Page 210 of 384 FirstFirst ... 110160200208209210211212220260310 ... LastLast
Results 4,181 to 4,200 of 7679

Thread: Robbie Keane

Looks like a great finish but im not sure it came off his shin or not.

Loved it up too turning his back to the supporters as they chanted his name.

89 Posts
    Ya the celebration was a little over the top but sure, that's Robbie for ya

161 Posts
    Great poachers finish. And for someone who has played so little first team football recently a great finish.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Looks like a great finish but im not sure it came off his shin or not.
    So many of his goals are like that. It's mad!!... Delighted for him.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

366 Posts
    Great to see. West Ham look to be heading out of the bottom three on the strength of this (probable) win.

65 Posts
    Good man Robbie keep it up. Can never understand the Robbie-bashing, getting slated for wanting decent wages etc. He's one of the few superstars we've ever produced, a genuine world class striker. What's great about him is that he knows how good he is himself. He doesn't have the usual Irish humility, he knows he's class always has, and that belief in himself has helped him score high-pressure, vital goals against Germany, Spain, Holland, Italy.... He's an example to the young guys coming through. Don't be pushed around, never accept less than what you deserve, believe in your ability and represent your country with pride.
    Le monde est a nous

puuuuulllzzzzz world class yeah right he was a world class prospect at coventry but never really took the next step up.

Quote Originally Posted by Fizzer View Post
    Good man Robbie keep it up. Can never understand the Robbie-bashing, getting slated for wanting decent wages etc. He's one of the few superstars we've ever produced, a genuine world class striker. What's great about him is that he knows how good he is himself. He doesn't have the usual Irish humility, he knows he's class always has, and that belief in himself has helped him score high-pressure, vital goals against Germany, Spain, Holland, Italy.... He's an example to the young guys coming through. Don't be pushed around, never accept less than what you deserve, believe in your ability and represent your country with pride.
    Isn't it nice to have all that and humility too. Take a look at General Earley, Paul McGrath, many more.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    puuuuulllzzzzz world class yeah right he was a world class prospect at coventry but never really took the next step up.
    congratulations on losing all credibility.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

he didnt tho he was a very good prem striker but never top class bracket that couldnt be argued. if he was he would still be with inter

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    It was a PR disaster Paul. Imagine if Ferdinand had said the same thing? He'd walk away because sitting on the bench for his country was not for him? The English media would be on his case until he backtracked and retracted the statement. If our other Keane had said something similiar (he probably did back in his pomp) then he'd also be getting stick from his regular haters.

It's also a bit disrespectful to the lads who turn up to every training camp with very little chance of getting game time. If Keane was dropped from the starting 11 then I'd expect him to fight for his place and support the lads in front of him by passing on his knowledge and experience. His place in the starting 11 is not set in stone right now because he has been **** for the last 2 years. If Shane Long keeps banging in the goals for Reading then the manager has a big decision on his hands.
    If our 'other Keane' had said it there'd not have been a peep out of the papers about it or if they did it'd be put across as some sort of noble gesture. I'm with Tets on this one, I took it to mean to he'd stand aside without going into a strop. Bad turn of phrase alright but that's Robbie. He's always said he'd turn up as long as he's wanted, I think he was just reitterating it.

Robbie bashing is all the rage these days it seems, been like that since he went to Liverpool, make of that what you will....

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Robbie bashing is all the rage these days it seems, been like that since he went to Liverpool, make of that what you will....
    No thats just the other side of it though...

675 Posts
    he didnt tho he was a very good prem striker but never top class bracket that couldnt be argued. if he was he would still be with inter
    With world class strikers like David Suazo and Goran Pandev.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

65 Posts
    Yeah humility's well and good. Shane Long comes across as a fairly humble guy, hard-working etc and I think he'll do well for us. I just respect Keane for holding out for what he wanted. I dunno if he would be as good a striker as he is without the self-belief/arrogance that he has.
    Le monde est a nous

ye their not good enough for inter but their just squad players anyway. im just saying keane was not and isnt and never was world class. very good player and all just not world class

2,771 Posts
    how many international goals beyond the current 45 in 104 appearances would he have had to score to be world class then? Would he have to have been in the top 5 premiership all time goalscorers instead of the top 10? Or would a career with Inter simply have been enough? Seriously, cop on to yourself. The guy is world class.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

ok so is darren bent so? lol

192 Posts
    ye their not good enough for inter but their just squad players anyway. im just saying keane was not and isnt and never was world class. very good player and all just not world class
    Depends on your definition of world class and there is no standard definition. 11th highest all-time goalscorer in the Premier League will do me for a lad from Tallaght. When you look at the list of names he has had a terrific career at both club and international level.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0907/keaner.html
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 02/02/2011 at 9:20 PM.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

2,771 Posts
    ok so is darren bent so? lol
    Who mentioned Darren Bent?

how many international goals does he have anyway? When he is top scorer for his country at a World Cup and all time maybe then you should come back to me.

2,796 Posts
    The Irish are such a bunch of mean spirited XXXXs.

As I said, footballers aren't bleedin' poets. Every quote isn't meant to be pondered over and stripped to its metaphysical bones. Footballers speak in cliches like "like I've always said" and "at the end of the day".