Page 34 of 384 FirstFirst ... 2432333435364484134 ... LastLast

Thread: Robbie Keane

Quote Originally Posted by finlma
    He might be Ireland's leading goalscorer but to say he is the best-ever is highly debatable
    There are plenty of our strikers that i never got to see play in the green, Don Givens being the obvious example, but in my opinion Robbie HAS TO be our best ever. Not so much for the scoring record, we all know that international teams play far more games than they ever used to, but more for the fact that he's the only player that i feel can always nick a goal for us, even when he's having an off day.

Incidently, someone mentioned the 4-2 defeat in Moscow earlier. Just like to say that i remember the game well, and although he didnt score to set the new consecutive-games record, i thought he had a great game that day (unlike everyone else)...

If Keane had stayed at Inter and been farmed out for a year or two as they wanted to he would probably be a world-class player today. I believe that the manager who took over at Inter and wanted to loan him out said that he had the worst positional sense that he had ever seen and when he sorted that out he could become great. Of course Keane wanted to be a star straight away, and in his shoes who wouldn't I suppose.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    To be honest, we have to take our Irish glasses off on this one. Defoe has got as much stick from Jol as Keane has over the result and I would not be suprised if Defoe is dropped for the game against Fulham.
    I'll be very suprised if Defoe does start against Fulham.

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    If Keane had stayed at Inter and been farmed out for a year or two as they wanted to he would probably be a world-class player today. I believe that the manager who took over at Inter and wanted to loan him out said that he had the worst positional sense that he had ever seen and when he sorted that out he could become great. Of course Keane wanted to be a star straight away, and in his shoes who wouldn't I suppose.

no disresepect to your opinion but i don't know what sources you have??

maybe a cousin of Mr Tardelli ???

Quote Originally Posted by Tipp Townie
    There are plenty of our strikers that i never got to see play in the green, Don Givens being the obvious example, but in my opinion Robbie HAS TO be our best ever. Not so much for the scoring record, we all know that international teams play far more games than they ever used to, but
    What do you mean 'HAS TO be our best ever' I can name at least 5 Irish strikers that were better than him. eg

Givens
    Stapleton
    Aldridge
    Quinn(even)
    Cascarino(yip I'd rather have him)

Thats all I can think of at the moment...

Quote Originally Posted by Condex
    What do you mean 'HAS TO be our best ever' I can name at least 5 Irish strikers that were better than him. eg

Givens
    Stapleton
    Aldridge
    Quinn(even)
    Cascarino(yip I'd rather have him)

Thats all I can think of at the moment...
    I don't know much about Givens, I'll give you Stapo and Aldo, but Keane is better than Quinn and far superior to Cascarino.

Quote Originally Posted by oconghc2
    no disresepect to your opinion but i don't know what sources you have??

maybe a cousin of Mr Tardelli ???
    Wasn't it in the papers around the time of his move to Leeds? The Inter manager didn't tell me personally

Robbie is the Best he has scored the most goals in less games than Quinn and Stapleton and Cascarino. Maybe Don Givens would be close. The job of a striker is to score goals and Keane does it for us time and time again. Add to this the fact that he is not a natural striker in my view but more of a Bergkamp, Sheringham player. [
    In Trap we trust

Think Robbie Keane case causes nearly as many arguments and theories as any other Irish player between his followers and doubters. Have to say there's no doubt for me about his natural ability and he's by far our best striker at the moment (can't even think of anyone who comes close).
    At the same time, am inclined to think that he has found a certain level and he'll hardly improve from now. Have seen him play a lot of games for Spurs against Man Utd, Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea and very rarely has he impressed me, contributed anything of note, or scored against the top teams in England. Ditto for Ireland where his scoring record is flattered by his goals in friendlies and against weaker opposition. I know people will come out and say "oh but what about against Germany in World Cup, or Holland in Amsterdam" but these were exceptions rather than the rule.
    As I say, if at the top of his game and extremely up for it, I think he can cause a threat certainly. But a list of his weaknesses would be longer than his strengths in my opinion, and I don't like saying it, but he hasn't really improved on any of his problems the way you would expect a top top player to over time.
    He doesn't do himself any favours by being inside Lillies a Friday before a massive game either. I know this has been covered already, but the difference in attitude and preparation between that and Thierry Henry is frightening. And we know who was more productive the following Wednesday.

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    I don't know much about Givens, I'll give you Stapo and Aldo, but Keane is better than Quinn and far superior to Cascarino.
    Not sure what to say about Stapleton, again my experiences of him were later in his career.

Jaysus Condex, Cascarino? You must be joking... I think ThatGuy's assertion of 'far superior' could even be an understatement

Aldridge always played a part, but the goals only came much later in his Ireland career. I guess he might be a better finisher, but all-round i'd rather have Robbie up front than Aldridge (one of my all-time heroes, btw) any day.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    You can't compare Cascarino and Keane. One is a target man, the other a poacher and both are (were) effective at their roles.

Dream Irish partnership would have been Stapleton (good in the air and on the ground and who could hold the ball up) and Keane. At the moment I think Robbie is missing a target man to play off.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    You can't compare Cascarino and Keane. One is a target man, the other a poacher and both are (were) effective at their roles.
    Yeah one was a donkey that used to fall over the ball when it came to his feet and the other is a decent premiership footballer so I agree its unfair to compare them.

Quote Originally Posted by Tipp Townie
    Jaysus Condex, Cascarino? You must be joking... I think ThatGuy's assertion of 'far superior' could even be an understatement
    I'm not saying Cascarino is a better football that Robbie he was very average, all I'm saying is that with his height and strenght he'd cause more problems

looks like Jol is really taking out against all the irish players :S Robbie is never going to start in front of Mido as long as Defoe is there.

keane is twice the player mido is and defoe is one selfish **** ..... reid should be playing as well cause davids looks so uncomfartable out on the left ...

Keane and Reid on, about 15 mins to go

only 7 minutes left on the clock.. doesnt like Robbie is going to contribute anything

I get his feeling Jol is not taking to the three Irish lads.
    If Robbie was given the same chance every week as Defoe, then he would score just as many. His experience and goalscoring record at international level is one of the best in the premiership. Defoe has never done anything for england, and probably never will, what with Owen and Rooney about.
    Can't believe Reid was replaced by Lennon, the unkown 18 year old kid
    Kelly is still young and still fresh bait for a lot of good wingers. Stalteri looks solid enough, which is fair.
    Really hope Everton put a bid in for Robbie in January.
    Never eat yellow snow!!

as soon as defoe scored, teh spurs were chanting keano, keano, keano.

jol is abviously being stubborn on this one.

"Can't believe Reid was replaced by Lennon, the unkown 18 year old kid"

lennon is quality, bar fitness, i can see him replacing reid permanently unfortunately, he was full of trickery!