Page 2 of 378 FirstFirst 12341252102 ... LastLast

Thread: Robbie Keane

Thanks God Robbie is so crap would have been a marvellous 0-0 draw without him.. Top scorer for our country at 24 thats so crap. Fair enough he does miss a few but he scores enough to make up for it and makes a lot of his own chances. Sure yeah lets drop robbie and play the potent duo of connolly and docherty scare the **** out of the french yeah..

Let's hope his crapness infects all our players. We could do with everyone being as cr*p as Robbie. Remember the 93rd minute goal that kept us in the Wordl Cup? What a cr*p goal. He's rubbish, he is. Let's hope all our strikers are dragged down by his weary example and play with the same lacklustre enthusiasm. Sheesh. He's already outgoaled Quinny- what more do you want from him??
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

For a crap player, not only does he have the record goals at twenty four but if he stays playing until he's thirty, he'll take stephen stauntons 'most caps' scalp aswell ! ! ! Whats he on now fifty odd ? ?

Haven't got the stats to hand, but his goals to games ratio leaves the likes of Quinn, Frankie and Cas trailing in the wake.

622 Posts

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by feckless
    Haven't got the stats to hand, but his goals to games ratio leaves the likes of Quinn, Frankie and Cas trailing in the wake.
    Ay but not Dave Kelly I would bet
    Bring him backfor the Israel games, guarenteed hat-tricks home and away.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

just because this country doesn't have anyone else to put up front it doesn't make rk a clinical finisher. his peno was dodge and evn doherty would have put away the second, all work done by ROY. and the first all the work done by duffman.

Let's get some balance here.

Robbie is the best striker Ireland has at present. I don't think he is the best striker we ever had but that is a different argument. He should not be dropped. He is not crap.

However, last night he was the reason we did not score more goals (and that could be important). At this stage he is hard-wired - we can't say any more that he is young and learning his trade etc - this is what we have. And he consistently takes the hard option. Roy Keane made the point last night about being over-elaborate. He was right. Robbie tried to do the hard thing every time. He should have been told to get at the end of balls in teh box - not drop back to create his own chances. He doesn't seem to learn that the game does not have to be difficult. Those boys were there for the taking last night - and every time the ball went into Robbie Keane the play broke down because he tried to do something fancy instead of laying it off and heading to the penalty spot.

The argument will coem back - well, why couldn't score for Ireland blah blah blah - which is beside the point. He is to be judged by the standards of international football - and while he is a really skillful player and the best striker we have, he would be much more effective if he stopped playing as if he was knocking around on some road in Tallaght.

As for the Irish record - breaking that shockingly bad record is laudable but not exactly the stuff of legend.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Robbie is a good striker, he didn't really have a good game last night but he scored a couple and we got the 3 points. We really need a couple of options upfront beside the Doc and Clint!

I'd like to see Keane and Morrison play together for a while. I reckon they could be a really good partnership.
    I would like to see that as well. Morrison has came on leaps and bounds and looks competent on the ball now. I hope he continues to progress under kerr.

Robbie no doubt has talent. He has done well to get 23 goals in 55 odd caps. About the same as Owen. If this was England we would have Robbie all over the T.V, Newspapers, etc. Owen and Robbie both look terrible at times, but score when the sides need them.

The Irish goal scoring record is a joke, thank god its now broken.

However taking a critical look at robbie there is clearly a lot missing in his game. For a start some of misses he made last night were unforgiveable. He should went around the keeper once. He should have scored another 1 or 2 goals. This was after all a part time team.

Maybe the fact that Clinton wasnt playing made our attack so weak. Clinton did a savage amount of running about, getting into the right positions and helping out. For example that goal against the Dutch Robbie scored, probably wouldnt have went in if Clinton didnt run up alongside Robbie and throw the defenders and Keeper of balance.

Roy Keane and Kerr were right about the poor goal difference last night. But we really have been relying on Clinton and Robbie so much. None of the midfield have score ANY. So rather than RMK mouth off about the lack of goals, something has to be done urgently.

Holland (Mr Invisible) is the only midfield player that I can think of that scores goals when we need them.

Kerr is going to have to work on set peices like corners etc. He should designate 2 free kick specialists. Maybe Finnan or someone like that. Defintely NOT Reid. there is plenty of oppurtunity to wip in goals outside the box. (please dont mention hearte)

Kerr is also going to have to bring in Elliot and see what he's like. He may be very young but we have only 2 forwards in the entire squad worth anything.

Keane is the best striker ever for our country what more do you want?
    sure he missed some chances last night but at least he got into the positions and did score two. what other options do we even have upfront i dread to think if he gets injured for any of the games.
    he may not be the most clinical of strikers but he is our best and thatds damn good enough for me.

keano!

60 Posts
    I think its obvious that Robbie benefits more from a big man or an out and out target man. He has scored some really vital goals for Ireland like against Iran in play-off, Germany in World Cup, Spain in WC. All high pressure games. Give the lad a break. He is still only 24 and not the finished article yet.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by ilpostino
    Glenn Hodddle once said
    Jesus H Christ....what a way to start a post. You should be banned for that

Don't agree with the stick Robbie is getting here. The lad works his sock off and deservedly holds the goal scoring record. He's a proud Irishman who gives his all for his country. Granted he is incredibly fustrating at times and his finishing can be wayward - who's isn't! I'd still rather have him in there than not and we don't have anyone at present who is better.

Is he world class though? I have my doubts, based on his all too regular eratic performances at club level over a number of seasons. When he's on fire he's great, but when he's poor he's dire! Real world class players nearly always offer you something even when they are playing bad (Roy Keane for example - even though I hate saying that!), Robbie for me doesn't do that. Thankfully playing for Ireland only means 6 or so games a year and we nearly always see the good side of Robbie, thank god! He's a fantasic player for us and should be regarded as one - no more, no less.

Besides the only world class players at Tottenham leave to join Arsenal - aint that right Sol..........spoken like a true gooner!

Robbie just leave the dodgy performances for Spurs and we'll get along just peachy!!!

Congrats on the record, very well deserved and I'd like to think appreciated by all (even us Gooners!)
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

If Robbie Keane read the start of this thread he would wonder why he bothered!

I am watching the game as we speak as I was out last night, but I can't believe a performance with our only two goals and breaking the record, which wasn't brilliant, but Robbie will make it a respectable 40 odd by the end of his career, can't be such a bad night's work!

I've read two threads so far, one calling Reider tubby and the other calling for Robbie's head. What's got into some people? It might not have been the best ever performance, but since when have Ireland had the right to steamroller teams? We got the 3 points last night against a defensive outfit, just like France did, and in other groups the likes of England did. At the end of the day, goal difference is only worth less than a point, I'd be much more concerned we came out with 4 points from Paris and this game.

Ade

Quote Originally Posted by Adrianovic
    but since when have Ireland had the right to steamroller teams?
    Since they played at home in front of a full house against a bad team of part-timers and have a two goal lead going in at half time. That's when you can "steamroll" teams. We should be happy that we got the points. But we should not be happy with the performance overall. We're not there to make up the numbers either and talk ourselves down. In his post match interview Roy Keane looked livid - and he was right to be. The Faroese were not in the same class as us - we should have ensured that we concentrated on doing teh right things and get into the habit of doing the right things.

It is like the game in Holland when we lost a two goal lead. A draw was a creditable result but with the way the game was going we should have closed it out. A win against the Faroese was job number one. Once that was done we should have "steamrolled" them.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Given - Who does he think he is? Going home to his wife just cause shes preggers. Get rid of him.
    Carr - Couldnt handle the pressure at Spurs so heads for Newcastle. Cheat and a liar and has a fake tan and Doctor evil haircut.
    O Brien - Dont talk to me. Mercenary. We dont want you. Not good enough. Bring back Stan.
    Cunningham - Captain of a sinking ship.
    Finnan - Heading back to where he came from. Oblivion.
    Roy Keane - Cheat. Loser. Traitor. Past it. Go walk your dog
    Kilbane - Donkey Sanctuary has a free spot if your interested Kev
    Duff - Chelsea manager has seen through him. Over rated, over paid and has a poor haircut.
    Robbie Keane - record my ar se. Ugly duckling at the Swanlake auditions. Take up a new sport
    Clinton - mercenary. your rubbish
    Reidy - Who ate all the pies
    Doc - Put me in goal gaffer. Havent tried that yet.
    Miller - Cork tool. Man U reject

Come on Ireland!!!! Stand up for our crock of shife!!!
    (this was all tongue in cheek for the more sensitive among you)
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Since they played at home in front of a full house against a bad team of part-timers and have a two goal lead going in at half time. That's when you can "steamroll" teams. We should be happy that we got the points. But we should not be happy with the performance overall. We're not there to make up the numbers either and talk ourselves down. In his post match interview Roy Keane looked livid - and he was right to be. The Faroese were not in the same class as us - we should have ensured that we concentrated on doing teh right things and get into the habit of doing the right things.

It is like the game in Holland when we lost a two goal lead. A draw was a creditable result but with the way the game was going we should have closed it out. A win against the Faroese was job number one. Once that was done we should have "steamrolled" them.
    Maybe we could have and should have got more, but it's not so easy when you have got 10 men sitting in front of you to beat. So it wasn't vintage, but looking back on the Faroes record, they don't often concede a lot of goals - Switzerland was an exception to the rule. The rules for qualifying all but rule out the goal difference aspect, especially against the Faroe Islands. For the sake of entertainment it would have been nice to get a few more, but calling our best players crap is extreme.

Ade

First - fair play for breaking the record in rapid quick time.

However, personally I thought Robbie Keane was woeful last night. His finishing was awful, his link up play innefectual, his touch poor, and lack of effort obvious. It was summed up for me when he miscontrolled a dropping ball and then glared and gestured at Duff as if it was someone else's fault.

Of all the current Irish team I find him the most annoying because he could and should be doing so much better.
    Together with all our hearts.

Criticse Him all you want but:
    Robbie Keane is now an Irish Goalscoring Legend:
    FACT

23 goals isnt a massive record by international standards. I wouldnt be jumping up and down over it. 40 would be decent and respectable.

The fact that we play the faores at HOME and only scrapped a 2-0 win is what is bugging me. France will rip this team to peices with a massive goal difference. Just wait and say "... if only we had approached that game properly".

RMK might be the grand dad in the team, but he dead on about the poor performance of our front 6.

RMK Still solid at 33.

Kilbane - looks like he can grow into the box to box player. good performance so far.

Miller - should have stuck at Celtic. At 24 its unlikely that he will amount to much.

Reid - at 22 he is no kid either. I reckon he has exactly 1 year to prove himself. He should get himself in the primership by next janurary and stop eating all the muffins after training. Pratice actually delivering a half decent cross. Again, we would be lucky if he amounts to anything decent.

Clinton and Robbie - sit down and have a discussion about what happens when one of them gets the ball and what the other one should do. dreadful communication. Keep it simply robbie. I have never seen him going round a keeper in I dont know how long.

Robbie is going to have to learn that the big man up front is gone and he cant rely on scraps. Most of the play is on the deck and its crosses, through balls and maybe a few set peices. All of which he needs to work on.

Duff - has to start developing his game. Good way out on the left but teams can shut him down easily. His shooting is terrible and so is his finishing. He has been in those positions in the Champions League, Priemership and now WCQ and keeps missing easy goals. Its going to cost us in the future.

O Shea - a potential liability at the back. Needs to work on his positional play and work on passes completed. The amount of times he gave the ball away was astronomical.

Carr - I thought he played very well in France. I hope he continues his good form. He was very suspect in those early games.

Given - solid

O Brien & Cunnigham - looking good enough so far.

I would rate this team as just another average Irish side with some improvements in the way they play.
    Last edited by thejollyrodger; 14/10/2004 at 2:35 PM.

Page 2 of 378 FirstFirst 12341252102 ... LastLast