Hehe.
"I am delighted, honoured and very excited to be joining the LA Galaxy. I have always wanted to come and play in MLS so it's the perfect combination for me and a dream come true."
Seriously, that's so brazenly dishonest, the fact he had the nerve to say it actually commands my respect.
Last edited by DannyInvincible; 20/08/2011 at 5:58 AM.
Better than Robbie's quote:
FABIO CANNAVARO has sealed a shock switch to Dubai-based club Al Ahli.
Cannavaro will retire from international football after the World Cup in South Africa.
He added: "I have achieved my dream by moving to Dubai and play for one of its big clubs like Al Ahli."
Lads, I started a new job recently and I've told all the higher powers that I'm delighted to be working there blah blah blah. In actual fact I'm only there because I need a job and it's the only one going. And I've told every employer that! You have to!
Seriously, what do you expect these footballers to actually say? Come on. What would ye say? I'm just here for the weather/cash/women/all 3?
Legend."Nothing will change unless the manager of Ireland [Giovanni Trapattoni] tells me different," he said.
Ah, we're not really having a go. It's just one of those amusing things in life. In fact, I wonder do some footballers do it on purpose just to push the boundaries, as it were, and see how much bullsh*t they can actually get away with saying. I remember reading something about the England Euro '96 squad placing bets with one another in order to see who could repeat the most song lyrics in their media interviews unnoticed.
You could say he's gotten worse, as he's still the same player tactics and skill wise as when he was 21, just slower. The mark of a truly great player is one that continues to play well when the pace goes, because they've developed the rest of their game. Roy Keane or Paul McGrath could hardly walk near the end of their careers but were two yards ahead of other players in their head. See also Ryan Giggs, Zidane, Laudrup, Hagi and nearly all other true greats. Giggs reinvented himself as a player to stay at the top level. The Duffer seems to be the current Irish player who is continuing to develop himself as a player despite his increasing age. Good on him.
Robbie has been pretty much happy to take his pay check and not improve himself as a footballer, yeah. Like I said, gave up after six months at Inter and six months at Liverpool when the going got tough for him. I'm not angry or begrudging him (as others accuse me), let the man enjoy himself in LA. Who wouldn't mind thousands of quid a week in California. I just don't worship him as some kind of "legend" as some others here obviously do. Because he's no legend.
Last edited by brine3; 20/08/2011 at 8:59 AM.
Just thinking, what are the chances that the FAI arranges a friendly with USA next year now? I'd say it's almost guaranteed.
For such a non-legend, he shares quite legendary company: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_int...ers_by_country
Just behind John Dahl Tomasson. Legend.
Level with Hakan Şükür and Thierry Henry; ahead of Bobby Charlton. Four of Romario's record and five off Batistuta's. I suppose they were all pretenders too...
Is it not cool to be photographed coming off the plane with your child or something? do they hide the chilD?
Ha, was he flying from London or where? Surely Claudine didn't fly across the Atlantic in those jeans.![]()
He was out in London the tuesday so i'd assum he flew the wednesday or thursday so they both must have flown from london.
I often wonder as well like all these "celebrities" must be hogging the 4 star bathrooms in First Class for a good hour before they get off the plane. It must all be very amusing for the host/hostesses - not the other celebrities i might add.
Anyone know where I can watch the press conference in full? Cant seem to find it on the LAG website...
Last edited by IsMiseSean; 20/08/2011 at 2:26 PM.
Why does everyone always describe the Red Bulls as playing in New York?
No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.