Thread: Roll call for Athlone

Roll call for Athlone

Who here is going ?

I'm sure that a lot of people will be driving. We always get a few East Galwegians who make this their annual away pilgrimage. A few townies are
    even known to make the 90 minute journey.

Supporters buses leaving Fibber Magees at 4.30pm sharp. I am definitely going.

My first away game since the beginning of August. The things one has to do to get a blue jacket !

Im going for sure..hopefully the dundalk result wont affect too much!! Win, lose or draw ill follow them around Ireland.

UNITED TILL I DIE!!!!!
    The future's bright......maroon and white

add a west Galwegian to the list, see ye there. OOHH AAHH TG4!!!!!!!!!!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

you can add, me and my brother, trying to get a few more too
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

75 Posts
    Im going but driving

i'm definitely gonna be there, cant wait for it. i know friday was a serious kick in the teeth for everyone involved but we've gotta try to use this as motivation to go along and beat athlone and win our next three games after that.

COME ON UNITED!!!!!!!
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Ya lets not forget who knocked us out of the cup aswell as scoring a 90th minute winner in Mels back in July to beat us 1-0.
    We've also been forced to endure 2 horrendous games of football in Terryland watching them.
    We owe this shower a hammering!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

we definitely need to beat them this year as it would be an absolute disgrace to play athlone 5 times in one season and not get one victory.

should be good craic on the bus as usual.

how are bus ticket sales going, by the way conor

Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra View Post
    we definitely need to beat them this year as it would be an absolute disgrace to play athlone 5 times in one season and not get one victory.

should be good craic on the bus as usual.

how are bus ticket sales going, by the way conor
    OK.Alot will just show up but it would be preferable if they got their ticket in advance so we know how many bus/buses we need.

Europe's Big Club.

going but

by car i think,its such a pity its not in st.smells park,i wanted to get my shoes all muddy one last time and get 1 last chest infection from the breeze that goes through the stand like a wind tunnel .

cool, will ya put my name down for a ticket anyway and i'll give ya the money on saturday

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    its such a pity its not in st.smells .
    Yeah I would have loved have visited the old tin can again.I have many fond memories of the ground, and I'm feeling a little sad now thinking that i'll never watch united play the town there again.
    My first ever away game was there,Pa dunne played basketball in the peno box once in smels, we won the first division title there, a gordon brett equaliser in front of over a thousand travelling fans stands out too after the abuse poor gordon recieved from the home fans it was even sweeter, so many other memories,. What it may have lacked in toilet facilities it made up for in character, Man , I'm going to miss that place.
    Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 23/10/2006 at 1:33 PM.

Looks like I will be going afterall but will be driving up with the missus and 2 more. Can anyone give directions coming from Galway as Ive never been to Dubarry park. thanks

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    . What it may have lacked in toilet facilities it made up for in character, Man , I'm going to miss that place.
    Open your eyes. The stand made out of train tracks (I kid you not) is the biggest urinal in Ireland.

ALSO, you forgot to mention that GUFC won the FAI Cup semi final in Smell's Park in 1985 aet v Limerick City.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Open your eyes. The stand made out of train tracks (I kid you not) is the biggest urinal in Ireland.
    Sorry I should have said civilised toilet facilities
    ALSO, you forgot to mention that GUFC won the FAI Cup semi final in Smell's Park in 1985 aet v Limerick City.
    I wasnt there i didnt start following united until the following year.I'd say Smels was one of the better grounds in the league back then.The first time i visited it put the old Terryland to shame (which wasnt hard). Remember the stand behind the goal that blew over !

24 Posts

dubarry

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Looks like I will be going afterall but will be driving up with the missus and 2 more. Can anyone give directions coming from Galway as Ive never been to Dubarry park. thanks
    keep on the by-pass til you come to the exit for longford/ballymahon up exit hill take left at top 150 mtrs left into dubarry it signposted with brown sign

I can't think of a single fond memory regarding St Mel's. I don't think I ever even saw us win there. Our cultured, cosmopolitan players seemed to flounder in such a scene of delapidation and tin.

I don't know JW we won twice in Limerick like.

Europe's Big Club.

lads put my name down aswell. like ye already said last week was a kick in the teeth but they are still our team and will be right behind them. cant wait. does anyone know if we are going to go the dog and duck before or after the game. the owner frank is very sound and it is only a few minutes from dubarry park. bring it on. hopefully i wont loose my wallet this time. as for you guisasaigon that was a memorable game when you saw pa dunne playing basketball i was also there.

Athlone were cook against Rovers last week. They're playing out their season and we have to win so I'd be more confident than usual, even allowing for our brutal record.