Page 49 of 406 FirstFirst ... 3947484950515999149 ... LastLast

Thread: Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

3,227 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    ANY TEAM WHO DONT HAVE A HOME SHOULD BE KICKED OUT OF THE LEAGUE.
    rovers have been acting the maggotts for the last 20 years now and are getting away with murder.
    You've been warned already today about trolling like this. You want to start copping on to yourself fairly quick.

rovers have been acting the maggotts for the last 20 years now and are getting away with murder.
    Indeed we have! Serial killers the lot of us - took a few out myself while up in Derry on Friday. Great crack altogether
    Ireland: Discovered!

Much progress at St. Colmans????
    "No one could make a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little." - Edmund Burke

ANY TEAM WHO DONT HAVE A HOME SHOULD BE KICKED OUT OF THE LEAGUE.
    Rovers have a home ya retard. Have you not noticed that they've been playing at Tolka for a few years now ?!?!

Ground sharing is far form unusual in senior football across Europe.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    425 Posts
    Here's the latest on Wexford Youths, the whole club could go belly-up if planners don't change their tune. Mick Wallace is certainly not a happy man. Here's a little bit of what he has to say and a link to the full story, it's about retention of works rather than anything to do with building a stand.

The decision of the Wexford County Council Planning Section to refuse permission for retention of alterations to Wexford Youths Football Club Ground is a major disappointment for a number of reasons.

The refusal is based on the notion that ‘floodlighting and external lighting of the facility is injurious to the amenities of the occupiers of the nearby residential dwellings’, ‘the position and use of the lighting, by virtue of the glare onto the National Primary Road (N11) is detrimental to traffic safety’ and the third item related to a technical matter regarding whether the proposed extra landscaping is on the site layout plan or not.
    Full story on Wexford Youths official website.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

The decision of the Wexford County Council Planning Section to refuse permission for retention of alterations to Wexford Youths Football Club Ground is a major disappointment for a number of reasons.
    You can tell Wexford Youths run by Property Developer when looking for retention

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    You can tell Wexford Youths run by Property Developer when looking for retention
    Exactly.

Rentention is a joke. Wallace gambled and it failed.

Anybody who gets distracted by the lights while driving shouldn't be driving in the first place!

Hope the plans for Dundalk and Derry go through. They both look ambitious. I think it's great that more and more clubs are improving their grounds.

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Here's the latest on Wexford Youths, the whole club could go belly-up if planners don't change their tune. Mick Wallace is certainly not a happy man. Here's a little bit of what he has to say and a link to the full story, it's about retention of works rather than anything to do with building a stand.

Its funny in that article when he says he has spent 4 million euro on the site and then a few lines later he says "despite rumours to the contrary, I am not worth a fortune". Hes some character and I really do hope that it works out for Wexford, I have been impressed with their ambition in thier first seaon. Do you think that this stand will be in place for next season?
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

I see on TV3 that the new stand at the RSC has started. Looks to be good progress already but it does not look like the full length of the pitch - hope i am wrong...

30 Posts
    I see on TV3 that the new stand at the RSC has started. Looks to be good progress already but it does not look like the full length of the pitch - hope i am wrong...

The archictect's drawing of the 1700 seater stand is up on the www.btid.net website under 'New Stand' thread. The stand does indeed run the lenght of the pitch, having seen the plans in City Council offices and last Saturday I visited the building site. The foundations and concrete base have been put in. The builders are starting off at the middle and working their way out. It is scheduled to be completed by end of January.

22 Posts
    January!! krikeh thats quick :O hope your right it will definately look great when completed!

You've been warned already today about trolling like this. You want to start copping on to yourself fairly quick.
    sorry. wont happen again
    Last edited by The Man Himself; 06/11/2007 at 2:42 PM.

[QUOTE=passinginterest;807104]Here's the latest on Wexford Youths, the whole club could go belly-up if planners don't change their tune. Mick Wallace
    [QUOTE]

Tough $hit

You can't just slap things up willy-nilly without planning

Just ask Limerick..........

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    The archictect's drawing of the 1700 seater stand is up on the www.btid.net website under 'New Stand' thread. The stand does indeed run the lenght of the pitch, having seen the plans in City Council offices and last Saturday I visited the building site. The foundations and concrete base have been put in. The builders are starting off at the middle and working their way out. It is scheduled to be completed by end of January.
    Looks good. I know TC suffers from it but I don't like the way older stands build 3/4 across the side of pitches. Bit strange for Builders to start in the middle but maybe it has to do with access. Depending on the next couple of weeks 1700 extra seats will make for great Munster derby or be empty for all next season...

1700 extra seats will make for great Munster derby or be empty for all next season...
    I don't know will Limerick muster quite that many travelling fans

22 Posts
    Maybe ye could! only if its a title winnin game :P

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post

Wallace is doing himself, and thereby the club, no favours at all here.

Firstly - if there's one sure way of fecking off Planners, it's by doing stuff without permission, and then going along to them afterwards wexpecting them to give you that retrospective approval as if the rules didn't exist. You instantly increase the chances of them saying 'no' - if only to teach you a lesson. It sounds like Wallace has an extremely cavailier attitude towards development. Maybe you can get away with it in Ireland at times, but he'd be fecked if he ever tried those antics in London, for example.

Secondly - he may be a half-decent businessman (though any fool could've made money in property development in Ireland over the last decade) but he is certainly not a smart or canny operator, nor a smart 'politician'. P!ssing off the planners by running rough-shod over the rules is one thing - shooting your mouth off about their perfectly valid stance and effectively insulting them is a whole different game. He's now even less likely to get what he wants for the site.

Given Wallace's antagonistic character, I can't help but think WYFC would be better served if they had someone else to wheel out as their public face for things like this (e.g. the CPO ?). Someone who can understand and work systems, build positive relationships, and who doesn't act like a cavalier riding a bull through a china shop.

I don't know will Limerick muster quite that many travelling fans
    Thats why I said new stand could be empty next season depending on next few games.

United Park was rezoned last Monday , paving the way for the new stadium to go ahead , objections/observations have been withdrawn , and final planning approval is expected in 3-4 weeks. Football being played there at the start of 2009 season.
    3-D view of new stadium.
    http://www.bigbadwolf.ie/3d_visualiz...or_stadium.htm