Unless we're talking about another Andrei Kanchelskis, I beg to differ:
    I]
    my mistake

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Was only having a joke anyway. Pretty crappy behaviour all round. Soccer players would be slaughtered for that type of behaviour these days. Different times I suppose but I always think rugby players can pass off loutish behaviour much easier than soccer players.
    Joke appreciated , also the point about double standards being applied to footballers ("hooligans") and rugby players ("decent chaps, out for a bit of harmless fun")

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Merc67 View Post
    i dont get it
    There's quite a bit you "don't get", it would appear.

Still, it will make a good epitaph for your tombstone.

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    In 1974, they were simply known as "The British Lions". This was a throwback to their origins, when the whole of Ireland was an integral part of the United Kingdom.

As for McBride, no-one calls him Willie Mc - he's usually known as "Willie John" (it's an Ulster thing), or Bill, to his mates.

Anyhow, if you were to repeat to him some of the things you've posted here, I don't know whether he'd employ a British fist or an Irish one, but you won't be posting anything from anywhere for a very long time!
    why are we talking about rugby - this is a soccer forum - oval ball need not apply.

BTW is merc67 supposed to feel freightened that big bad billy mc (who qualifies for a free bus pass) is gonna get him for his nationalist views

Still, it will make a good epitaph for your tombstone.
    not on my life

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    "To be replaced by what? Other paraphanalia of unionism. You already admit you object to the tricolour for the same reasons"

A "neutral", new, anthem and flag for sporting occassions in Northern Ireland, that offends no one.

"Why should nationalists accept this when inclusivity could be acheived by having two athems and two flags? Simple enough I would have thought

One, new, "neutral" anthem would be preferrable.

"Sorry mate, but this is a discussion about what 'country' one wants to play for, and therefore politics"

Yes, I'm aware of that...mate.

"You're trying to muddy the waters with some cack about being British and Irish at the same time, while being hostile to the democratic wishes of the majority of all the people that live in Ireland. If you had dual - nationality, I'd accept your protests about being Irish and British, although dual nationality doesn't mean you can use one nationality to subjugate the other. However, you admit you don't, so you're just plain British to me"

Not "muddying the waters" at all. The overwhelming majority of people in Ireland have settled the constitutional question of Northern Ireland - it's done, agreed, over.

I may be "plain British" to you, but what you think of my identity is irrelevent. It's what I know I am that counts.

"In fact it's the British government that will stop you getting a British passport, not the Irish"

Err...no, they wont.

"As stated above, I have no objection to you being British, having British citizenship etc"

Feel free to "object" all you like - I AM British...and Irish.

"Your stance - if you still insist on calling yourself Irish - however is more like the Oswald Moseleys and William Joyces who would have welcomed the Nazis"

How so?

Pathetically trying to link my identity with those of Nazis. Disgusting slur, showing a complete ignorance of history and my hertitage. Grow up and wise up.

Irish/British. Deal with it.

Born and bred on the island of Ireland, like my forefathers before me.

A supporter of the IRISH Football Association.

You may denounce my Irish identity (like you have your own place of birth) all you like - I will never denounce it. I'm proud of it.

"No they play under the British anthem instead"

It is the National Anthem of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern IRELAND.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post

Irish/British. Deal with it.
    why? just cos??

"No they play under the British anthem instead"

It is the National Anthem of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern IRELAND.
    it was written well before the north was created. a *******ised state with an adopted anthem.
    yet is is only England and the north that use it..... sad aint you..trying to be more British than the Eng...I mean British....

Frequently, when an anthem is needed for one of the component countries of the UK—at an international sporting event, for instance—an alternate song is used:

Wales has its own recognised anthem in "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau".
    England generally uses "God Save the Queen", but has used "Jerusalem" or "Land of Hope and Glory".
    Northern Ireland generally uses "God Save the Queen" at events associated with the British tradition, and the Irish national anthem "Amhrán na bhFiann" at events associated with the Irish tradition.
    Scotland uses either "Flower of Scotland" or "Scotland the Brave", or traditionally "Scots Wha Hae"; although the only official anthem is "God Save the Queen".
    At international football matches, England and Northern Ireland both use "God Save the Queen", while Scotland uses "Flower of Scotland", and Wales uses "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau". There has been some debate about replacing "God Save the Queen" with "Land of Hope and Glory" for England matches.
    At international rugby league matches, England have used "Land of Hope and Glory" but in their 2005 internationals, changed to "God Save The Queen". Scotland uses "Flower of Scotland" and Wales uses "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau". At Great Britain matches, "God Save the Queen" is played, which recently led to Irish-born Brian Carney bowing his head and not singing along.
    In international rugby union, England uses "God Save the Queen", Scotland "Flower of Scotland" and Wales "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau". Ireland (a team representing both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland) sing "Ireland's Call", a song which attempts to unite the two traditions on the island. The song is sung at Ireland's home and away games. At home games it is also accompanied by the Republic of Ireland's national anthem "A Soldier's Song".

strange how others change, and the wannabe brits up north dont... one team for one tribe...

282 Posts

Re. Lopez

Not Brazil,
    Being English, Lopez will surely recognise the phrase:
    "Leave it, he ain't worf it"

131 Posts
    This thread has gone way off the football. If Not Brazil and EalingGreen consider themselves British and Irish then that's their right. Comparing them to fascists and slating their right to choose how they define themselves is nonsense. They seem reasonably open-minded and less bigoted than many people (uinionists and nationalists) that I've met from the north (and to a lesser extent from the south) so I think some of the stick is a bit unfair.
    Last edited by youngirish; 27/10/2006 at 5:32 PM.

131 Posts
    why? just cos??

it was written well before the north was created. a *******ised state with an adopted anthem.
    yet is is only England and the north that use it..... sad aint you..trying to be more British than the Eng...I mean British....

Frequently, when an anthem is needed for one of the component countries of the UK—at an international sporting event, for instance—an alternate song is used:

Wales has its own recognised anthem in "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau".
    England generally uses "God Save the Queen", but has used "Jerusalem" or "Land of Hope and Glory".
    Northern Ireland generally uses "God Save the Queen" at events associated with the British tradition, and the Irish national anthem "Amhrán na bhFiann" at events associated with the Irish tradition.
    Scotland uses either "Flower of Scotland" or "Scotland the Brave", or traditionally "Scots Wha Hae"; although the only official anthem is "God Save the Queen".
    At international football matches, England and Northern Ireland both use "God Save the Queen", while Scotland uses "Flower of Scotland", and Wales uses "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau". There has been some debate about replacing "God Save the Queen" with "Land of Hope and Glory" for England matches.
    At international rugby league matches, England have used "Land of Hope and Glory" but in their 2005 internationals, changed to "God Save The Queen". Scotland uses "Flower of Scotland" and Wales uses "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau". At Great Britain matches, "God Save the Queen" is played, which recently led to Irish-born Brian Carney bowing his head and not singing along.
    In international rugby union, England uses "God Save the Queen", Scotland "Flower of Scotland" and Wales "Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau". Ireland (a team representing both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland) sing "Ireland's Call", a song which attempts to unite the two traditions on the island. The song is sung at Ireland's home and away games. At home games it is also accompanied by the Republic of Ireland's national anthem "A Soldier's Song".

strange how others change, and the wannabe brits up north dont... one team for one tribe...
    Thanks for sharing that with us Merc57,

Taking away your bile, you state exactly the reasons why I would like to see a new, sporting anthem for Northern Ireland games.

You obviously have missed the numerous previous occassions when I have stated that, on this thread.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    This thread has gone way off the football. If Not Brazil and EalingGreen consider themselves British and Irish then that's their right. Comparing them to fascists and slating their right to choose how they define themselves is nonsense. They seem reasonably open-minded and less bigoted than many people (uinionists and nationalists) that I've met from the north (and to a lesser extent from the south) so I think some of the stick is a bit unfair.

you're prob right fella. no hard feelings lads, ye seem like two blokes i'd gladly have a pint and a row with

looks like a seemingly plausible thread has once again been dragged down by the OWC boys who want to lecture us uninformed.

wake up. cop on. you cannot be british and irish - end of discussion.

1. if you accept GSTQ as your anthem, the british (or is it german) royal family as your monarchary and the union jack as your flag then you are british. you may be born on the island of ireland but your alligences are to britain, you can call yourself northern irish if you please because you recognise it as a legitimate state but you are not irish or an irishman.

2. i am an irishman, Amhrán na bhFiann is my anthem, i bow to no king nor queen, i am a citizen of a democratic state (albeit partitoned) and not the subject of his/her majesty the king/queen of england and the tricolour is my flag.

EDIT: if you meet the criteria of both 1 and 2 then you may call yourself both irish and british
    Last edited by galwayhoop; 27/10/2006 at 5:40 PM.

131 Posts
    Not Brazil,
    Being English, Lopez will surely recognise the phrase:
    "Leave it, he ain't worf it"
    EG,

Did you hear the joke about the guy born in England, says he's Irish, and tells a boy born in Belfast that he's not Irish?

I know.

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil
    That's the deal that I, and the vast majority of nationalists/republicans, have endorsed.
    However, that in itself will not "unite" Irish people from differing backgrounds.
    What good a territory united, if it's people remain divided?
    For me you've hit the nail on the head.

FWIW, I don't consider that some people in Ireland are British simply because a part of Ireland is part of the United Kingdom. The hold their identity(ies) because of their history and heritage. If NI left the UK tomorrow, never to return, I would still respect the rights of those to consider themselves British because I don't consider it to invalidate their Irishness. Similarly, if the south were to rejoin the UK it wouldn't mean that I would be British, or stop being Irish.

There are no cookie-cutter Irishmen; Irishness is made up of a mosaic of influences as far as I'm concerned and we should attemt to embrace (or at least respect) these differences rather that beat each other up over them.

Either we all win together, or we continue to be divided forever.
    Never a truer word said.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by crc View Post
    For me you've hit the nail on the head.

FWIW, I don't consider that some people in Ireland are British simply because a part of Ireland is part of the United Kingdom. The hold their identity(ies) because of their history and heritage. If NI left the UK tomorrow, never to return, I would still respect the rights of those to consider themselves British because I don't consider it to invalidate their Irishness. Similarly, if the south were to rejoin the UK it wouldn't mean that I would be British, or stop being Irish.

There are no cookie-cutter Irishmen; Irishness is made up of a mosaic of influences as far as I'm concerned and we should attemt to embrace (or at least respect) these differences rather that beat each other up over them.

Never a truer word said.
    You Sir, are a proper United Irelander.

Did you hear the joke about the guy born in England, says he's Irish, and tells a boy born in Belfast that he's not Irish?

Quote Originally Posted by crc View Post

There are no cookie-cutter Irishmen; Irishness is made up of a mosaic of influences as far as I'm concerned and we should attemt to embrace (or at least respect) these differences
    what use is an 'irish identity' that wishes to be below another nation?? have these people no fecking pride? even the canadians and aussies eventually copped on and changed anthems etc... its an embarrassment, whatever country it happens in.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    wake up. cop on. you cannot be british and irish - end of discussion.
    And there you have it folks - and we all lived happily ever after.

131 Posts
    what use is an 'irish identity' that wishes to be below another nation?? have these people no fecking pride? even the canadians and aussies eventually copped on and changed anthems etc... its an embarrassment, whatever country it happens in.
    Ahh - the joys of a Union.

Lost on poor Merc67.

Pathetically trying to link my identity with those of Nazis. Disgusting slur, showing a complete ignorance of history and my hertitage. Grow up and wise up..
    Ahhh, diddums. Did I hurt your feelings there by comparing you with those naughty nazis. The comparison is simple: You claim heritage of one country. You support the occupation of it by another. Oswald Mosely, Vidkung Quisling, Marshal Petain et al all claimed to be from one country and helped/would have helped in the occupation of their country by another. Now there's a history lesson for you.
    Err...no, they wont.
    Er yes they can and will, as it is the British government who hands out passports. Can third generation unionists in the Republic get British citizenship? One of the most laughable, if it weren't so disgusting, sights I've seen was a Zimbabwean on Breakfast TV a couple of years ago with four English grandparents, claiming asylum in this country because of his sexuality, being told he's facing deportation back to Zim. Just one thing that needs to be addressed by the British community entering a United Ireland.
    EG,

Someone with a just a British passport, Irish. LOL Not Brazil, do you think if you were born in a stable you'd be a horse? Even if 400 years of ancestors were born in stables as well. OK: I know how sad it makes you feel that I've rejected the lottery ticket of life. Tell you what, despite never having a British passport, I'm told I can still get one. Ask one of your Donegal mates that maybe for performing a blow job on me, they can have mine. That really is as much as it's worth.
    Last edited by lopez; 27/10/2006 at 8:24 PM.

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast