Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: SunderlandWatch

Quote Originally Posted by Passive View Post
    Green Luas line, October 11th at roughly 5:45pm.

...The first Sunderland jersey in Ireland?
    I had a Sunderland jersey about 5 season's back, the blue away one. I got on the bandwagon far before the rest of ireland.

71 Posts
    If it means anything, I've seen more eL jerseys in UCD than I've ever seen in my previous 4 years. I've seen Sligo, Derry and Bohs. Just a coincidence or is there an increase in eL jerseys about?

386 Posts
    Think there has been an increase in el jersies doing the rounds in recent years. I've seen Pats, Bohs, Shels and Rovers plenty of times around Dublin. Few lads in work wear them too.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    Think there has been an increase in el jersies doing the rounds in recent years. I've seen Pats, Bohs, Shels and Rovers plenty of times around Dublin. Few lads in work wear them too.
    Strangely, I got the filthiest look on Sunday from a lad in a Shels t-shirt who spotted my UCD jersey.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    No. If you ever did, it was a settings error!
    Fair enough then,i'd like to look at the link if you care to put it up!

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Quote Originally Posted by green army View Post
    they were selling sunderland jerseys in lifestyle sports in the square a few years ago
    They were selling them there on Sunday.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Strangely, I got the filthiest look on Sunday from a lad in a Shels t-shirt who spotted my UCD jersey.
    Surely thats a positive in the context of this thread?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Surely thats a positive in the context of this thread?
    Yeah, great example of integration of the disadvantaged.

If it means anything, I've seen more eL jerseys in UCD than I've ever seen in my previous 4 years. I've seen Sligo, Derry and Bohs. Just a coincidence or is there an increase in eL jerseys about?
    From talking to a few people involved in the sportswear industry, I get the impression that this is the case. They say that sales are growing every year and say that one reason could be that EL jerseys look better now then they did a few years ago. The obvious exception is the Bohs jersey, which looks like it was drawn with crayon.
    Champions.
    16 leagues & 24 cups.

164 Posts
    I was in town yesterday and while I wasn't on SunderlandWatch, I couldn't seem to get away from them. Arnotts have the jersey in pride of place in the football section. Easons have their fanzine neatly positioned at eye-level (the others I noticed were Liverpool, Man United, Chelsea, Celtic and Leeds so they're in that category now). I've actually taken an interest in Sunderland (looking for their team selection/reports) since Daryl Murphy (Waterford man, former Blue, sound lad) joined them, but by no means would I delude myself into any connection with the club.

You'll love this one - a conversation a few weeks back between 2 of my Man Utd -supporting mates:
    "We'll have to go to a United game this season"
    "We'd nearly have better craic going to Sunderland though"

That's what you're dealing with!

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop View Post
    Not having a go at boez for once, but isn't their jersey made by O'Neills, the worst inflicters of bogball jerseys in the world. It's no coincidence that anything they touch turns to muck, or in this case slightly more muck.
    I think O'Neill's did a grand job on our home shirt.
    Better than buying into the generic trash churned out by Scumbro.

I disagree it looks like a Lyons Tea minstrel.
    And yours looks identical to what Bigot Brother 1 wears. I know which I'd be more upset about.

Bring back cotton I say!
    Fruit of the Loom in Ireland closed down, I'm afraid.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    And yours looks identical to what Bigot Brother 1 wears. I know which I'd be more upset about.
    That's actually not true. Aside from the fact that both jerseys are green and white hooped, they are a totally different design. Umbro used to give us Rovers versions of Celtic jerseys, but not anymore.

Not having a petty go at Bohs but O'Neill's jerseys look terrible.
    Champions.
    16 leagues & 24 cups.

Celtic are Nike, Rovers are Umbro, O'Neills are puke. I think even Bohs fans hate their O'Neills rag.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    I think even Bohs fans hate their O'Neills rag.
    Didn't the Bohs fans pick or design the jerseys themselves this season?
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by stickyjoe View Post
    AFAIK the Tranmere flag belongs to a 2nd generation Irish fella living in Liverpool and that flag has been at games for years ! Not quite the same as someone living here plastering a tricolour with Sunderland or some other rubbish
    I dont care if he founded the nation putting an english club on a tricolour is a disgrace.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    I dont care if he founded the nation putting an english club on a tricolour is a disgrace.

Quality
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

I hope you returned the favour.

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    Celtic are Nike, Rovers are Umbro, O'Neills are puke.
    OK, sorry, didn't realise that but Rovers shirts still look like Celtic cast offs. Nothing unique about them. I love our home kit so what rival fans think of it doesn't concern me.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast