Page 303 of 402 FirstFirst ... 203253293301302303304305313353 ... LastLast
Results 6,041 to 6,060 of 8039

Thread: Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Could bohs not get a couple of volunteers to weed the place.
    You would have thought so with all those hipsters knocking around the place.
    It did look terrible on tv last night.

360 Posts
    Were those new toilets open last night in Dundalk away end Pats fans, I couldn’t see from my spot in the stand. They should have been. Think I read in last weeks prog they also erected new fencing in the away section to clean it up. Plenty more could be done as a quick fix. However I’m not even sure they can roof it as I also read somewhere else that would impede the view of 1/4 of the stand.

They should build a terrace behind both goals, cover it, leave space for seating to be installed, then demolish the current away end. However all you ever read is ‘gradual improvements’. At least the new CEO makes constant reference to it in his prog notes, but that could just be all talk. They did spend almost 500k on kitting out the YDC last winter I suppose, and the players have excellent facilities including a new dining area there before / after daily training.

Shame there seems to be little appetite for spectator improvements at the minute. Maybe it will take a good euro run, but both parties (DFC) and P6 are not short of a few bob. They know full well though that games can be easily moved to Tallaght and can still earn decent money at same time.

The basics should still be looked at / sorted out. We live in hope !
    Last edited by oriel; 25/05/2019 at 7:52 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Hipsters are more about weed in particular rather than weeds in general.

Even Connacht Street is starting to get Amazonian. Dayler is a bizarre spectacle, when the camera starting panning round the place during the delays I half expected David Attenborough to be crawling round in the bushes.

427 Posts
    Could bohs not get a couple of volunteers to weed the place.
    Well if you have an hour to spare (obviously not dole collection day &#128513
    That end hasn’t been used in years (and won’t be again) so unlikely we will do anything to it. Dublin City Council own the ground and will just do what’s required to make it serviceable. Volunteers do a huge amount at Dalymount but servicing a terrace that’s unused is not high on the priority list.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Maybe we hoped the sligo farmers would feel the urge 😁

637 Posts
    A lad with a couple of hours and a weedwhacker would sort it out.
    Surely worth the effort

171 Posts
    A lad with a couple of hours and a weedwhacker would sort it out.
    Surely worth the effort
    Yeah it looks shocking and reflects badly on the whole league on TV.
    I'd even go as far as saying Tolka looks better these days.
    Loads of grounds have unused areas in them you don't see a entry to bloom growing in any of those areas just in Dalyer.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Yeah it looks shocking and reflects badly on the whole league on TV.
    I'd even go as far as saying Tolka looks better these days.
    Loads of grounds have unused areas in them you don't see a entry to bloom growing in any of those areas just in Dalyer.
    How is Milltown looking these days ? 😎

171 Posts
    Inventive
    <Mod Snip.. Bloody hell>
    Last edited by Mr A; 27/05/2019 at 11:22 AM.

360 Posts
    Jaysus lads, this is getting a trifle offside !
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

637 Posts
    Jaysus is it that controversial to ask bohs to weed the feckin terrace so it doesn't look so bad ??
    Fair comment surely

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Inventive
    How's your harbouring of rapists and paedophiles going?
    Are they hiding in the weeds?

637 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Are they hiding in the weeds?
    Round of applause

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Were those new toilets open last night in Dundalk away end Pats fans, I couldn’t see from my spot in the stand. They should have been. Think I read in last weeks prog they also erected new fencing in the away section to clean it up. Plenty more could be done as a quick fix. However I’m not even sure they can roof it as I also read somewhere else that would impede the view of 1/4 of the stand.

They should build a terrace behind both goals, cover it, leave space for seating to be installed, then demolish the current away end. However all you ever read is ‘gradual improvements’. At least the new CEO makes constant reference to it in his prog notes, but that could just be all talk. They did spend almost 500k on kitting out the YDC last winter I suppose, and the players have excellent facilities including a new dining area there before / after daily training.

Shame there seems to be little appetite for spectator improvements at the minute. Maybe it will take a good euro run, but both parties (DFC) and P6 are not short of a few bob. They know full well though that games can be easily moved to Tallaght and can still earn decent money at same time.

The basics should still be looked at / sorted out. We live in hope !
    I don't really get Dundalk's approach now they have money. More away support, regardless of the team, means more home support. Everybody likes an atmosphere at games. They don't need to spend millions to make the away end alright, just a few things like making it so you can walk around OK and, as the club thankfully seem to have done, have some accessible toilets.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    just a few things like making it so you can walk around OK .
    Like an exercise yard?

Was up in Dundalk last Monday or whenever it was for the Bohs match and the sound system was deafeningly loud. I know that's snowflake stuff in theory but wait till you hear it yourself. It wasn't slightly too loud it was hands over the ears levels of loudness.

Quote Originally Posted by David BOHie View Post
    Was up in Dundalk last Monday or whenever it was for the Bohs match and the sound system was deafeningly loud. I know that's snowflake stuff in theory but wait till you hear it yourself. It wasn't slightly too loud it was hands over the ears levels of loudness.
    It’s absolutely ridiculous, you have to shout at the person beside you to talk to them. And that’s not even getting at the drivel the PA announcer comes out with. Every week is the same, he shouts for the “Oriel Roar” and then blares music so loud that you can’t even hear the crowd cheering the team on to the pitch.

177 Posts
    The new clubhouse in the Showgrounds (sourced, built and paid for by the Supporters Trust) was used as a Polling Station in the elections on Friday.

I don't think there is many LOI grounds that can say they were used to cast votes in European elections!?
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

171 Posts
    Sligo replacing 1000 seats in their main stand and doing some other work like paint and stuff at the same time.
    Great to see a club consistently investing in facilities.
    Sligo are probably the best run club in the county in my opinion, the joke model club gets thrown around a lot but especially for clubs in the county Sligo really should be the blueprint.

24. Thanks From:

1,522 Posts
    Can we try to stay on topic please? Thanks.