Page 207 of 405 FirstFirst ... 107157197205206207208209217257307 ... LastLast
Results 4,121 to 4,140 of 8100

Thread: Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

105 Posts
    I don't see the need for all seated grounds either. It would be better if clubs followed the German or Scandinavian model with a mixture of seats and terraces.

Quote Originally Posted by GCdfc View Post
    Rumour that the Aviva is to get approximately 30 new seats (if you believe the Indo), 12 if you see the photos.
    A group of Dundalk fans helping with the renovations. Between stadium renovations and their affinity for golf, there is an air of the Celtic tiger developer about the Dundalk fans.

420 Posts
    Does Finn Park have a premier licence? If not what will be required to bring it up to standard? Only asking because reading an interview with the chairman after the game and he was saying basically they might struggle a bit with off the field stuff after promotion was wondering what he meant.

For the record before anyone thinks I am being bitter about them beating us I would be disgusted if we were kept up because of anything off the field.

1,524 Posts
    We'll get a derogation because the new ground is in progress.

And because not doing so would be just mean.

But certainly Finn Park isn't the ideal premier division venue and limits our match night revenues.

346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    We'll get a derogation because the new ground is in progress.

And because not doing so would be just mean.

But certainly Finn Park isn't the ideal premier division venue and limits our match night revenues.
    But at what point will the FAI say they need to see actual progress on the ground? because at the minute the whole thing is a bit of a farce and Friday night showed of all nights that Finn Park is just not fit for purpose anymore.
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

1,081 Posts
    About the same time they ask Drogheda how their stadium plans are progressing I assume.

1,524 Posts
    Exactly- Drogheda got by for years on nothing but plans. We have actual structures over there and funding in place. It's slow, but there is a real project there.

And if Friday night proved anything to me it's that terracing is still the business. Feck all-seater grounds.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nr637 View Post
    Just imagine the govt contributing 25m+ into redeveloping league club grounds, think of all the basic improvements such as toilet, turnstile, terrace and various other extras that could be added to all the league grounds to bring them up to some better facility and attractive for fans.

I'm wishing on a star..............!

Think of all the money that could be wasted

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    I don't see the need for all seated grounds either. It would be better if clubs followed the German or Scandinavian model with a mixture of seats and terraces.
    Any new ground or work being done to current ones should look at getting the rail seating in they have in Germany and elsewhere in Europe if at all possible. Means those who want to stand can stand and vice versa for seated. Plus they count as permanent seating for European games with UEFA as well.

Using Oriel as the example, we got the dregs of Croker's old seats during the BETOP campaign a few years ago when we got into Europe under Fozzie and within a year or two they were in bits. Couple the cost of getting them in, even at a discount, and having to replace them we probably could have gotten the rail seating in which would last far longer and save money in the long run. Also less broken seats!

I am hoping to god between them Harps and the builders can get work going again on the new Stadium for next season as it would massively increase numbers
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

86 Posts
    Seeing is believing

Quote Originally Posted by colonelwest View Post
    Any new ground or work being done to current ones should look at getting the rail seating in they have in Germany and elsewhere in Europe if at all possible. Means those who want to stand can stand and vice versa for seated. Plus they count as permanent seating for European games with UEFA as well.

Using Oriel as the example, we got the dregs of Croker's old seats during the BETOP campaign a few years ago when we got into Europe under Fozzie and within a year or two they were in bits. Couple the cost of getting them in, even at a discount, and having to replace them we probably could have gotten the rail seating in which would last far longer and save money in the long run. Also less broken seats!
    I used to be be a fan of German style Railseats but really might not work in our league. First off they're a lot, I mean, A LOT, more expensive that normal seats and they can't be used in mixed configurations -- they're either all locked up as a terrace or unlocked as seats not a mix of both ... they've also got restricted views with loads of bars in your eye line when you're sat down and a nice metal bar at head height so you can clock yourself off it every time when you move.
    They work in Germany because;
    1. the clubs that have them have a realistic chance of hosting the national team every few years, requiring all seater set up... (not the case in LOI grounds)
    2. the clubs that have them have a realistic chance of getting into an extended European campaign every few years (again not the case here if we're honest)
    3. the clubs that have them have such demand for tickets for league games that allows them to let in 5,000 - 10,000 extra fans in a standing configuration vs. a seated configuration (again not the case here in the LOI)
    4. German Fire Services, Local authorities and Clubs are competent enough to achieve fire and safety certs for grounds for extra capacity when in standing configuration. Do you want to bet on an Irish fire chief giving a cert for extra numbers in a standing configuration after spending all that extra cash on railseats? Bet it would be "Ye have 500 seats so ye can have 500 standing places lads..just in case like" because like it or not that's how we do business here...

To be honest I think a set up like Pirelli Stadium (Burton Albion) Broadhurst Park (FC United of Manchester) or Princes Park (Dartford) with 1 or 2 fully seated stands and decent modern safe terraces making up the bulk of the capacity would be the way to go for most clubs like Bray, Drogs, Harps, Wexford, Athlone or even finishing off grounds at Dundalk, Galway, UCD, Sligo. I suppose the bigger clubs like Bohs (when JD builds them a 10k seater), Rovers, Cork need their seats....
    I'd prefer a finished ground with decent elevated and roofed terraces than a windswept 2 sided set up like loads of us have....
    Last edited by SalvadorSanchez; 10/11/2015 at 5:04 PM.
    innit though??

Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    Seeing is believing
    You can imagine the Architect and the builders going "Lads do we really need this pesky football pitch?"
    innit though??

874 Posts
    I'd say that at best the stand in Oriel would be modernised and extended. So we will still be open ended and windswept. Traffic management will be the biggest issue for any capacity increase beyond the current seated capacity. So extending the stand taking in the seated capacity of the east and west terraces would be a way round this. A new stand behind the town goal would be a tough sell to planners without a new road system and car park. Thats after the lease issue is resolved at some point. The big thing this close season will be whether the pitch passes UEFA tests. If not the the whole lease issue will come to a head much quicker before a few hundred thousand euro is spent on a pitch. Could have some premier league football in United Park next season after all for a bit at least.

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    I'd say that at best the stand in Oriel would be modernised and extended. So we will still be open ended and windswept. Traffic management will be the biggest issue for any capacity increase beyond the current seated capacity. So extending the stand taking in the seated capacity of the east and west terraces would be a way round this. A new stand behind the town goal would be a tough sell to planners without a new road system and car park. Thats after the lease issue is resolved at some point. The big thing this close season will be whether the pitch passes UEFA tests. If not the the whole lease issue will come to a head much quicker before a few hundred thousand euro is spent on a pitch. Could have some premier league football in United Park next season after all for a bit at least.
    Seriously? United Park? Can't see Drogs going for that... might have to go further than that for 90mins of magic...

874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SalvadorSanchez View Post
    Seriously? United Park? Can't see Drogs going for that... might have to go further than that for 90mins of magic...
    Would they turn away the revenue?

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Would they turn away the revenue?
    Can't see DFC giving away all the gate receipts to Drogs... so likely little benefit to Drogs. Would Drogs make what €7.50 a head and DFC the rest? Hardly worth it for either club considering rivalry/bad blood between clubs/supporters...
    innit though??

Can't see DFC giving away all the gate receipts to Drogs... so likely little benefit to Drogs. Would Drogs make what €7.50 a head and DFC the rest? Hardly worth it for either club considering rivalry/bad blood between clubs/supporters...
    I imagine they'd just charge a fee.

Would they even have a choice in the matter considering its the FAIs ground not Drogheda's..?

Lads you're talking like this hasn't happened before

23. Thanks From: