Page 57 of 384 FirstFirst ... 747555657585967107157 ... LastLast
Results 1,121 to 1,140 of 7679

Thread: Robbie Keane

130 Posts
    I think alot of Keanes performances are due to the fact that he badly needs a forward of a decent stature beside him ie Quinn, Berbatov, Mido etc. Any time he plays alongside a similar player to him eg defoe, doyle, long etc he def doesnt perform nowhere near as good as he can.

big forward my swiss, he is not producing the goods, bellamy and kuyt, rooney and saha, larsson, henry and anyone, i think that to say he cannot play without a big forward beside him is indicative of how poor a player keane is, if he was any good he should be able to adapt, after all he has been playing football for around 20 years now

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Much like the famous Lionel Hutz quote from the Simpsons, replace "sack" with "shoot" and "is it" with "it is" and this thread title is starting to get there.

The fact that little clown has generated so much in transfer fees tells you all you need to know about modern football.
    The fact that you could write that shows how much you know about the game...

well according to stan he thought “Robbie Keane played a captain’s part and ran his legs off. He showed flashes of brilliance and could have scored twice in the first half."
    Jaysus... now to be a good captain you have to do loads of running around like an ejit. Could of scored twice?? The ****in 20 stone striker on my sunday league team could have scored five times against the load of dem bus drivers yesterday.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by barney View Post
    The fact that you could write that shows how much you know about the game...
    I agree.

Keane and Duff should be dropped for the next game. Both are over-rated and have been consistantly under performing for Ireland for the last couple of years or so.
    Will people ever leave it out on Duff. I can understand wanting Keane dropped but Duff does his best for us. He has lost his spark but he's still one of our best players. If he was playing better at club level I'd be worried but he's actually playing better for us than he is for his club.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Will people ever leave it out on Duff. I can understand wanting Keane dropped but Duff does his best for us. He has lost his spark but he's still one of our best players. If he was playing better at club level I'd be worried but he's actually playing better for us than he is for his club.
    I'd drop duff before Keane myself. Agree that neither have played well for us in a long time.

Quote Originally Posted by Marked Man View Post
    I'd drop duff before Keane myself. Agree that neither have played well for us in a long time.
    I'm not sure who you're agreeing with but it's not me . Duff doesn't need to be at his 2004 best to be a good player. He's still a key player for us imo.

Easy. Of course Cpt Robbie should be dropped - he shows no interest in breaking sweat for his country so why does he deserve to wear the green?
    Together with all our hearts.

Duff is still our best outfield player. By a distance. Keane's attitude is spreading like a cancer throughout the team.
    Last edited by liaml; 08/02/2007 at 9:50 PM.

503 Posts
    I have always felt a goalkeeper (and to a lesser extent a forward) has always got to look after himself more so than the rest of the team. He can't be worrying about anyone else on the pitch, and at any rate he can't exactly jog up to someone for a word in their ear. Centre backs have the whole game in front of them and in my opinion get a better perspective of how the game is going.

That coupled with performances, experience of doing it with City, and personality is why i would pick Dunne.

lads why arent ye focusing

on what s*ite keane said after the game,it was something like if you asked fans what would they want from this match theyd say theyd be delighted with the 3 points-or something like that.pure bulls*it.so now we are just satisfied with getting a win away to san marino is it?????????does it not matter how the team performs against part-timers and if the win they got was lucky????????as i said complete sh*te.KEANE TO GO AS CAPTAIN.maybe somebody will come in with ambition and drive like another keane use to have.

Always liked Robbie Keane up until the moment that came out of his mouth... to me thats unforgiveable, who does he think we are?
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

Captain complainer says fans should be happy with 3 points

back page of the Herald.am and also in the Metro regarding keane talking crap about how we should be happy with 3 points and poeple who know football know its all about the 3 points. Tosser

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    I am happy with 3 points. I was there and while the performance was abysmal, I am still happy with 3 points. I would have thought that goes without saying.

Keane is not a tosser either. Typical Irish attitude. He was way ahead of the other striker, Shane Long, on the night. Irish fans don't take very long to turn on their own. A number of fans around me were giving Keane a hard time. He certainly wasn't the worst player on the pitch. Sure he moans a lot at the ref but wouldn't influence my opinion of him. He put the effort in to no great effect I would admit but he still worked hard.

His form at club level has taken a dive so I don't expect him to play any better for us but I will stick by him and any other player who wears the green so long as they put in the effort and to hell with the begrudgers and tossers.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

So the fact he was captain and neither lead by example or vocally doesn't annoy you? IMO Keane is one of the biggest spoofers in football. An undoubted talent, he very rarely performs to a decent standard for club or country.

Your comparison to Long is off the mark too as Keane is a seasoned international (captain, no less) while Long was making his international debut wiht less than ten starts in grown up football behind him. I didn't think keane put in the effort you and the one chance I remember him having he shot tamely wide.

As for his interview he could've acknowledged his and the team's perfomance being awful (as Kilbane did) and apologised to the people who spent fortunes going over to watch him and his mates have a kickabout. But he chose to have a go at people who dared criticise them. If you think I'm a begrudger, fine but I think the description of tosser is being very kind to Keane. Very kind.

214 Posts
    you'd think he'd be grateful he gets a start for us because you'd think it sure beats warming up the bench at Spurs.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    back page of the Herald.am and also in the Metro regarding keane talking crap about how we should be happy with 3 points and poeple who know football know its all about the 3 points. Tosser
    He said this after the match. Something like "we didn't play well, etc. etc. but at the end of the day, if you ask anyone it's the 3 points that count".

Thats not the radio interview I heard eirehoy

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Thats not the radio interview I heard eirehoy
    Might aswell have been.

'I can understand their frustration because they pay a lot of good money to see good football and us do well, and they didn't see that,' said the Tottenham striker.

'But if you ask any fan, while they might be disappointed with the performance, they will be delighted with the win.'

- By win he means the 3 points obviously.

Actually this is where I got the "3 points" from:
    "We're not happy with the performance ourselves, none of the lads are.

"It's not as we would have liked, and not what people expected, but sometimes in football these things happen. That was proven last night.

"The most important thing is the three points. That's what we came for, and we would have taken it before the game. We're thankful we got them.

"If you ask anybody in football, it's about winning, and that's what we did."
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 09/02/2007 at 8:37 AM.