Page 109 of 405 FirstFirst ... 95999107108109110111119159209 ... LastLast
Results 2,161 to 2,180 of 8100

Thread: Stadium Updates (All Clubs)

44 Posts
    They're just changing the name to "Sour Cream and Onion Hunky Dorys Park".
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Photo of Oriel Park (2005) from one of the lads on the Dlk forum. Look at the state of the stand compared to the photos posted earlier. New roof, new panels, all painted not to mention the new seating. The old shed was demolished, and new pitch yet to be layed. What a mess that season was, as it took until Sept for us to play a home game.
    where did ye have to play yer games instead?

Drogheda and Monaghan anyway I think.

363 Posts
    Yeah started off with a few away games, then it was obvious it would take months, moved to Drogs, then Mons until end of Aug. Check out the attendance thread and look at our avg for 2005 !

Total and utter mess of a season.

PS Good news Drogs getting seating installed, I always thought they should have put seating into the terrracing side, one of the easier jobs around the grounds to install, I would have thought.

Looking forward to seeing photos, will clean up the old place very nicely.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    New seats have started going in at Hunky Dorys Park apparently. This must have something to do with it.

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/20.../news_008.html
    why would ya bother, united park or hunky dory park is an eye sore......

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    New seats have started going in at Hunky Dorys Park apparently. This must have something to do with it.

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/20.../news_008.html
    Outstanding work by the webmaster,pay rise i reckon!

433 Posts
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

71 Posts
    That concrete that the seats are bolted into looks a bit crumbly to me.

44 Posts
    Surely that more or less halfs the capacity of that side of the ground. What did it hold beforehand? Not more than 1,500 I'd say.....

Quote Originally Posted by danthesaint View Post
    why would ya bother, united park or hunky dory park is an eye sore......
    Anyone who can win there thinks its all right

Capacity is now 1500 seating with 1000 standing on the home terrace and about 800 standing in the away terrace
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

81 Posts
    Most importantly it means that Drogheda now comply with licensing criteria for number of seats.

44 Posts
    Is there still standing space in part of the shed at Oriel Park? If so, is this the only terracing remaining in the ground and what does it hold? Basically I'm wondering what the total capacity is because I wouldn't imagine that it can be much higher than 4,500 if all of the rest of the ground now holds just 3,000.
    Last edited by fionnsci; 25/06/2010 at 2:13 PM.

I really like United Park, nice clubhouse and decent away section.
    Only problem is, its a bitch to get to from Sligo

Quote Originally Posted by fionnsci View Post
    Is there still standing space in part of the shed at Oriel Park? If so, is this the only terracing remaining in the ground and what does it hold? Basically I'm wondering what the total capacity is because I wouldn't imagine that it can be much higher than 4,500 if all of the rest of the ground now holds just 3,000.
    I havent been up since the seats were put in to the shed but as far as i know that whole side of the ground is full of seats,but behind the back row it looks like you could fit one row of people standing.
    also there is still terracing in front of the stand behind the dugouts. and also the home terrace were the seats were put in there is still a good bit of terracing behind them seats.
    some people still stand behind the town goals.dont know if thats up to standard though...

Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    I really like United Park, nice clubhouse and decent away section.

Yeah I'm found of it too. One of the few grounds that feel like football grounds (Sligo is similar)

363 Posts
    I always found the terracing on both sides in Utd Park extremely dangerous, the height between the steps are unsafe, hence the restrictions to 2,000 a few yrs ago by the Fire Brigade !

The seating on the far side will really clean the ground up - looking forward to seeing more photos on this, they should seriously think of switching camera sides for TV, would show up the ground so much better now.

Fair play btw for installing seats, I wonder where these came from (ha)
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

363 Posts
    Has any Drogs fan got a photo of those new seats yet in Utd Pk ?

I tried to post up a photo of our shed which is fully complete now with 6 rows of seating, but it didnt turn out too good - no point posting it up.

433 Posts

Same as some of the seats in the shed.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

504 Posts
    is there not more room to fit a few more rows because 6 just looks a bit silly?

363 Posts
    Thanks Dunny, I saw that one before, was just curious to see if any better photos were available.