Circus play, in American football, where a receiver offloads a ball quickly into on onrushing playmate going in another direction.
American commentary is bizarre. "Savos - trying to make a circus play" from the start of that second clip. WTF is a circus play supposed to be?!
Circus play, in American football, where a receiver offloads a ball quickly into on onrushing playmate going in another direction.
You're the smart guy, you go 'figure' what he mean't by circus play, based on the movement of Sarvas
First you have to figure out where Sarvas is on the pitch.
Btw, I'd say most Irish people in the south grew up with the term 'soccer'.
But I can't speak for those who grew up in the united kingdom.
Ha, what about those of dual experience? My use can vary depending on context, but I generally refer to association football as "football" and Gaelic football simply as "Gaelic". I remember GAA lads in my class, most of whom would have been from rural Derry, would have used "soccer", while my father, primarily a GAA man himself, would use "football" to refer to Gaelic football. I've always thought of it as a bit of a rural-urban thing - I think most people I know from the city would just use "football" and "Gaelic" for the two respective codes - if it not being determined by whichever of the two codes captured one's primary interest. I wouldn't tend to use "soccer" unless I was in conversation with someone who had already referred to Gaelic football as "football" and there was a need for a distinction to be made.
Relatedly, this Dublin-Kerry semi-final is scintillating viewing.
Last edited by DannyInvincible; 01/09/2013 at 4:02 PM.
I've always used the two nouns interchangeably. Probably more football than soccer, but neither is right or wrong in my opinion.
Soccer is soccer and football is Gaelic football in the majority of this country much like in the States where football is American football. Most junior leagues call themselves soccer leagues rather than football except around Dublin.
It's football for me anyway!
It's soccer. Football is that great game between Dublin and Kerry last Sunday
Folding my way into the big money!!!
Whether you use only 'football' or only 'soccer' or alternate between both, is not really the point.
We know that people in Ireland grow up with all three possibilities.
The point I make is, it's a nonsense to mock the general usage of the word 'soccer' in the USA as demonstrating some level of ignorance, whether it's ignorance on the use of English or knowledge of sport. In fact such mockery just demonstrates the stupidity of those who mock such usage.
Football for me, as mentioned gah hasnt a whole lot of football skills (bar two/three teams) these days, wasnt their one team that had a few players who didnt even manage to kick the ball in croker during the whole of a game.!
And Americans say soccer!![]()
Of course, Gillette Soccer Saturday and Soccer AM are broadcast on British television every weekend.
I think more generally 'circus' would be used where might say trick play or trick, first examples I could find on youtube were in
basketball and involved some sort of tricky play, for example you can find the 10 ten circus shot which we would call trick shots.
But other play like bouncing the ball between a player legs might be call a circus play or any kind of play involving some sort of trick.
Were I American I might have called myself circus_colour or circusy_colour, even worse than my current id!
I suspect that might be because Gillette is an American company harder to explain Soccer AM though (but it's current, not original sponsor is Gillette).
However Gillette launched a youtube channel recently and it's called Gillette Football Club, I guess they must have been aware of the kind of
hostility they would generate if they called it Gillette Soccer Club!!
Soccer Saturday is more for alliterative reasons thought up by some marketing guy I reckon, Soccer AM is probably hipper and cooler than Football AM, again thought up by some marketing guy.
I call it soccer more often than not, it can depend who I'm talking to. I'll sometimes really emphasise the Soccer thing when I'm talking to my Dub friends, just to get a reaction eg "I'll be up in the Big shmoke Friday for the Soccer v Sweden".
But I'm a culchie and don't even like football (the native kind) that much, more of a hurling man.
One of the major reasons why usage of the word 'soccer' in Ireland písses some people off, is because it implies the obvious, that gaelic football is still the biggest sport.
The soccer aficionados seek to confiscate the sole usage of the word 'football' with the fanatical zeal of someone waving a bible.
Maybe that has something to do with their own inferiority complex, elements of antagonism, bigotry and condescension towards GAA and possibly culchies.
Last edited by geysir; 05/09/2013 at 9:23 AM.
I use the word soccer to avoid confusion about what I'm talking about, simple as that. And I'm a Dub by the way.
If I say football it is unclear if I'm talking soccer or GAA.
And as I mentioned before, it's often very confusing when I speak anyway without adding more confusion
Folding my way into the big money!!!