Page 200 of 384 FirstFirst ... 100150190198199200201202210250300 ... LastLast
Results 3,981 to 4,000 of 7679

Thread: Robbie Keane

2,796 Posts
    Congratulations to Robbie on achieving 200 pages on foot.ie, the equivalent of the Hall of Fame.

85 Posts
    I dunno about Bruces contacts in the Americas to be honest... Wenger put him on to Palacios and Figaroa (forgive spelling), Da Silva and Riveros have hardly set the world alight (Riveros might come good next year.) He also spent at his previous clubs and sent them back fairly soon after. (I remember a free scoring striker he signed for Brum for a couple of million while Clinton Morrison was there, that was sent back..

That aside even if his scouts are as good as cited, they're not going to hit the ground running for a club with momentum and challenging for Europe. Keane fits the bill. Experience, very good record. Still leaves them with a clear profit for investment in the Summer...

As an aside, it's bad form for Birmingham to be exposing the details of the transfer fallout. I think any way.. I'd be very surprised if at this stage in his career and current standing he was sincerely looking for a raise. It could be some transfer politics or rubbish like that i.e He's no interest in going but obliged negotiate once the fee was agreed so he puts terms on the table knowing they'll be rejected etc etc. I dunno...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    In Sunderland now.
    Eh?? Where's it posted??

www.thefastleague.com

114 Posts
    Heard it on the radio tonight.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Which bar?

214 Posts
    Don't forget Valencia dr_peppee and Zarate has gone on to do well at Lazio (who Bruce spotted for Brum before getting relegated). He gets em in cheap and if they don't do well then the initial outlay is peanuts so it doesn't matter that much. If it works then he makes the clubs millions (as he did for Wigan). I remember reading an article about him in the guardian or times which gave an insight into his contacts over in South America and surprisingly how much scouting he himself does over there (must be during pre season!!!).

Going back to Keane for a second.... Sunderland is also less likely because of his reluctance to move permanently. Birmingham leaked to SSN that Keane wanted to commute instead of moving up there and we know how that ends up if clubs allow that. It's not nice having to move your family but that is football. He now needs Fulham or West Ham to stump up cash.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

89 Posts
    I'd say there are chances of it being sunderland though. It's all over the rumour mill today and I wonder would Quinn's presence be an element? Of all the clubs bandied about, Sunderland are by far the best option.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Don't forget Valencia dr_peppee and Zarate has gone on to do well at Lazio (who Bruce spotted for Brum before getting relegated).
    Getting off topic, but I think Jewell signed Valencia.. Nearly sure he was at a world cup also.

www.thefastleague.com

130 Posts
    I think this may well prove to be more of a case that Keane did not want to do the Brum gig and just upped his wage demands to achieve this. If he does not move in this window then it will be a terrible decision but I think we will find him at a London club by the end of the window yet.

Oh and by the way, the radio this morning full of people texting in about how RK is greedy, isnt worth the money, is past it etc. What is it with us Irish knocking our greatest goalscorer of all time!??! When BOD was holding out for more money with the IRFU it was fine but when its RK (Different pay scales I know) he gets slated. The man is our greatest striker ever, a legend and like many it is only when he is gone that we will truly appreciate his worth to us.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Getting off topic, but I think Jewell signed Valencia.. Nearly sure he was at a world cup also.
    My mistake. Jewell did bring him in on loan. I thought Bruce was longer at Wigan second time around (season and a half!).
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Robbie is a greedy bolix and he is nothing else
    Really has become the poster child for whinging moaning overpaid over rated walking ego of a premiership footballer
    Disgraceful
    Harry will let him rot and he will have no one to blame but himself when Doyle and Long are our regular starters
    Toolbag

Who cares if he's greedy? It's his life and if he wants to rot on the bench it's his business.

161 Posts
    Andy Johnson is back playing (and scoring) for Fulham. That makes it a little less likely Keane will go there. As for West Ham a move to UP is a definite relegation battle with the dildo brothers and Brady in charge. And there has not been a realistic rumour of any other club in the Premiership wanting to sign Keane. He might end up back at Celtic as they allowed Keane to commute from London. If he decides to stay at Spurs with little or no playing time then Trap will have to consider pushing Keane aside for Long.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Andy Johnson is back playing (and scoring) for Fulham. That makes it a little less likely Keane will go there. As for West Ham a move to UP is a definite relegation battle with the dildo brothers and Brady in charge. And there has not been a realistic rumour of any other club in the Premiership wanting to sign Keane. He might end up back at Celtic as they allowed Keane to commute from London. If he decides to stay at Spurs with little or no playing time then Trap will have to consider pushing Keane aside for Long.
    Peter Grant (BC A/M and A/M to GS at Celtic) was on SSN saying he wasnt surprised at Robbies decision as even when he was at Celtic he didnt want to be there and only wanted to live in London because he liked the lifestyle. Now thats damning! And thats what its all about. Robbie doesnt care about playing, he just wants to live with the other wide boys in London. Look at Bentley, he was brave enough to move.
    Robbie Keane is a right bolix now. Take the armband off him, give it to Dunnie and give Long the jersey.
    (i'm only so mad cos i love the man so much! he has really really ****in annoyed me now)

2,796 Posts
    What a stupid outlook of Keane's, if true.

He's already loaded. His little fella can go to pre-school anywhere. He can go back and live in London full time when he's 35 and finished. He probably doesn't live in London anyway I reckon, these guys all live outside the M25 where the clubs' training grounds are. Big gaff in a rural setting outside London or in Warwickshire /Northumberland / Durham. No difference except it's a bit colder.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Robbie Keane is entitled to do whatever suits Robbie Keane. He owes no one, especially Irish supporters, nothing. If he prefers to live in London and to try and earn as much as possible, good luck to him. How do you know "he's loaded"? He, like many others, may have put his money in bank shares or property. We don't know. I would never criticise anyone for trying to earn more money or preferring to live in London than Birmingham.

Best of luck to him whatever he does.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Makes you wonder how "committed" he will be to his next club. I wish him the best and hope he gets to a Premiership club where he starts games. God knows how he will perform though.

He lives out past cockfosters.a few times spotted in pubs/cafes there. one time a few young lads who play gaelic were in an establishment up there and keane was with Alan Hutton.all the young lads asking for robbies autograph and he spotted their gaelic gear and mentioned how it was a tough sport for young fellas and all this.anyway Hutton then went up to sign autographs and the young lads were ah no its ok.Haha keane loved it.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 18/01/2011 at 2:12 PM.

48 Posts
    I presume everyone criticising Keane for being "greedy" is going take a €5,000 pay cut and move to Cappoquin, Co. Waterford for their next job.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Serb View Post
    I presume everyone criticising Keane for being "greedy" is going take a €5,000 pay cut and move to Cappoquin, Co. Waterford for their next job.
    Robbie is going to do whats good for Robbie which is fair enough. But he can't expect to be an automatic pick (and captain) for Ireland if he is not playing regular first team football for his club side.

24. Thanks From: