Results 2,561 to 2,580 of 7679

Thread: Robbie Keane

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Well it will only work for dimwits who would accept that Robbie and the Edge have something to add to a debate, over those politicians who have read and can offer an understanding of the Treaty. Although having said that, Robbie and The Edge appear to have read as much of the Treaty as Cowen!!

ps. Robbie pays no tax in Irealnd and we all know about U2 shifting their "tax base" to Holland. Real patriots there for Brain Lenihan and Co. to refer to!

Breakng News: Robbie has confirmed that he thought it was "A Song For Europe" and fancied his chances based on feedback from karaoke performances in Molly Heffernan.
    As I said, its no different to Barrack Obama having Matt Damon or Bruce Springstein on stage with him at political rallys. They dont add anything to the debate but they heighten the profile so more people might take notice. Its not very different to Pepsi using David Beckham or whoever in their ad campains.....
    Its not something to get too heated about though really is it? Surely there are more important things u can complain about
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Robbie to head up Vote or Dive campaign?

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    As I said, its no different to Barrack Obama having Matt Damon or Bruce Springstein on stage with him at political rallys. They dont add anything to the debate but they heighten the profile so more people might take notice. Its not very different to Pepsi using David Beckham or whoever in their ad campains.....
    Its not something to get too heated about though really is it? Surely there are more important things u can complain about
    I wasn't getting heated at you, just following on from your quote.! Apologies if it came across like that.

Just saying that only dimwits take would give any weight to these celebrity "views"...different than with Obama though, a lot of that was because people simply wanted a black president! Springsteen holds strong political views and Damon is a very lucid individual also with strong political conviction. They CAN both offer views on who should be US president and with credibility. Ireland for Europe is no doubt the brainchild of Bertie Ahern

This is from people like Robbie who have absolutely no clue about the issues around Lisbon. I may vote YES, I may not vote at all but it is an insult to our intelligence to wheel out guys like Robbie etc. to try to "convince" us one way or the other. Pathetic actually.

Stick with the football and karaoke please Robbie and some charity work if you want to really do your bit!
    Last edited by Scram; 22/06/2009 at 12:31 PM.

130 Posts
    I dont often agree with Pat Dolan but he is correct in what he says about Robbie Keane.
    If Keane was from some other more "respectable" area of the country other than Tallaght he would be held as much more of a national icon/hero/celebrity (call it what you like) than he is.

The guy is one of the very best players we have ever had, without doubt our best striker. A model professional and doesnt deserve the impression that the likes of gift grub and others give him. A true Irish sporting legend.

Politics isnt an area I would imagined that he would get involved in fair enough, Id say in this case he was asked will you lend your name to this campaign, would be good for the country if we get a yes vote and im sure he just agreed to it on that basis. cant get robbie going canvassing around south dublin somehow.

130 Posts
    but it is an insult to our intelligence to wheel out guys like Robbie etc. to try to "convince" us one way or the other. Pathetic actually.

Your point is valid and it is a sad reflection of an ill informed society but truth is that because people see Keane or some other "celebrity" supporting a cause they will vote yes on that basis alone, sad but very true. Its almost like fashion/marketing, because a celebrity wears/uses/endorses product Y, product Y sales increase!

The other side of the coin is the scaremongering tactics used by the likes of libertas in the last campaign, alot of "info" put on their posters and those of SF were simply incorrect and misleading.

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Your point is valid and it is a sad reflection of an ill informed society but truth is that because people see Keane or some other "celebrity" supporting a cause they will vote yes on that basis alone, sad but very true. Its almost like fashion/marketing, because a celebrity wears/uses/endorses product Y, product Y sales increase!

The other side of the coin is the scaremongering tactics used by the likes of libertas in the last campaign, alot of "info" put on their posters and those of SF were simply incorrect and misleading.
    Yes, but I was just discussing Robbie mostly because this is foot.ie !!

....will Robbie Keane influence us? I was leaning towards a "Yes" but this sh!te really puts me off....
    Regardless of who is telling us to vote YES and who is telling us to vote NO we should just vote on the merits of the issue. Forget Robbie. Forget Ganley and definitely do not make it an anti-government issue. Do we want Lisbon or not? Is it the right thing for Ireland and it's people?
    Last edited by Soccer Mom; 22/06/2009 at 12:53 PM. Reason: Fixing a typo

161 Posts
    We had Mullen giving out over the weekend about Irish people giving the "rich" a hard time! And now Robbie and Evans telling us how to vote.

Looks like one day we will be calling him Taoiseach Keano

Quote Originally Posted by Brendan 82 View Post
    In fairness, his diction is no worse dan eh, em, eh, eh B-Bertie's.

Quote Originally Posted by Brendan 82 View Post
    Don't rule it out. Packie Bonner recently said in an interview he'd been approached by Fianna Fail to run. I believe it was in the Euros. Must've been before Pat the Cope decided to go.

Wouldn't be the first time by a long streak that a political party here parachuted a persona with hitherto close to zero interest or experience in politics into a race.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shilts
    I will be voting yes - not because of Robbie but because it is best for my family and Ireland. (IMO)
    It's unfortunate that you have chosen to obey the toothless government, but as another Keano once said, "you have the right to be wrong".

Thread should be rerouted to the similiar one in Current Affairs.

Noel Hunt will be along in a minute!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

No slagging for the former rugby international, Denis Hickie.

Abuse for the international soccer captain.

Complete snobbery from claire byrne on newstalk to this forum.
    Bamboozling

Quote Originally Posted by woodie View Post
    No slagging for the former rugby international, Denis Hickie.

Abuse for the international soccer captain.

Complete snobbery from claire byrne on newstalk to this forum.
    What did she say? Herself and Gilroy are some o f the worst on Newstalk anyway.

Hickie, The Edge, Robbie, whoever, the Yes lobby are pathetic for hauling these guys out, I'm surprised at Robbie but Hickie and Co. are so far up their own RSes that they wouldn't surprise me at all.

Is Robbie the first footballer ever to get involved in Irish politics?

38 Posts
    No, I believe Arthur Griffith was a handy left-half in his day, and Liz McManus had a couple of trials for Bohs in the 80s.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    No, I believe Arthur Griffith was a handy left-half in his day, and Liz McManus had a couple of trials for Bohs in the 80s.
    Lol. What the hell is Robbie thinking? Or is he just getting appearance money like when he has to open a supermarket?

In fairness, his diction is no worse dan eh, em, eh, eh B-Bertie's.
    If you want to discuss politics go on a politics forum
    If you dont like Robbie which you Clearly dont Keep it to yourself
    This has to be the most pointless Thread ever set up
    If you have football matters or Keanes performance to discuss this is the place to do it. Otherwise write him a letter stating what you find so amusing about him and then stop talking complete Sh1te on here gud Lad

Quote Originally Posted by markmc View Post
    Lol. What the hell is Robbie thinking? Or is he just getting appearance money like when he has to open a supermarket?
    He obviously was approached by somebody, perhaps one of Bertie's boys, but it just makes him and all his celebrity mates look foolish, second only to his Late Late show appearance to defend Stan, which was completely over the top.