Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: 11 a side v Boards.ie, 29th October

Some people were saying about longer-term involvement who couldn't play today..though it would probably rule out a couple from today as well....

Footie mad members doesn't necessarily correlate to players of league ability...some people are born to play football and others are born to watch and pass comment on it
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Result 6-1 to boards .
    The scoreline flattered to decieve,it was only 2-1 at half time but as the game wore on our fitness levels weren't up to it and the Boards team started scoring for fun but i have no doubts that had the playing field been leveled and by that i mean,had we had any kind of fitness,the necessary footwear and a few subs (we had 11 players only),we would have not only gave them a decent game but we would have beaten them.

Man of the match was the Foot.ie goalkeeper DFX,who made some amazing saves.

in light of our respectable performance at the weekend would anyone be willing to commit to an astro league i know at least five or six who posted in the run up to the match against boards.ie who expressed an interest. so who here would be interested. yes it would cost 100 each but its a game every wednesday and it'd keep your fitness up. any one in favour and if so would you like to organise a meeting in dublin city centre or somewhere to discuss it. we've to get a move on because the league starts nov 13th and they are crying out for teams.

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Would be up for it padjoe. Would have prefered weekend but can go from work to the venue during the week anyway.

Would have to organise jersies as well though going by the rules on the astro website, so probably be a bit more than 100 yoyos.

22 Posts
    Our league is sundays (we wanted thursday but got sun)

And i was man of the match, was my 1st game in 5 years hence only scoring 1

kdjac

Quote Originally Posted by steno View Post
    Would be up for it padjoe. Would have prefered weekend but can go from work to the venue during the week anyway.

Would have to organise jersies as well though going by the rules on the astro website, so probably be a bit more than 100 yoyos.
    well to use boards.ie as an example. they took up 100 from each player to ensure commitment and they raised 2200. i think they got jerseys out of that. i'm sure kjac can give us advice on how they got started. i think the major stumbling block is ensuring commitment and if we have that we'll be fine.

22 Posts
    Once people pay 100 they will be commited, we had some dropouts after the 100 was paid so we transfered them (ie someone paid them and then joined, our keeper yesterday was the 1st to do that)

I got my job to get us the jersies.

kdjac

I'd be up for it...although again only as keeper (sorry padjoe for 'hogging it' yesterday )

Need a fair bit of *conditioning* methinks as well - my head still hurts a bit
    The Model Club

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    Once people pay 100 they will be commited, we had some dropouts after the 100 was paid so we transfered them (ie someone paid them and then joined, our keeper yesterday was the 1st to do that)

I got my job to get us the jersies.

kdjac
    cool cool how did you stop pepole making off with the jerseys

he he the lads i brought down are the same both dying. dfx no problem man you were up to the job

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by padjoe View Post
    cool cool how did you stop pepole making off with the jerseys
    I bring them and take them home every week. Still have every sock

kdjac

Lads it hurts to move and I lost my big toe nail on my righht foot as well!

Would be up for the league anyway regardless of what day of the week.

60 Posts
    Ye're conkered after that (dunno if I'm allowed say knackered or not, and this seems a good substitute)! God lads, yis are a right set of women altogether. That was grand.

***Bluebeard's wheelchair is pushed closer the screen so he can check what it says. Bluebeard beeps once to signify that he is happy with what his new carer has typed and can be submitted***
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

I'd play, pity about the scoreline last week but thats fitness I suppose!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Im defo in too lads, could do with a few oul games! Anyone reckon their jobs would be willing to sponsor jersies? Lets get a meeting in town one day this week if possible and we can sort out money etc ...
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Are we playing boards again on Sunday?. How about meeting then?

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by steno View Post
    Are we playing boards again on Sunday?. How about meeting then?
    We there 3-5 your invited for another game/training session for you.

let me know and motivate the lads and bring the bibs again.

You can wear bibs in the league if you have no jersey.

kdjac

i'm considering another battle. i know a good few cant show on sunday aido b missing again. i think we should meet either fri or sat to discuss possibility of team. **** sake GAA was set up in tipp surely we can set up 15 players to line out for the pride of foot.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    What times Sunday and how long does the game last?

The game on Sunday I presume is between 3-5 - same as last week. It was 30 mins each way last week.
    The Model Club

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast