Ok, Sorry he is a goalscoring legend, he doesn't whine at every decision that goes against him or throw himself to the ground like a ragdoll at the slightest touch.
I was blind before but now i see. Down with people who have different opinions!!
My sarcasm detector is working tonight Hurrah , so I take it you aren't convinced of him being a goalscoring legend for us.
The criteria being for goalscoring legend I would take at it's most base level would be the ability to score goals
Which he has done for us , More than anyone ever in fact
But then again I'm sure you've got a list of players who are goalscoring legends for us apart from Robbie.
I'd sugest that the Muppets who continue to disparage and underestiamte the value of Robbie to Irealnd are ignored. What is the point in engaging in a "yes he is", "no he isn't" spat? Any "anti-Robbie" individual I meet is either a Man-U fan or anti-Dub with a chip on their shoulder.
This is not about opinion, it is about statistic and fact and Robbie is factually and statistically one of Ireland's best ever, and one who loves to play and produce for his country at every given opportunity.
Lets hope he's at his best for the upcoming games now that his miserable tenure at Liverpool under the attrocious and manipulative Benitez has ended.
Exactly. And anyway, how many times does Robbie actually get to play against the top teams?
Weldoninhio - there've been dozens of us who criticise aspects of Keane's game: not clinical in 1-on-1s, poor attacking header of a ball, complains too much to referees and all of that. By the same token we also give credit where it's due. It's called balanced opinion.
I've never met you but I just can't shake off the mental image of Fr. Stone.
I think he is more like another Stone to be honest.
In Trap we trust
I believe it was Benjamin Disraeli who said "There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics." And just to correct you, Robbie is factually and statictically Irelands best ever, not just one of Irelands best.
But statistically, Ireland play a lot more games these days, and there are a lot more teams around like San Marino, Liechtenstien, Faroe Islands and the many nations made up by the breakup of the former USSR that did not formerly exist. So statistically he has more opportunities to score.
My point was that people are expecting us to beat Bulgaria, using Keanes new found confidence and form as an example as to why we should. He has not scored against a team in the top 30 (as bulgaria are) since WC2002. Statistically speaking.
And for the record, I am from Dublin and don't support Man Utd and i'm great craic to go out with. I am more Fr Liam Finnegan than Fr Stone.
Out of info, did you rate John Adridge?
I stand corrected!
Took 20 games to score & even that first goal would have been Houghton's goal in any other scenario. Only decent team he ever scored against was Mexico. They're the stats, but as you say, a subjective assessment shows him in a much better light.
Surely the same same goes for Robbie. Since 2002 our central midfield has been so uncompetitive Keane has spent more time dropping deep to look for the ball and generally getting involved offensively & defensively to be considered an out and out striker too. I doubt the really prolific international goalscorers ever put in a shift like Robbie puts in for us.
That's not to say he couldn't have scored more goals - he should, definitely - and his demeanour & behaviour is really irritating at times. Quality player in the main though. I'd be gutted if he was injured or suspended for any of our upcoming games.
Took 20 games to score, but was never our main striker, as i said he was asked to make runs into the channels to draw the defenders out. Completely different.
Can you imagine Keanes reaction if Trap told him do drop deep and when ireland got the ball they were immediately gonna pump it into the corner for him to chase and cross.
Much like the road McGeady is going down, Keane had potential but believed his own hype before he had achieved anything. And continues to do so.
So you don't buy into the perception that Robbie works hard in other areas of the pitch?
You remind me of my dad and my uncle watching Irish rugby when I was growing up. They were only happy when we lost, dissecting every aspect of the team's performance, the captain and the selectors. They were all "bloody eejits". Not a word out of either of them when we won the triple crown in '85, my uncle even slagging off Ciaran Fitzgerald's famous fingers to his temples gesture (I think that was '85) , asking his team to think, as utter nonsense.