36 Posts
    Young Defender Greg Cochrane was whipping balls in from the left

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    He had a gay old time playing with Robbie Rogers...
    Come on Crosby.

Fair play to Rogers by the way.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

417 Posts
    Ah you're being too sensitive. RR has made a pretty penny off it all.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Come on Crosby.

Fair play to Rogers by the way.
    You mean fair gay to him, right?...
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

417 Posts
    By the way Bwags i think that either flew over the head of many or was thought to be just out of bounds!

36 Posts
    Ye divels but no i always wonder should we keep closer tabs on Irish American players over in MLS. Young player not like 30 year old guys that have played in that league all their careers

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    Ye divels but no i always wonder should we keep closer tabs on Irish American players over in MLS. Young player not like 30 year old guys that have played in that league all their careers
    Which players have you got in mind specifically?

36 Posts
    Any lads with potenial, Like that Brek Shea guy moving to Stoke, he has been capped by the USA already, I know Scotland were after Jack McBean from LA Galaxy

2,284 Posts
    There's nothing stopping you from flagging them up/alerting the FAI if you're aware of eligible American-based players. Was Brek Shea eligible to play for us?

36 Posts
    I must look into it.
    More waffle from 2010 on the subject:

Giovanni Trapattoni Wants YOU, Irish America!
    Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 at 06:33 AM
    Larger Text PrintE-mailNewsletter 1 Comment RSS

Recent Posts
    Rugby ace Ronan O’Gara makes us proud to be Irish
    We won't see the likes of Manchester United manager Alex Ferguon again
    Irish defender Paul McShane - A good guy finally finishes first
    Munster’s defeat in the Heineken Cup proves Celtic Tiger didn’t take our soul
    Alex Ferguson and Uruguayan striker Luis Suarez - the good and the bad of Premier League action
    Archives
    + 2013 archives
    May 2013 (4 entries)

April 2013 (4 entries)

March 2013 (4 entries)

February 2013 (5 entries)

January 2013 (4 entries)

+ 2012 archives
    December 2012 (3 entries)

November 2012 (4 entries)

October 2012 (5 entries)

September 2012 (4 entries)

August 2012 (2 entries)

July 2012 (4 entries)

June 2012 (4 entries)

May 2012 (7 entries)

April 2012 (4 entries)

March 2012 (6 entries)

February 2012 (5 entries)

January 2012 (3 entries)

+ 2011 archives
    December 2011 (4 entries)

November 2011 (6 entries)

October 2011 (4 entries)

September 2011 (5 entries)

August 2011 (4 entries)

July 2011 (4 entries)

June 2011 (7 entries)

May 2011 (7 entries)

April 2011 (4 entries)

March 2011 (5 entries)

February 2011 (4 entries)

January 2011 (4 entries)

+ 2010 archives
    December 2010 (5 entries)

November 2010 (4 entries)

October 2010 (3 entries)

September 2010 (6 entries)

August 2010 (2 entries)

July 2010 (4 entries)

June 2010 (7 entries)

May 2010 (5 entries)

April 2010 (3 entries)

March 2010 (4 entries)

February 2010 (4 entries)

January 2010 (3 entries)

+ 2009 archives
    December 2009 (5 entries)

November 2009 (3 entries)

October 2009 (3 entries)

digg
    A friend of mine has a fondness for a great saying -- whenever he encounters something which he believes he has encountered before, he just claims that it’s a case of déjà-vu all over again.

So I’ll ask you to forgive me if you think we have gone down this particular road before. I’m sure we have done, and I’m fairly certain it wasn’t too long ago.

See, there I was last Friday afternoon, sitting in the boardroom at the FAI’s headquarters in Abbotstown and trying my very best to go quietly about my business.

That wasn’t easy, it has to be said. For one thing, I was suffering from the mother and father of all hangovers after a great night in Tipperary the night before when my Star Sunday colleague John Harrington celebrated his wedding to the lovely Siobhain.

Now John had his wife with him at the wedding. As the groom, he didn’t have much choice really. I did have a choice, albeit one that was foisted on me by circumstance, it being a Thursday and all that.

Thus my better half Liz stayed at home to get the kids to school, and I fell into bad company with three other colleagues who had also left their partners back in domestic bliss.

As a result of all that convenience, one Arthur Guinness became the “plus one” for the four of us, and a great night was had by all in Arthur’s unique company.

That’s why I wasn’t at my best in that FAI boardroom, but it was very hard to keep the head down, simply because a certain Giovanni Trapattoni was holding court in his usual convivial manner.

As always, Trap had lots to say, some of it in his broken English which he has convinced himself is getting better by the day, and some of it of huge relevance to next week’s friendly with Norway here in Dublin.

You’ll read the relevant bits on other pages in this week’s Irish Voice, but of immediate concern here is Trapattoni’s sudden penchant for Irish America and Irish Americans who know how to kick a ball.

You see, he revealed to us last Friday that he recently requested a list of all players in the North American soccer leagues with Irish sounding names. I kid you not.

He has also asked the Football Association of Ireland (FAI) for a list of all Irish qualified players in the MLS. He wants names, and he wants them now.

I’m sure we’ve been here before. I’m sure I have told you previously, my loyal Irish Voice reader, that Trapattoni wants you to let him know of any Irish Americans of your knowledge who could do a job for Ireland.

I’d swear he said this to us before, and not long after his coronation in the RDS, well over two years ago now as it happens.

Anyway, Trap is so intent on the U.S. connection that he is already talking of a visit to America next summer, maybe even with an Irish squad of sorts for a couple of exhibition matches and a training camp.

In the meantime, he is going to attempt to scour the States for Irishmen.

Considering Bill Clinton once said that half the world is Irish and the other half wants to be, that shouldn’t be too difficult.

The problem, of course, will be finding another Landon Donovan or another Brian McBride -- and not another Joey Lapira, the one cap wonder from Steve Staunton’s U.S. tour in 2007.

On the law of averages, there have to be some good American-born players who are indeed qualified for Ireland. I suspect most of them may already have played for their native U.S.

But if you do know of any, drop me an email and I’ll pass it on to Trap.

Who knows, we might even get to have a pint in Manhattan next summer if he likes the look of one or more of them.

417 Posts
    What do i always tell you about going off your meds?

36 Posts
    Sorry Im back on my meds and have my straight jacket zipped up now

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    There's nothing stopping you from flagging them up/alerting the FAI if you're aware of eligible American-based players. Was Brek Shea eligible to play for us?
    I'm not sure if he was. I watch a bit of MLS over here, I suppose I could keep track. I'll gather a list and start up a new thread.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    No comments on Robbie K knowing exactly where to be to stick the ball in the net? We will miss that great ability when he eventually hangs up the boots.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,796 Posts
    I commented on it, ahem. In the match thread I said that while it looked like a tap in it showed great predatory instinct and he timed the run perfectly. I even went as far as giving Sammon his due credit too.

Keane looks superbly fit to me. He's only 32 FFS. 2 more good years in Keane. Much of the criticism comes from the fact that he rarely gets the ball from our limp midfield. If people think Robbie can be wasteful, then what must they think of Long?

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    No comments on Robbie K knowing exactly where to be to stick the ball in the net? We will miss that great ability when he eventually hangs up the boots.
    Just came on to say the same thing Owlsfan. We are going to miss him big time. Absolute legend.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,771 Posts
    Just 12 goals behind Kiatisuk Senamuang...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...national_goals

and 9 behind Gerd Muller

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Just 12 goals behind Kiatisuk Senamuang...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...national_goals
    Stern John on 70 is more within range I think.

1,825 Posts
    Legend.

That's all.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

24. Thanks From: