Thread: GUFC 1 Harps 0

GUFC 1 Harps 0

Murphy peno after 64 minutes
    Cross from Murphy hit Gorman's hand in the box.
    1st half
    Harps hit the post & a couple of great saves from Gough
    Derek had uniteds only real shot on target saved by keeper.
    2nd half United the better team

just back from ballybofey bossed the game created very little ,stole a win in a tough place , we're gonna win the league.
    WOO ITS MAGIC , YOU KNOW , SEVEN WINS A ROW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    just back from ballybofey bossed the game created very little ,stole a win in a tough place , we're gonna win the league.
    WOO ITS MAGIC , YOU KNOW , SEVEN WINS A ROW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    jesus ya weren't long home when ya posted this. i can see the booze hadn't worn off
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra View Post
    i can see the booze hadn't worn off
    great to see
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

all in all it wasn't a brilliant offensive performance by any stretch of the imagination but as i was saying during the week, it doesnt matter how you get the three points as long as you get them. we looked a bit shaky at the back which was weird considering last weeks briliant defensive performance. harps should have definitely got an equaliser right at the death but someone ballooned it over the bar from 5 yards.
    goughy was unreal again we wouldnt be top without him lads

Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra View Post
    i can see the booze hadn't worn off
    just woke up, it hasn't worn off yet either ! Fair play to Goughie he was a hero last night.

unfortunately it has worn off me and it has left me with the mother of all hangovers. goughy was unreal last and he has been for so long. hes just so consistent, it seems that he never has a bad game

Great result last night, rode our luck at times, to get our first win of the season against Finn Harps. Our next two games are against teams we haven't beaten this season so far namely Dundalk and Athlone.

Gough was the MOM, superb one handed save in the first half followed by an even better one at the death. I knew our luck was in after the Harps player balloned the ball over the bar in front of an empty net, deep into stoppage time. Seven out of seven isn't bad.

Ya, great result last night...United were lucky but thats the luck United need to win the League!! Lets follow this win with another on Friday against Dundalk...

C'MON UNITED!!!!!
    The future's bright......maroon and white

Some photos from last night here http://www.flickr.com/photos/GUISA/
    Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 16/10/2006 at 3:36 PM.

Great pics mate, super to see all those jerseys!

Match Report of last night's game can be read HERE

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Some photos from last night
    Class where are the rest of them you took enough of them! U were nicked name Stan Shields on the way back! Let us know if you have any luck getting the singing on youtube ( if it comes out )

Grreat chants as gaeilge last night as well fair play!

Sean Ban Sean Ban a Breathnach Scaoil amach Scaoil amach Scaoil amach an Bobailinn!

Ooh Ahh Seanin Muiris DeBurca (oh ah Johnny Morris Burke)

we'll be ready for TG4 in Dubarry Park!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

so relieved to get a text

last night from a fellow foot.ie member telling me the fulltime score,i was so nervous thinking it would end 1-1 etc.that was the game that had me worried the most,i firmly believe we can win our remaining home games,we should beat athlone also but it would be just like them to put a spanner in the works and frustrate us on saturday week.and if we cant beat kilkenny then we dont deserve to win the league.
    i dont care how we win from now on but we may need to score a few because goal difference might be a factor.
    the tension will be huge on friday night,cant wait.

Great result, unbelieveable that we can keep clean sheets away to harps as well. What was Murphs all round game like? He does enjoy scoring against harps, pity I didnt put a few quid on it !! 2 difficult matches down with probably the hardest next friday night. Well done to the supporters that travelled, heard from some harps supporters that ye were vocal all night.

They were. A fantastic atmosphere created last night by the two bands - noiser than some crowds that would be four times the size.

wondering about murph terry? - well here i go again

not half the player odowd is - 100% effort thats what you need at this stage of the season

dont know what that lunatic in the advertiser was writing about the best player in the league a week ago

the man is not interested - constantly giving out - usually following his own inadequacies!

blaming others because of a bad pass - when he doesnt move for the ball

not closing down when we dont have it - or more likely when he is after losing it

too late to go after it when he does

usually the close the space routine - but that doesnt work when your 7-8 yards away - a token effort

have to say ive complained about him all season - not worth the money we are supposedly paying for him

cant wait to see gethins and odowd back up front the next day

and before any of ye say it - billy could have taken the penalty

infuriating

at one stage he was giving out to cookie i think and meself and the lads were telling him to wake up, whilst the other players were looking at him

that is not good for the team - effort and a bit of luck will see us through - not the murphy prima dona route
    more water!

while i dont agree with all of your points corbyeire, i know murphs didnt do enough to keep his place and conor and dave should definitely be starting together again come friday. i think the boys will absolutely terrorise dundalks defence with their genuine pace. i still think we need to start johhny russell in midfield, he could provide the necessary keys to unlock dundalks rearguard and we're gonna definitely need to get good ball into the strikers.

on another note it'll be good to see philip o reilly back playing in terryland i thought he was very good against harps and while we could have nothing but praise for micko for the games he played at left back it will be great to have a player there who is comfortable and is a regular left back.

COME ON UNITED

how bad is wes - i dont think he should have been risked the last day in the first half - he was awful sluggish and well strapped up
    more water!

Slightly unfair(some of your points)corbyeire i think myself but i do think it will be Gethins and O Dowd.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am