Thread: Robbie Keane

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Robbie is too honest for them.
    Hehe.

"I am delighted, honoured and very excited to be joining the LA Galaxy. I have always wanted to come and play in MLS so it's the perfect combination for me and a dream come true."

Seriously, that's so brazenly dishonest, the fact he had the nerve to say it actually commands my respect.

1,025 Posts
    Better than Robbie's quote:

FABIO CANNAVARO has sealed a shock switch to Dubai-based club Al Ahli.

Cannavaro will retire from international football after the World Cup in South Africa.

He added: "I have achieved my dream by moving to Dubai and play for one of its big clubs like Al Ahli."

207 Posts
    Lads, I started a new job recently and I've told all the higher powers that I'm delighted to be working there blah blah blah. In actual fact I'm only there because I need a job and it's the only one going. And I've told every employer that! You have to!
    Seriously, what do you expect these footballers to actually say? Come on. What would ye say? I'm just here for the weather/cash/women/all 3?

207 Posts
    "Nothing will change unless the manager of Ireland [Giovanni Trapattoni] tells me different," he said.
    Legend.

2,284 Posts
    Ah, we're not really having a go. It's just one of those amusing things in life. In fact, I wonder do some footballers do it on purpose just to push the boundaries, as it were, and see how much bullsh*t they can actually get away with saying. I remember reading something about the England Euro '96 squad placing bets with one another in order to see who could repeat the most song lyrics in their media interviews unnoticed.

182 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    So he's gotten worse as his career went on?
    You could say he's gotten worse, as he's still the same player tactics and skill wise as when he was 21, just slower. The mark of a truly great player is one that continues to play well when the pace goes, because they've developed the rest of their game. Roy Keane or Paul McGrath could hardly walk near the end of their careers but were two yards ahead of other players in their head. See also Ryan Giggs, Zidane, Laudrup, Hagi and nearly all other true greats. Giggs reinvented himself as a player to stay at the top level. The Duffer seems to be the current Irish player who is continuing to develop himself as a player despite his increasing age. Good on him.

Robbie has been pretty much happy to take his pay check and not improve himself as a footballer, yeah. Like I said, gave up after six months at Inter and six months at Liverpool when the going got tough for him. I'm not angry or begrudging him (as others accuse me), let the man enjoy himself in LA. Who wouldn't mind thousands of quid a week in California. I just don't worship him as some kind of "legend" as some others here obviously do. Because he's no legend.
    Last edited by brine3; 20/08/2011 at 8:59 AM.

162 Posts
    Just thinking, what are the chances that the FAI arranges a friendly with USA next year now? I'd say it's almost guaranteed.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3 View Post
    You could say he's gotten worse, as he's still the same player tactics and skill wise as when he was 21, just slower. The mark of a truly great player is one that continues to play well when the pace goes, because they've developed the rest of their game. Roy Keane or Paul McGrath could hardly walk near the end of their careers but were two yards ahead of other players in their head. See also Ryan Giggs, Zidane, Laudrup, Hagi and nearly all other true greats. Giggs reinvented himself as a player to stay at the top level. The Duffer seems to be the current Irish player who is continuing to develop himself as a player despite his increasing age. Good on him.

Robbie has been pretty much happy to take his pay check and not improve himself as a footballer, yeah. Like I said, gave up after six months at Inter and six months at Liverpool when the going got tough for him. I'm not angry or begrudging him (as others accuse me), let the man enjoy himself in LA. Who wouldn't mind thousands of quid a week in California. I just don't worship him as some kind of "legend" as some others here obviously do. Because he's no legend.
    For such a non-legend, he shares quite legendary company: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_int...ers_by_country

182 Posts
    Just behind John Dahl Tomasson. Legend.

2,284 Posts
    Level with Hakan Şükür and Thierry Henry; ahead of Bobby Charlton. Four of Romario's record and five off Batistuta's. I suppose they were all pretenders too...

Is it not cool to be photographed coming off the plane with your child or something? do they hide the chilD?

2,284 Posts
    Ha, was he flying from London or where? Surely Claudine didn't fly across the Atlantic in those jeans.

He was out in London the tuesday so i'd assum he flew the wednesday or thursday so they both must have flown from london.

I often wonder as well like all these "celebrities" must be hogging the 4 star bathrooms in First Class for a good hour before they get off the plane. It must all be very amusing for the host/hostesses - not the other celebrities i might add.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    He was out in London the tuesday so i'd assum he flew the wednesday or thursday so they both must have flown from london.

I often wonder as well like all these "celebrities" must be hogging the 4 star bathrooms in First Class for a good hour before they get off the plane. It must all be very amusing for the host/hostesses - not the other celebrities i might add.
    I had that Paris Hilton banging on my bathroom door shouting "mile high now, mile high now" when last flying from London to LA. Was in the middle of a post vindaloo reading the racing page at the time so declined the offer.

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    I had that Paris Hilton banging on my bathroom door shouting "mile high now, mile high now" when last flying from London to LA. Was in the middle of a post vindaloo reading the racing page at the time so declined the offer.
    Don't lie, the fasten seatbelt sign was on and you were piddling in a bottle.

199 Posts
    Anyone know where I can watch the press conference in full? Cant seem to find it on the LAG website...
    Last edited by IsMiseSean; 20/08/2011 at 2:26 PM.

Punta Arenas, Puerto Montt & everywhere in between
    37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne View Post
    Anyone know where I can watch the press conference in full? Cant seem to find it on the LAG website...
    http://www.mlssoccer.com/videos?catid=112&id=18360

417 Posts
    Why does everyone always describe the Red Bulls as playing in New York?
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Why does everyone always describe the Red Bulls as playing in New York?
    It's 10 miles away in New Jersey, but calling them NY was probably an attempt to get them bigger support.

199 Posts
    Cheers for that, still on the look out for the full press conference. No mention of Ireland/Trap in that video