Thread: GUST meet-up with Mad As Cootes

GUST meet-up with Mad As Cootes

Athlone Town supporters group "Mad As Cootes" have invited
    supporters of Galway United to meet up in "The Bounty" Bar at
    Dubarry Park before Saturdays First Divsion game.

GUST expect our bus(es) to be there at approx. 6.30pm. We are
    looking forward to meeting the Athlone lads for a pint or two before the game.
    All of our supporters welcome.

I predict a riot............ I predict a riot!!!!
    Last edited by Conor H; 24/10/2006 at 10:26 AM.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

The standard of spelling on this forum is appalling. Are you going to Sligo IT,
    Conor ?

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    The standard of spelling on this forum is appalling. Are you going to Sligo IT,
    Conor ?
    Sorry....type to fast sometimes!!
    Although the Sligo IT insult was uncalled for!
    It happens to be held in high esteem by the locals!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Athlone Town supporters group "Mad As Cootes" have invited
    supporters of Galway United to meet up in "The Bounty" Bar at
    Dubarry Park before Saturdays First Divsion game.
    I think you will find that you have omitted an apostrophe there Patrick. The misuse of punctuation on this forum is appalling. Perhaps you too have studied at SIT.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

I went to the Cork Limerick IT myself and enjoyed it !!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    I went to the Cork Limerick IT myself and enjoyed it !!
    I heard Tallaght IT can be enjoyable also
    Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 24/10/2006 at 11:41 AM.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

so we actually are gonna be allowed into the bar, thought we wouldnt be allowed in wearing our colours?
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

you're not, all items of clothing must be transparent, any coloured will be removed before entering !!!!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    I heard Tallaght IT can be enjoyable also
    Tallaght IT and Tralee IT make a fine pair between them

As far as I'm aware the bar will be open to all supporters.

Wit!?

You're probably all entitled to honoourary doctorates from Waterford IT for these efforts - ya know - more First Division than whatever they're calling it next season!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    you're not, all items of clothing must be transparent, any coloured will be removed before entering !!!!
    we were told on here that we wouldnt be allowed in wearing our jerseys, thats what i meant by colours terry
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

I haven't heard anything about the "no colours" rule from my Athlone sources. Ash, perhaps you can clarify this ?

the barkeeps would be mad to lose the custom the next night over something as trivial as colours - drink on!
    more water!

30 Posts
    There was nothing said to us about "no colours". One of the lads was talking
    to a club official on Tuesday and nothing was mentioned.

If I hear anything different though I'll let you know as soon as I do.

I know with the Rovers game there was a private function in The Bounty and
    so they limited the amount of people in the bar.
    As far as Im aware they, along with a good few pubs in town got some advice
    from the Gardai to keep things local.

In the case of the Rovers match too there was enough locals drinking in the
    pub to keep the bank balance healthy so there was no need to have any
    others in the bar who might cause bother. Seeing as a few "fans" started
    throwing punches at the bouncers it was the correct decision on that
    occasion. As always, a few idiots ruining it for the genuine supporters
    Last edited by Ash; 24/10/2006 at 1:43 PM.

288 Posts

Jeez

I dont give a damn anyway

Im getting a pint in before the match!

37 Posts
    ....supporters of Galway United to meet up in "The Bounty" Bar......

The Bounty Bar. You just couldn't make it up.

PS Where in Da Town is it?
    The only Athlone pub that I am familiar with is Gertie Brownes.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

The Bounty is the Buccaneers RFC club bar at Dubarry Park.

sounds good there should be a good bit of banter before the game. we will show that we can have the craic together as we have done so with the rovers and dundalk fans. hope the result will go our way.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Tallaght IT and Tralee IT make a fine pair between them

As far as I'm aware the bar will be open to all supporters.
    Yep and heard that at the Under 21 match as well tonight and no segregation either apparently.

Lets all show what a good friendly rivalry is all about
    Last edited by Battery Rover; 24/10/2006 at 10:05 PM.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter