at this stage that you will be leaving Preston sooner rather than later.

Or the medial knee ligament tear he got early on against Hull!
    Why did he play the second half of that game with a a bandage around his thigh then?
    Last edited by ifk101; 30/11/2010 at 8:34 AM.

60 Posts
    Reckon Ferguson will be leaving before any players. SSL has been great for Ireland. Perhaps he has stayed too long at Preston and is starting to stagnate.
    Always look on the bright side of life

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Reckon Ferguson will be leaving before any players. SSL has been great for Ireland. Perhaps he has stayed too long at Preston and is starting to stagnate.
    True. I really do wonder about some of the posters on this site sometimes if they really watch any of our Ireland games. St Ledger goes through a bad run of form for this club (on and off for the best part of a year now in fairness) and you have these so called fans crawling out of the woodwork dismissing his mostly very impressive performances for Ireland (which is all I care about) while someone like McGeady who's been mostly dire for Ireland by any sane person's assessment seems to get praise and adoration far beyond the ability his performances in the green shirt would suggest he possesses.
    Last edited by youngirish; 30/11/2010 at 8:35 PM.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Done and done. You name any amount up to 1000 Euro and I'll send it in to dahamsta. If St. Ledger isn't transferred to either Liverpool or Aston Villa by September 5 2011 I'll take your money. If he is then you can have mine. Let me know, be sure you can back it up by sending the money to dahamsta now though.

60 Posts
    Carragher out for 3 months, Liverpool will be looking for replacement.
    Always look on the bright side of life

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Carragher out for 3 months, Liverpool will be looking for replacement.
    They have a ready made replacement on loan at Hull.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    True. I really do wonder about some of the posters on this site sometimes if they really watch any of our Ireland games.
    You wonder too much about the opinions of other posters.

65 Posts
    Done and done. You name any amount up to 1000 Euro and I'll send it in to dahamsta. If St. Ledger isn't transferred to either Liverpool or Aston Villa by September 5 2011 I'll take your money. If he is then you can have mine. Let me know, be sure you can back it up by sending the money to dahamsta now though.
    Would you be prepared to bet your silence for 6 months. Cos I'd pay a grand for that
    Le monde est a nous

130 Posts
    Lads, if he was good enough, a Premiership team would have come in for him by now. The France play off was over a year ago now.
    How many years did Kenny Cunningham play in the second tier?? And he was another defender who never left us down. Just because he hasnt been snapped up by an EPL club doesnt mean he is not good enough for the level. IMO the lad has done very well for us, off the top of my head I cant think of any glaring errors or any goals where blame wouldve rested with the lad. Not a great player but a solid player for us so far who has chipped in with a couple of good goals.

23. Thanks From:

358 Posts
    Any one who saw the Hull game could only admire his courage in playing on. While he was possibly guilty for one of the goals, as the commentators pointed out on the night, his injury affected his ability to turn quickly. I totally agree with Elroy and youngirish. Why the hell are people turning on him? He is a solid contributor for us and I think his headed goal against Italy was brilliant. He will at some stage play in the Premiership and will proves some of his critics on here wrong.

Page 20 of 60 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast