View Poll Results: Should the 1981 Hungerstrike be Comemorated by the State?

Voters
30. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

8 26.67%
  • No

22 73.33%
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Should the 1981 Hungerstrike be Comemorated by the State?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Only adam's in a bad humour I'd tear into that post...
    Are suggesting that there was no event from 1969-c.1998 in Irish history colloqually known as 'The Troubles' ?

Are you suggestig that any other event is so widely known as 'The Troubles' that I would need to differentiate which 'Troubles' I meant ?

In short - what the feck are you on about here Dodge...?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    I agree with you that it was part of the broader struggle, but the average person in the street probably doesn't know exactly what the strike was all about (particularly in the Republic), and would probably be a bit disappointed to learn the mandane level of the strikers demands. Starving yourself for Ireland is seen as glorious -starving yourself for the right to wear whatever jeans you want and to hang out with your buddies in jail wouldn't be seen to have the same ring to it.

Are the Troubles not taught in the South as part of modern Irish History ?

talking about education, you might need a few pointers yourself
    it was the right to be recognised as a political prisoner, not an everday common thief or rapist or the like
    to say that the fight wasnt a political issue, meant that the IRA and Sinn fein and the fight for irish freedom is just mere thuggery

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    it was the right to be recognised as a political prisoner, not an everday common thief or rapist or the like
    to say that the fight wasnt a political issue, meant that the IRA and Sinn fein and the fight for irish freedom is just mere thuggery

actually in the context of our EU membership and where thats going it was just outdated folly.

Agreed although I think Sands himself put it more elequotely "I'll wear no convicts uniform nor meakley do my time that england might call Irelands plight 800 years of CRIME!"

Are suggesting that there was no event from 1969-c.1998 in Irish history colloqually known as 'The Troubles' ?

Are you suggestig that any other event is so widely known as 'The Troubles' that I would need to differentiate which 'Troubles' I meant ?

In short - what the feck are you on about here Dodge...?
    I'm suggesting you don't get irony or sarcasm steve

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Agreed although I think Sands himself put it more elequotely "I'll wear no convicts uniform nor meakley do my time that england might call Irelands plight 800 years of CRIME!"

I dont think that is a sands quote to be honest
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters

I'm suggesting you don't get irony or sarcasm steve
    D'oh...!

Spot the man who hasn't read all the posts on the thread....

And to be honest - in it's latter years, the IRA and Sinn Fein were increasingly more about thuggery than Irish freedom. Hence drug smuggling, bank robberies, money-laundering, protection rackets, intimidation/assaults/punishment attacks to avenge personal differences etc. What did the McCartney murder do to advance Irish Freedom, for example.... ?

335 Posts
    Spot the man who hasn't read all the posts on the thread....

And to be honest - in it's latter years, the IRA and Sinn Fein were increasingly more about thuggery than Irish freedom. Hence drug smuggling, bank robberies, money-laundering, protection rackets, intimidation/assaults/punishment attacks to avenge personal differences etc. What did the McCartney murder do to advance Irish Freedom, for example.... ?

cleared the streets of druggies and their imps

i have read all the posts

as another poster put it better than me........the irish fight for freedom is an act of criminality, ?
    thats a handy thing for the brits to say, considering their history

cleared the streets of druggies and their imps
    Well they do like a clear run.

It's amazing the results you can get when you fast-track justice so much that all it requires is a stop off at the local sports store for some nice weighted hurleys and a nip next door to the hardware store for a few grand strong carpenters nails.

Cleared the streets of druggies my hole.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

cleared the streets of druggies and their imp
    Holy fcuk - are you for real ?? I can assure you there were no issues getting your hands on any form of narcotics whilst I was growing up in Derry. The source of those narcotics, often had a direct paramilitary route, or had a blind eye turned to it where it didn't. The only drug dealers in the nationalist north to get knee-capped were either the ones who fell-out with a memeber of the provos, or those who got too big for the boots and/or didn't want to pass on their 'tax'. Hence, very few people ever got attacked for drug dealing, even though plenty of people were doing it and a lot of people knew who they were. And yet the drugs just kept on flowing. Your niavety is frightening....

as another poster put it better than me........the irish fight for freedom is an act of criminality, ?
    thats a handy thing for the brits to say, considering their history
    Attacking soldiers, police etc is one thing. Extortion, bank robberies, protection rackets, intimidation and viiolence on the basis of personal grudges
    - none of those advance the course of Irish freedom. In fact, they arguably put the cause back by creating resentment and a sense of injustice amongst the very support base for that 'struggle'. And they are all criminal activities, no matter who is saying it, who was doing it, or how you look at it.

You have a shockingly naive view of recent Irish history

335 Posts
    Holy fcuk - are you for real ?? . Your niavety is frightening....

And they are all criminal activities, no matter who is saying it, who was doing it, or how you look at it.

You have a shockingly naive view of recent Irish history
    are you John Hume in disguise

Are you in denial ?

Wake up to what the north was like during the troubles Benno. It wasn't some misty-eyed glorious struggle of brave and pure fenian soliers marching out to meet the Saxon foe in Ireland's name. It was a bloody horrible messy conflict, with a large dollop of pure unadulterated criminality welded to its side.

Are you even from the north ?

As much as im a committed republican socialist, i have to agree with steve.

There is no such thing as a romantic war. War is just a nice way of saying there are a lot of murders going round
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters

100% SH, lets hope we've seen the end of it.

335 Posts
    Are you in denial ?

Wake up to what the north was like during the troubles Benno. It wasn't some misty-eyed glorious struggle of brave and pure fenian soliers marching out to meet the Saxon foe in Ireland's name. It was a bloody horrible messy conflict, with a large dollop of pure unadulterated criminality welded to its side.

i never said it was a bed of roses, but ireland is partitioned whether you like it or not

no, im from iraq

Moderator: Can we keep this on the original topic please. Current day SF or IRA activities can be discussed in new thread.

At this point I'd like to remind you of This post, this post and this post

Yes I'm petty and yes I remember everything....

haha

i have to take time out form my busy day shamrock baiting to giggle at that

btw - to add further fuel to this contoversy I just found out that DCFCSTEVE is actually Stephen Kenny

At this point I'd like to remind you of This post, this post and this post

Yes I'm petty and yes I remember everything....
    Which has exactly what relevance.....?

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast