Page 37 of 430 FirstFirst ... 2735363738394787137 ... LastLast

Thread: Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

Quote Originally Posted by CuanaD View Post
    I presume its Banagher Concrete behind that - they do an excellent quality job with mass concrete builds - plenty of the motorway bridges & already have done stadium jobs - eg the hill end of croke park.
    LOL I Know some guy that used to work for them! they are based in offaly aren't they! didn't think they would be involved in big contracts like that!

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    Wow £5 million???? That seems awful expensive for that. Are you sure. Our Stand is of the same quality if not better and i am positive we didn't pay half that.
    Not comparing like with like at all. For starters I think it cost €4.2M, and that was spent on developing a 10 acre greenfield site. That means clearing it, levelling it off, fencing it off, laying two full size grass pitches with I don't know how many tonnes of Wexford sand trucked up for drainage and top soil on top.

Then there is the 2,000 seater stand, which is of a better quality that Sligo's. That's not being petty, I've been in both, above and below, and it's the truth. It houses the two dressing rooms, male and female referee rooms, club shop, office, bar, physion room, drug testing room and another couple small offices/store rooms as well as a big TV interview area. And it doesn't leak. The whole thing is fully wired for power/light/phone/ISDN/fire sprinkler system/fire alarm/air system etc etc. There are also male, female and disabled toilets at either end the stand.

The main pitch and second pitch are both floodlit, with all the area behind the stand tarmacked and an ESB sub station down the far end. Oh yeah, and the turnstyle plaza at the front.

And that leaves out all the professional fees of architects and engineers and whatever else.
    Last edited by atfconline; 10/07/2007 at 8:18 PM.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Not comparing like with like at all. For starters I think it cost €4.2M, and that was spent on developing a 10 acre greenfield site. That means clearing it, levelling it off, fencing it off, laying two full size grass pitches with I don't know how many tonnes of Wexford sand trucked up for drainage and top soil on top.

Then there is the 2,000 seater stand, which is of a better quality that Sligo's. That's not being petty, I've been in both, above and below, and it's the truth. It houses the two dressing rooms, male and female referee rooms, club shop, office, bar, physion room, drug testing room and another couple small offices/store rooms as well as a big TV interview area. And it doesn't leak. The whole thing is fully wired for power/light/phone/ISDN/fire sprinkler system/fire alarm/air system etc etc. There are also male, female and disabled toilets at either end the stand.

The main pitch and second pitch are both floodlit, with all the area behind the stand tarmacked and an ESB sub station down the far end. Oh yeah, and the turnstyle plaza at the front.

And that leaves out all the professional fees of architects and engineers and whatever else.
    two shay - was waiting for someone to shut him up - its pretty obvious why it cost twice the amount - some ppl just love having ago at other clubs, sad really

oh ya: was in terryland tonight and the new stand is very impressive, will be opened at the sunderland game. pity they it doesnt go the full length of the pitch, but im sure theres a good reason for that. the old stand should be fully fitted with its new seats for the bray game. place is looking top notch - and not just because im a gufc fan, ask any cork fan that was there tonight!
    Last edited by GalwayFrancis; 10/07/2007 at 10:27 PM.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post

Fair play. If you've been in both and you think yours is beeter then i believe you. Sounds impressive actually.
    It holds 2,000?

Oh and as for the little Galway fecker there i was NOT can i repeat NOT having a go at Athlone. I simply thought ours was a better stand going on observation from pictures and passing by. To be honest your reply was a bit off the mark because i was not having a go at him you just assumed it.

Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    with plans to make it a two tier stand with Box's and the like, including a Tv gantry.
    hold yer horses there sunshine!!

where did ye hear this?..lol

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Any update on the new stand in Richmond park? Will it be ready for the Uefa Cup tie?
    We were told last night it would be
    Revenge for 2002

75 Posts
    Some Pics of New stand and last nights game here http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?showtopic=474
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

75 Posts
    video fro Cork City Game showing New Stand http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=DqOJ97jbVoM
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Do Pats plan on having seats behind the goal on Thursday? it look a bit bare on ELW last night!

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Do Pats plan on having seats behind the goal on Thursday? it look a bit bare on ELW last night!
    Yep. due to be installed today. Fecking lightning out there though

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Yep. due to be installed today. Fecking lightning out there though

Is there actually steps there like? looked like a flat surface to me.

Cutting it mighty fine lads!

22 Posts
    Is there actually steps there like? looked like a flat surface to me.

Cutting it mighty fine lads!
    The Ikea Stand, its a large base for a temp stand, lansdowne and point cat put seats up in about 4 hours so if they arrive they be up in no time.

kdjac

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    The Ikea Stand, its a large base for a temp stand, lansdowne and point cat put seats up in about 4 hours so if they arrive they be up in no time.

kdjac

I thought that wasnt allowed!

I thought there was actually a real stand going in there? So we're talking a Belfield effort so?

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Some Pics of New stand and last nights game here http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/index.php?showtopic=474
    Very impressive, must look a fine ground overall now. Last time I was there (mid 90`s) only the dressing room/small stand structure was in place.

Great work !
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

New seats going into the lower Donie Forde at the Cross.
    A bit unneccessary if you ask me.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    New seats going into the lower Donie Forde at the Cross.
    A bit unneccessary if you ask me.
    Apparently a child hurt themselves cos of the old seats last season....could be the reason

Is that it

I was expecting so much more with all the delay!

1. Will it be terraced all around (bar the stand)?

2. How many seats?

3. Will ye be using it at start of 2008 season?
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

399 Posts
    Is that it

I was expecting so much more with all the delay!
    Fair play to you, I couldn`t be bothered waiting !
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).