115 Posts

v Athlone game televised

108 Posts
    Unbelievable!

I just booked the Friday off work for the last ever trip to Mel's!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

It's not in St.Mels Park this time, its Dubarry Park in Athlone..
    The future's bright......maroon and white

disappointed not to be playing them in saint mels as i wanted our last game there to be a victory and not a loss but on a better note at least we dont have to go through saint mels to get to the ground. what a bad estate to go through
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Nice one fair play to TG4.Dissapointed its not on in St Mels.This probably means we will never enjoy the smels experience again.A sad thought indeed.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

hopefully it wont take away from the travelling support. Its always one place where we get more than usual supporters going since its our shortest journey. Suits me though since I wasnt going to make it as I'll be at a wedding, will enjoy watching it with a large group of ex-players.

Does anyone think that the move will affect the potential of travelling fans - seeing as it now clashes with the Int'l Rules in Pearse Stadium?
    I would have considered going but not now.

Quote Originally Posted by gloryglorygufc View Post
    Does anyone think that the move will affect the potential of travelling fans - seeing as it now clashes with the Int'l Rules in Pearse Stadium?
    I would have considered going but not now.
    Wouldn't bother me. Most of the die hard travelling support don't care much for bog ball or its aussie version.If we keep this run going we should bring a massive crowd.

The international bogball wont make a blind bit of difference, joke of a competition !

As far as I know the compromise rules game is a sell out. The GAA were very deliberate in bringing it to Galway on a Saturday night & were influenced by how happy previous Aussie touring parties were with Galway. But as usual the main motivation is financial.

I also thought it was going to be live on TV - which means it will clash with the Athlone game.

Given the stick ye've given to TV3 over their treatment of us this week, don't TG4 deserve major thanks for giving us this coverage? I know it's a pity they couln't have taken last Friday night's game, but hopefully we'll still be in the hunt for the title by the time the Athlone game comes around.

As for the criticism of Gaelic Games generally, I'd have to say get over yourselves. Many GAA supporters come to Terryland, including former players who represented Galway - even since the change to summer soccer. Their support for GUFC stems from the fact that they'd have no allegiance to any of the Junior clubs in town, and started coming to Terryland when we first entered the League of Ireland. Former garrison towns like Athlone, Dundalk and Sligo never attracted this kind of support because the local GAA fraternity saw the development of soccer in these towns as a British import (i.e. via the troops who were garrisoned in the towns).

It's hard for some to accept but GUFC gets at least as much support from so-called GAA supporters as it does from the junior soccer scene in Galway.

Anyway, far as I can recall our last live TV game was the cup-semi final in Longford, when a bleached Slab went close a number of times before we lost out narrowly. Hope we do better in Dubarry Park.

You'd think they would have televised our game last week. They've already done a game from Dubarry Park.

BTW there is a bar in the ground lads. You'll get in without colours!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post

BTW there is a bar in the ground lads. You'll get in without colours!
    Hope they'll have some Champagne on ice!

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    I also thought it was going to be live on TV - which means it will clash with the Athlone game.
    It'll be difficult to persuade an Irish bar in London with an Irish Sky Card to show the United game on TG4 if it is up against the International Rules game

Though if it were possible to promise a certain number of attendees then it may be possible!

i was thinking the same thing nyhoop,

about why they didnt show last fridays game but i guess they thought it might affect the attendance so they didnt want it shown.i hope our last couple of games might be shown too coz i might not be here for them.

Anyone who would rather watch a hybrid branch of boxing and wrestling for
    a crowd of event junkies rather than travel 50 miles to see their own club play
    a top of the table clash against their local rivals needs to have a look at the
    definition of the word support.

If you want to see a bunch of culchies, townies and foreigners belting the daylights out of each other, we will drop you outside Supermacs after we come back from Athlone.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Anyone who would rather watch a hybrid branch of boxing and wrestling for
    a crowd of event junkies rather than travel 50 miles to see their own club play
    a top of the table clash against their local rivals needs to have a look at the
    definition of the word support.

If you want to see a bunch of culchies, townies and foreigners belting the daylights out of each other, we will drop you outside Supermacs after we come back from Athlone.
    Brillaint!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Doh! I just bought two tickets for the International Rules game yesterday. But I'll definitely be going to Dubarry park. It looked to me like we were going to rip Athlone apart the last time we met. Until O'Reilly ruined it. Now's our chance.

Cameras will be on UTD fans aswell so it's vital we have a massive crowd there and that we're colourful and loud as always!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

51 Posts
    Any chance someone can record highlights and throw them up on youtube for us exiles?
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

I'm in Liverpool over this weekend, f*ck it if that hybrid nonsense is going to deprive me of seeing the United game on TV over there.
    Fair play to TG4.