Thread: Robbie Keane

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    if the coach is picking Mido ahead of him
    Is he though? Last weekend Jol explained his decision by saying he had only one substituion left and a defender got injured so bringing Mido on instead of Robbie was the better option. I don't know if this holds any water but it sounds a feasible explanation for preferring Mido in that instance.

Has Mido done anything since his impressive debut?

Well I hope Robbie does go, feck this rotation shyte. Whatever about it, I don't want one of our boys mixed up in it, and sure as hell not our top striker. The stubborn me wants Mido and Kanoute to go, because it'd be good if Robbie stayed with Reid and Hughton, but doesn't look like it will happen. On to Everton!

1,075 Posts
    Jol has said he expects to keep Keane

http://www.football365.com/news/prem...y_148895.shtml

But I agree, the rotation thing is doing him no favours at all

I really dont know why this squad rotation idea was extended to strikers. Squad rotation doesnt make a whole pile of sense with strikers, they really need to be playing week in week out.

Robbie might get CL football if he moved to Everton

3,500 Posts
    Easy, Liverpool were shattered after the midweek exertions against Juventus, City had a week to recover from playing agsint Charlton, and were at home. Liverpool looked visibly tired into the second half, City were looking like scoring, Bradley was robbed for a second.

City - draw with Arsenal, draw with United at Old Trafford, keep Chelsea scoreless, beat Liverpool, and can't beat West Brom. Nuts!!

Thought Kelly was very good,Carr did well considering he got booed for the whole game,O'Brien made two very bad mistakes and Reid was reasonable.I agree,its looking a little suspect for keane.

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    Jol even gave an interview today saying he wasn't certain he'd be at the club next season, so that's a good indication.
    TalkSport picked up on that last night and were asking why Robbie Keane wasn't getting his game.
    Sunderland and Aston Villa are strong rumours surrounding Keane's next club but that's surely based on the club managers.
    Everton were mentioned elsewhere this weekend but will they make a move for him if they don't get the CLQ place!?
    Only time will tell.

I only saw the incident for the first time yesterday and I can't believe I was reading things like "stormed down the tunnel". He got up off his seat and walked into the dressing room because he wasn't needed. Hardly as controversial as everyone made out.

He got some cheers when he came on yesterday.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    I only saw the incident for the first time yesterday and I can't believe I was reading things like "stormed down the tunnel". He got up off his seat and walked into the dressing room because he wasn't needed. Hardly as controversial as everyone made out.

He got some cheers when he came on yesterday.
    I thought it looked like he kicked something just as he stood up. Agreed that he didn't look too angry with anyone though.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    I was there yesterday and some of Kanoute's shooting was not far off pub team marksmanship. He is awful. How this guy is keeping RK out of that team is beyond me.
    Robbie is definitely on his way. God I hope he finds a manager that can bring out the best in him. I hope he hooks up with Moyes. £52 for a ticket yesterday. Unreal.
    so expensive, were the seats made from gold???

jaysis arnesen's come out today and had another go at robbie for kicking up the fuss, how many times is that between him and jol now?? there'd be less of an outcry from them if he'd been drunk driving! must be a dutch/danish thing

26 Posts
    I was there yesterday and some of Kanoute's shooting was not far off pub team marksmanship. He is awful. How this guy is keeping RK out of that team is beyond me.
    Robbie is definitely on his way. God I hope he finds a manager that can bring out the best in him. I hope he hooks up with Moyes. £52 for a ticket yesterday. Unreal.
    this may contradict what others are saying, but i feel that Jol is maybe getting the best out of robbie keane. everytime keane comes on at the moment he knows he is playing for his future. he wants to stay at spurs and at the moment who wouldnt. exciting young and upncoming side, good irish base, london life, good wages...and as for his misses...boyyyyyyyyyyyyyy... but anyways, he has scored plenty of goals looks sharp and i think he will be back in there very soon, jol has a good point with regards to defoe and keane been too small, he tried keane in midfield as well. he realises what and asset keane is and i can see him playing regular shortly

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    and as for his misses...boyyyyyyyyyyyyyy...

What has his partner got to do with this or indeed anything?
    This isn't a British tabloid so lets keep the players personal lives out of the threads when it doesn't affect their contribution to football.

Thanks.

He started today against Liverpool and he scored too.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    What has his partner got to do with this or indeed anything?
    This isn't a British tabloid so lets keep the players personal lives out of the threads when it doesn't affect their contribution to football.

Thanks.
    shut up!sum of d cr*p ya's talk bout on here! if you use your brain you may be able to take from that, that robbie keanes missus is another reason why he may stay in london and with tottenham so stop trying to sound like a fekin schoolteacher

aye peadar stop raving would ye.

robbie scored a great header today by the way. cross from kanoute.

Robbie Keane?... Oh yes he's the one from Tallaght that actually turns up for World Cups

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    shut up!sum of d cr*p ya's talk bout on here! if you use your brain you may be able to take from that, that robbie keanes missus is another reason why he may stay in london and with tottenham so stop trying to sound like a fekin schoolteacher
    Your the one chattin crap don't think Robbie Keane's Girlfriend comes into his choice of clubs ..
    Girlfiend come and go very easily...

Great goal today by Robbie.. Pity Liverpool equalised..

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    robbie scored a great header today by the way. cross from kanoute.

I wouldnt exactly have called it a great header. It took a wicked deflection off Carragher, if it didnt hit him Dudek would have collected it easily.

Jesus lads.This is the type of stuff we would find in an English Forum.We all know that Robbie is not the greatest striker in the world but he is the greatest one we have in Ireland at present.He wears his heart on his sleeve and never stops trying,always looking for the ball even though his choice of position when he wants the ball is open to criticism sometimes.He is scoring regulary although again should score more, but bringing his girlfriend into this is just silly, nieve and punitive.Leave the bloke and his personal life alone and if there is any criticism let it be constructive.