Thread: Clubs make IAG presentations

Post Clubs make IAG presentations

Clubs make IAG presentations

The FAI have today issued a statement regarding the Independent Assessment Group. All remaining twenty-one eircom League clubs gave presentations to the IAG over three days this week. The purpose of the IAG is to determine which twelve clubs will compete in the new version of the eircom League which will be run by the FAI from 2007.

Clubs will be ranked on marks gained for sporting (50 per cent) and non-sporting criteria (50 per cent) and the one-to-one meetings gave clubs the opportunity to improve the IAG members' understanding of their clubs and their plans for the future in such areas as strategic planning and marketing.

Read more at www.irishfootballonline.com

I see Niall Quinn isn't mentioned there. Surprise, surprise.

Quote Originally Posted by monzo View Post
    I see Niall Quinn isn't mentioned there. Surprise, surprise.
    He fecked off a long time ago.

55 Posts

any feedback on what the presentations

were like.

Galway Utds presentation was excellent i believe with, a dvd at the end featuring the city and county landmarks, links, helicopter views of terryland and their training facilities at drum all delivered with a backing track of music with the song "right here right now" . i also believe they showed full accounts showing minimal deficits and very professional budgets and strategic plans at odds with some finn harps supporters spreading rumours that gufc were overspending which is plainly not correct and evident after last nites performance

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    were like.

Galway Utds presentation was excellent i believe with, a dvd at the end featuring the city and county landmarks, links, helicopter views of terryland and their training facilities at drum all delivered with a backing track of music with the song "right here right now" .
    If that has any impact as to what division a team is placed in then there is something very wrong. I really want to get this over with. It absolutely destroys any enjoyment of the football season.

1,550 Posts
    i also believe they showed full accounts showing minimal deficits and very professional budgets and strategic plans at odds with some finn harps supporters spreading rumours that gufc were overspending which is plainly not correct and evident after last nites performance
    As I've said before, the figure of 15k a week running costs came from Galway United, not Finn Harps fans.

55 Posts

funny

you have me laughing alright and you have a point it would be daft but in some walks of life that are different to government funded institutions people have to push the boat out to achieve things and if this "****e" impresses whats the fai put in front of you, you gotta do everything to achieve where you need to be. it also could clearly demonstrate the difference between professionally run organisations and the "day to day" short term thinking that has clearly affected the league of ireland over the decades

55 Posts

15k a week

in fairness includes 3 full time staff and comercial income has increased by 150% since they have come in. 15k a week in comparison to drogs shels and derry is around half what the big four are doing and if any club is to be serious about competing in the new premiership they will need a budget of at least 1million a year, and any new club coming in should be looking at this kind of budget to compete. thats reality harsh but true

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    If that has any impact as to what division a team is placed in then there is something very wrong. I really want to get this over with. It absolutely destroys any enjoyment of the football season.
    I have to agree, but this is way the people who run football in this country have decided to do things so every club can only do their best.
    Some people seem to think its inevitable that we are going up but im not so sure.I hope we can get there on merit by finishing 1st or 2nd in the division.
    If we finish 3rd, I'd still take it, after 5 years of 1st division hell we want out.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Does anyone know when the FAI are going to announce whos in what division next year?

1,550 Posts
    I think the announcements are in early December Steno.

I think I read the 18th of december somewhere

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    I think I read the 18th of december somewhere
    Ooohhhh that's my birthday - perhaps Delaney will give me promotion to the new Premier Division as a pressie...
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

3,488 Posts
    I also believe they showed full accounts showing minimal deficits and very professional budgets and strategic plans at odds with some finn harps supporters spreading rumours that gufc were overspending which is plainly not correct and evident after last night's performance
    I believe Dublin City gave a similar presentation to the Licencing committee this time last year...

55 Posts

to be

truly honest student and harps its hard to argue with yee. i hope we dont have to depend on that and that we finish above dundalkand thats still a could possibility despite last nite, but strong rumours persist down here that its a foregone conclusion who will be invited

And will we be?
    From speaking to few Dundalk fans in Foxs yesterday they pretty muck think unless they come 1st they won't be invited.Last night's result could be disastrous for GUFC.It will give the FAI a major lot of grief if they put us for coming 3rd and Dundalk were left out....if they won the league.
    We really have to finish ahead of them IMO simply because i don't trust the FAI and i reckon they'll just put Dundalk up if they win.However if they abide by their own agenda Dundalk can win the league this year and they still won't overtake UTD in the league points total for the last 5 years.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

55 Posts

dream motivation tool

for john gill and the dundalk club. i can imagine what they are saying to get inside the minds of the dundalk players.. it will really put it up to the fai and with a travelling army like they brought to terryland on a friday evening across the country and a tuff 4 hr trip i think there will be uproar in louth if they are excluded on a presentation and they will have a lot of rite on their side and im sure drogheda from a finance point of view will back them to guarantee massive derby's and interest in louth...interesting times

100 Posts
    i think there will be uproar in louth if they are excluded on a presentation and they will have a lot of rite on their side...
    Protests in Merrion Square from angry Dundalk fans I would think!
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

1,550 Posts
    for john gill and the dundalk club. i can imagine what they are saying to get inside the minds of the dundalk players.. it will really put it up to the fai and with a travelling army like they brought to terryland on a friday evening across the country and a tuff 4 hr trip i think there will be uproar in louth if they are excluded on a presentation and they will have a lot of rite on their side and im sure drogheda from a finance point of view will back them to guarantee massive derby's and interest in louth...interesting times
    Perhaps those protests should be at Oriel Park, and against those in control of Dundalk FC, who were either too brainless to see that the criteria would almost certainly exclude them and voted for them anyway, or who simply aren't taking the whole process seriously and treating this like any other season. Incidentally, you wouldn't be excluded 'because of a presentation' nor should GUFC be promoted because of it. You'd be excluded because under the detailed criteria for next year, including 30% for the last 4 years of football, you didn't rank high enough.

To be honest I am worried about this process. The FAI simple have to get this right- they have to publish the detail of the scoring or rankings in each and every area so we can see exactly what the story is. Rumours that certain clubs have been guarenteed promotion already mean this process has a bad smell about it but if (and that's a very big if!) the FAI do this correctly and transparenly then no-one can have any complaints, seeing as everybody voted for this!

Wink

were like.

Galway Utds presentation was excellent i believe with, a dvd at the end featuring the city and county landmarks, links, helicopter views of terryland and their training facilities at drum all delivered with a backing track of music with the song "right here right now" . i also believe they showed full accounts showing minimal deficits and very professional budgets and strategic plans at odds with some finn harps supporters spreading rumours that gufc were overspending which is plainly not correct and evident after last nites performance
    I take it your the press officer for Galway yea? use the word "believe" all ye like, but i know you are Limericks presentation was delivered on horseback, done to the music of the cranberries, jesus himself made a surprise apperance and said he "believed" that limerick should get a prem invite.
    How many tiers of the stand are compleated as of now in Terryland?