Page 117 of 384 FirstFirst ... 1767107115116117118119127167217 ... LastLast
Results 2,321 to 2,340 of 7679

Thread: Robbie Keane

192 Posts
    If Robbie does go back to Spurs, what are the chances Liverpool try to get a clause saying that he can't play in the Liverpool v Spurs game on the last day of the season? I think that usually only happens in loan deals but it might be interesting.

On one hand, Robbie would be going back with something to prove, on the other he has already played enough games to qualify for a Premiership medal if Liverpool are still in contention.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    If Robbie does go back to Spurs, what are the chances Liverpool try to get a clause saying that he can't play in the Liverpool v Spurs game on the last day of the season? I think that usually only happens in loan deals but it might be interesting.

On one hand, Robbie would be going back with something to prove, on the other he has already played enough games to qualify for a Premiership medal if Liverpool are still in contention.
    It is illegal to put a clause like that in a non-loan transfer agreement. Liverpool got into trouble over this regarding a goalkeeper loan a few years ago in a cup match. I think it was Kirkland? Maybe Carson?

130 Posts
    This disgraceful treatment of Keane continues. It does look like he will be a new club by the end of tomorrow. Disgusted that they managed to score two late goals as well, another inept 0-0 draw wouldve put more pressure on Benitez whereas now hes got the three points and keeps them in the title race.

85 Posts
    What was Rafa's answer to the question regarding Keanes potential departure tommorow?? I fell asleep in the second half of the game (just back from a stag) and was barely conscious but when Rafa was asked if Keane would be at anfield beyond tommorow.... I think he said "I think so yes" and smiled... Is that what was said????
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    What was Rafa's answer to the question regarding Keanes potential departure tommorow?? I fell asleep in the second half of the game (just back from a stag) and was barely conscious but when Rafa was asked if Keane would be at anfield beyond tommorow.... I think he said "I think so yes" and smiled... Is that what was said????
    The question was along the lines of "Can you tell us now that Robbie Keane will definitely be with Liverpool after tomorrow's transfer deadline?"

He did say "I think so" which is not quite the ringing endorsement that Robbie needs but probably indicates that there are no bids or negotiations in progress yet.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

85 Posts
    The question was along the lines of "Can you tell us now that Robbie Keane will definitely be with Liverpool after tomorrow's transfer deadline?"

He did say "I think so" which is not quite the ringing endorsement that Robbie needs but probably indicates that there are no bids or negotiations in progress yet.

Good stuff.. Like I said I was cabbaged so I couldn't rely on my brain. But in as much as it was only a "Think So" the vibe I got from the delivery was that he'd defo be there beyond tommorrow...

I sware, knowing Benitez I'd put money on Keane to start on Wednesday.

There's enough games left for Robbie Keane to do himself justice at Anfield.. Whether it's enough to keep him there beyond the summer is another thing but I'd have hated for him to leave now as things are.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

lads, here is a MAD idea, i mean maybe i am just off my head....but is there any chance atall, that maybe, just maybe, Robbie is just not good enough

192 Posts
    Five Live (well, Spoony on 606) just claimed that Spurs have made a GBP 15 million bid for Robbie.

It's not clear whether Rafa will even be interested given his comments earlier that he thinks Robbie will still be at Anfield. It does read a bit too much like the rumours in the Sunday papers this morning.
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 01/02/2009 at 6:50 PM.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    lads, here is a MAD idea, i mean maybe i am just off my head....but is there any chance atall, that maybe, just maybe, Robbie is just not good enough
    No
    Its really not that complicated!!!

why's that then razor

1,001 Posts
    why's that then razor
    Robbie has proven over a long period of time in the premiership and at international level that he is a top striker.As far as Im aware in his time at Spurs when he played along side Berbatov he had more goals and more assists than Berbatov.At the start of the season Berbatov was very ordinary for Man United but with some good man management by Ferguson and by sticking beside his signing the goals are starting to flow now. If Benitez was half the man manager that Ferguson is Robbie would be fine. Look at the goal he got against Arsenal earlier in the season, do u think that Kuyt,Ngog or Babel are capable of anything like that? And yet Robbie is behind all of them in the pecking order at Liverpool.
    Even from playing at a crap level of football myself I know that playing as a striker is all about confidence and you cannot have confidence if every time u play u know u are gonna be substituted.Or when u score 3 goals in 2 games and then find yourself sitting on the bench again for 3 games.
    Robbies failure at Liverpool in my opinion is down to a lack of man management by Benitez or that Benitez is making Robbie a pawn in his arguement with the board over control of transfer policy.... either way Robbie is better off out of the club if Benitez stays on

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Robbie has proven over a long period of time in the premiership and at international level that he is a top striker.As far as Im aware in his time at Spurs when he played along side Berbatov he had more goals and more assists than Berbatov.At the start of the season Berbatov was very ordinary for Man United but with some good man management by Ferguson and by sticking beside his signing the goals are starting to flow now. If Benitez was half the man manager that Ferguson is Robbie would be fine. Look at the goal he got against Arsenal earlier in the season, do u think that Kuyt,Ngog or Babel are capable of anything like that? And yet Robbie is behind all of them in the pecking order at Liverpool.
    Even from playing at a crap level of football myself I know that playing as a striker is all about confidence and you cannot have confidence if every time u play u know u are gonna be substituted.Or when u score 3 goals in 2 games and then find yourself sitting on the bench again for 3 games.
    Robbies failure at Liverpool in my opinion is down to a lack of man management by Benitez or that Benitez is making Robbie a pawn in his arguement with the board over control of transfer policy.... either way Robbie is better off out of the club if Benitez stays on
    Robbie isnt in the same class as say Torres but the lad has been treated something terrible by terrible by Benitez. He has not been given a fair shot at it. Yes he has had a few bad performances but he has also showed glimpses of what he can do. He has not been given a decent run in the team to settle in and build up an understanding with his team mates. As mentioned above, compare this to what Fergie has done with Berbatov.
    I hope Keane can turn it around at pool, his confidence must be shot at the moment and if he leaves, it may be something that he never fully recovers from.

161 Posts
    He is not as good as Torres (very few are) and Ferguson has never rated Robbie as a top striker. Then again I thought Keane was brilliant last year for Spurs. His performances against Chelsea at home and Liverpool away were top drawer. I wish O'Neill or Moyes had bought him rather than Benitez. Keane would be perfect playing alongside Heskey or Carew. If I was O'Neill I would be battering down Lerner's door to get the money to buy Keane. He would get the extra goals Villa will need to get into the Champion's league.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 01/02/2009 at 7:51 PM.

He will be very good beside Pavluchenko I think.
    In Trap we trust

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Aston Villa have already signed Emile Heskey. Combined with Abonglahor and Carew, they don't have the money to pay Keane. No need to have four high-priced strikers when they got where they are this season by playing only one in most matches. Arsenal look like they are imploding so Villa just need to not lose a tonne of matches and they'll be fine for the last Champions League spot.

Everton is where Robbie should go. The problem is, nobody wants to pay fifteen million for a guy that hasn't had a good season so far. Even if they got rid of him on loan is he really worth the money in terms of wages he'd command?

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    I think you have a slightly distorted view on Keane's career. I've always seen him as a bit of a shaper and a sulker who throws strops when things don't go his way. I don't think he has proven himself as a TOP striker actually. He's been distinctly average for many a season, save for his recent partnership with Berbatov at Spurs. What he has definitely proved is that he's a one trick pony - he can only play in one system, and that's with/off a target man in a front two. He's done f all for Ireland since Niall Quinn retired in 2002, save score goals in meaningless friendlies and against cr@p opposition like Leichteinstein. He's been abysmal for Ireland for the last 7 years.

With regard to his club career, again he can only play with target men. Dion Dublin at Coventry, Viduka at Leeds and Berbatov/Mido at Spurs. He flopped at Inter Milan (I don't accept Lippi's sacking as an excuse). He spent quite a lot of time on the bench at Leeds cos he failed to deliver in big games or to develop any sort of partnership with the other strikers. At Spurs he failed to strike up a partnership with Defoe, a player with similar qualities to Torres. Defoe was subsequently sold on. Pre-Berbatov and indeed after Berbatov initially joined Spurs, Keane often found himself warming the Spurs bench as well on a regular basis, which culminated in the famous shirt throwing incident with Martin Jol.

I struggle to believe that Rafa Benitez chose Keane 100%. For one, he did not need him as Keane occupies both Torres and Gerrard's position on the pitch. £21m on a player that would not start when all are fit or at best a player Benitez would have to change his system for to accomodate? Sorry, but I'm not buying it. I'm a Rafa critic but the man is not stupid. I think we're all beginning to see now that this transfer was pushed by the board and that clown Rick Parry to appease Rafa after the Gareth Barry saga. He clearly doesn't fancy Keane, whipping him off after 70 mins every game and sporadically leaving him out of the squad altogether.

Keane can't take the pressure at big clubs or clubs chasing trophies - see Leeds and Inter Milan. He can't perform against decent sides for Ireland either. If Spurs or City come a calling, Liverpool should take the money and RUN. I've been watching him live since he was 18 for Ireland and aside from Dirk Kuyt, I don't think I've ever seen a more frustrating player. Not top drawer, Spurs was and is his level.

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    I think you have a slightly distorted view on Keane's career.
    I think your opening comment could equally be applied to your own analysis.

To say he's been abysmal for Ireland is totally unfair given the scant service he received during the Kerr and Staunton reigns. He's one of the players who will always turn up and give his all. It's not always effective but he always gives everything for Ireland. I've seen every competitive game he's played for Ireland and he's been one of our three best players in the last 7 years - Given and Dunne being the others.

I think he should have stayed in Milan but to label him a flop is harsh given that he played less than 10 league games for them. No player is going to establish themselves in that short timeframe. Ask any Spurs fan if he has proved himself as a top-class striker and they will give you a very definite answer.

The idea that the Liverpool board pushed the transfer is something that Benitez has been hinting at but there is no evidence to support that. It's never something that has been suggested for any other transfers there. It's more likely that Benitez has just changed his mind on Robbie because he doesn't know where to fit him in. He's scored three goals in his last three league games so the idea that he won't get goals is debunked.

.... and btw Keane has never played against Liechtenstein, let alone score against them.
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 02/02/2009 at 12:06 AM.

poor robbie the pawn in the fatmens chessgame.

I crinch now everytime I hear benitez metion keane.

Sadly Benitez was lucky today chelsea and scolari had very little appetitie for the game.

I think your opening comment could equally be applied to your own analysis.

To say he's been abysmal for Ireland is totally unfair given the scant service he received during the Kerr and Staunton reigns. He's one of the players who will always turn up and give his all. It's not always effective but he always gives everything for Ireland. I've seen every competitive game he's played for Ireland and he's been one of our three best players in the last 7 years - Given and Dunne being the others.

I think he should have stayed in Milan but to label him a flop is harsh given that he played less than 10 league games for them. No player is going to establish themselves in that short timeframe. Ask any Spurs fan if he has proved himself as a top-class striker and they will give you a very definite answer.

The idea that the Liverpool board pushed the transfer is something that Benitez has been hinting at but there is no evidence to support that. It's never something that has been suggested for any other transfers there. It's more likely that Benitez has just changed his mind on Robbie because he doesn't know where to fit him in. He's scored three goals in his last three league games so the idea that he won't get goals is debunked.

.... and btw Keane has never played against Liechtenstein, let alone score against them.

Great post especially the bit at the end fair play.
    In Trap we trust

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    I think you have a slightly distorted view on Keane's career. I've always seen him as a bit of a shaper and a sulker who throws strops when things don't go his way. I don't think he has proven himself as a TOP striker actually. He's been distinctly average for many a season, save for his recent partnership with Berbatov at Spurs. What he has definitely proved is that he's a one trick pony - he can only play in one system, and that's with/off a target man in a front two. He's done f all for Ireland since Niall Quinn retired in 2002, save score goals in meaningless friendlies and against cr@p opposition like Leichteinstein. He's been abysmal for Ireland for the last 7 years.

With regard to his club career, again he can only play with target men. Dion Dublin at Coventry, Viduka at Leeds and Berbatov/Mido at Spurs. He flopped at Inter Milan (I don't accept Lippi's sacking as an excuse). He spent quite a lot of time on the bench at Leeds cos he failed to deliver in big games or to develop any sort of partnership with the other strikers. At Spurs he failed to strike up a partnership with Defoe, a player with similar qualities to Torres. Defoe was subsequently sold on. Pre-Berbatov and indeed after Berbatov initially joined Spurs, Keane often found himself warming the Spurs bench as well on a regular basis, which culminated in the famous shirt throwing incident with Martin Jol.

I struggle to believe that Rafa Benitez chose Keane 100%. For one, he did not need him as Keane occupies both Torres and Gerrard's position on the pitch. £21m on a player that would not start when all are fit or at best a player Benitez would have to change his system for to accomodate? Sorry, but I'm not buying it. I'm a Rafa critic but the man is not stupid. I think we're all beginning to see now that this transfer was pushed by the board and that clown Rick Parry to appease Rafa after the Gareth Barry saga. He clearly doesn't fancy Keane, whipping him off after 70 mins every game and sporadically leaving him out of the squad altogether.

Keane can't take the pressure at big clubs or clubs chasing trophies - see Leeds and Inter Milan. He can't perform against decent sides for Ireland either. If Spurs or City come a calling, Liverpool should take the money and RUN. I've been watching him live since he was 18 for Ireland and aside from Dirk Kuyt, I don't think I've ever seen a more frustrating player. Not top drawer, Spurs was and is his level.
    Could hardly disagree with you more
    The reply from East Terracer pretty much sums up anything I would reply to that