Results 3,261 to 3,280 of 7679

Thread: Robbie Keane

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by yapster View Post
    First goal was very good,shame he couldn't have done that in Paris, scoring regardless of the quality of the opposition is good for him and Ireland.
    Wayne Rooney missed a great chance one on one with the keeper tonight... I presume that means hes not a top class striker now?
    Its really not that complicated!!!

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Wayne Rooney missed a great chance one on one with the keeper tonight... I presume that means hes not a top class striker now?
    yeah but was it an easy important chance, an easy non-important chance, a hard important chance or a hard non-important chance? Crucial details....
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

20 Posts
    Good grief, he's our best striker and has been for some time. Good to see him do well.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Keanes chances in the SPL is akin to shooting sleeping cows with a high-powered rifle in essence. As I said it will give his confidence a lift and that is good for Ireland.

1,001 Posts
    Keanes chances in the SPL is akin to shooting sleeping cows with a high-powered rifle in essence. As I said it will give his confidence a lift and that is good for Ireland.
    you never answered my question about Rooney

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    For those that didn't see the goals, here is the link. The first is pure class:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZA7-VCYJgM
    the mans a class act.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Rooney is a far better player than Keane even at 24 yrs of age. Rooney doesn't miss that oftein fairness.

1,001 Posts
    Rooney is a far better player than Keane even at 24 yrs of age. Rooney doesn't miss that oftein fairness.
    No doubt Rooney is a better player, but u use the chance Robbie Keane missed in Paris to hammer him time and again. You also use the chance John O Shea missed in Paris a few years ago as proof that he is not a top player. You cant have it both ways, Rooney missed great chance in a big game during the week, Torres miss great chance in the last few minutes against Man United few weeks ago, so by your definition that must mean that both of them are not top players

1,928 Posts
    In the 4 seasons previous to this one, Rooney has managed to score 2 more than Robbie in the EPL.
    That's absolute proof that Robbie misses more and Rooney doesn't miss that often.

No doubt Rooney is a better player, but u use the chance Robbie Keane missed in Paris to hammer him time and again. You also use the chance John O Shea missed in Paris a few years ago as proof that he is not a top player. You cant have it both ways, Rooney missed great chance in a big game during the week, Torres miss great chance in the last few minutes against Man United few weeks ago, so by your definition that must mean that both of them are not top players

I don't rate O'Shea because of his poor passing and positional play, and is prone to silly mistakes mostly. I referred to O'Sheas miss in the same match as Keanes miss, both unforgiveable really. Torres is streets ahead of Keane so there is no comparison. Yes even the top strikers will miss at times but Keane is notorious for it. I hammer Keane for his miss in Paris for two reasons 1, he made a stupid decision and it was a pathetic one at that. 2, It was the turning point in the match.

3,499 Posts
    I don't rate O'Shea because of his poor passing and positional play, and is prone to silly mistakes mostly. I referred to O'Sheas miss in the same match as Keanes miss, both unforgiveable really. Torres is streets ahead of Keane so there is no comparison. Yes even the top strikers will miss at times but Keane is notorious for it. I hammer Keane for his miss in Paris for two reasons 1, he made a stupid decision and it was a pathetic one at that. 2, It was the turning point in the match.
    How was it the turning point of the match?
    Was Keane's opener the turning point?
    Was Duff's miss the turning point?
    Was O'Shea's miss the turning point?
    Was O'Shea's injury the turning point?
    Was Henry handling the ball the turning point?
    Was Henry handling the ball again the turning point?
    Was the final whistle the turning point?

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    How was it the turning point of the match?
    Was Keane's opener the turning point?
    Was Duff's miss the turning point?
    Was O'Shea's miss the turning point?
    Was O'Shea's injury the turning point?
    Was Henry handling the ball the turning point?
    Was Henry handling the ball again the turning point?
    Was the final whistle the turning point?

Watch the match again.. When Keane fecked up his chance the French knew they had dodged a bullet and it gave them renewed confidence and the Irish players knew they had missed their best chance but to their credit they still fought on. Ireland didn't threaten after that and the French were getting more dangerous with every attack. Yes the handball thing was unfair but in truth the Irish were only holding on at that stage. Back to Keane's miss he was the captain of the team and should have shown more courage and responsibility in putting away his chance!

Presumably he had lost his courage and responsibility that he must have had for scoring the first goal

Oh no Yapster is at it again on a new stage. Lads you can argue until the cows come home Yapster just doesn't rate our record top scorer of all time.

Yapster he is our only true goalscorer miss or not, and everyone else up front including Kevin Doyle are average in comparison. Rooney may be the shining light at the moment, but will he do it for as long as Robbie in the Premier League. No doubting Rooney is class but one great season is not a career. Time will tell. Robbies miss in France was a difficult effort and nothing will sway me from that fact. The fact he made the chance in itself was magnificent. Maybe Rooney,Ronaldo and Messi would've missed aswell
    Last edited by ShamrockIreland; 01/04/2010 at 1:27 AM.
    With a squad made up of players like Green, McShocking and Kilbad we are going places. Down the gutter.........

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Presumably he had lost his courage and responsibility that he must have had for scoring the first goal

No he took it really well...

Quote Originally Posted by ShamrockIreland View Post
    Oh no Yapster is at it again on a new stage. Lads you can argue until the cows come home Yapster just doesn't rate our record top scorer of all time.

Yapster he is our only true goalscorer miss or not, and everyone else up front including Kevin Doyle are average in comparison. Rooney may be the shining light at the moment, but will he do it for as long as Robbie in the Premier League. No doubting Rooney is class but one great season is not a career. Time will tell. Robbies miss in France was a difficult effort and nothing will sway me from that fact. The fact he made the chance in itself was magnificent. Maybe Rooney,Ronaldo and Messi would've missed aswell
    I do think Keane is a good striker on his day but there are too many flaws in his game tbh.

Yes he is Irelands premier goalscorer no doubt I don't deny that fact.

Keane has said himself that his miss was a bad one.

Did he say that Yapster. I just thought given the space, and goalkeeper and defenders closing him down made it a difficult effort. If he thought it was a bad miss fair enough. I understand your point Keane should've been a TOP CLASS striker rather than waste parts of his career. He does have obvious flaws but is still the best we've got. I hope he reaches 50 during the next campaign
    With a squad made up of players like Green, McShocking and Kilbad we are going places. Down the gutter.........

I sincerly hope he reaches 60 next campaign and hopefully Dolye and maybe Stokes get some as well... The spell at Celtic will give him renewed confidence hopefully.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Obviously scoring the first goal drained all his courage and composure.

It's common knowledge that scoring an absolutely crucial goal destroys a player's confidence. That's why great goalscorers don't score many goals.

The fact that Robbie does means he's not a great goalscorer.
    Last edited by osarusan; 01/04/2010 at 12:45 PM.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I have noticed in snooker (when I used to watch it) that after a player pulled off a magnificent shot they often went of to miss a sitter, over confidence and carelessness?