View Poll Results: Should John Delaney be fired?

Voters
123. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

111 90.24%
  • No

12 9.76%
Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: The John Delaney Discussion thread

Apologies!!!!!!!!!

Mea culpa. I think I meant that it came into effect under Rooney's tenure and certainly had nothing to do with Delaney.

On the contrary, John Delaney endorsed the plan before Rooney was even appointed. He was involved in and positive in the initial discussions paving the way and opening the doors for the whole concept to become a reality.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

3,488 Posts

So was it him who was responsible for trying to get rid of it, seeing as it doesn't seem to have been a genuine error?

Delaney Must Go

for appointing a donkey as manager and for not sacking him.

Stephen Kenny for ireland

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post

Stephen Kenny for ireland
    Would you though, if you were Stephen Kenny? Brian Kerr, like it or not was given a very raw deal. Kerr was far better than Stan, and its showing now.

Kenny, is well clued in ..... he'd be looking for an extension for a barge pole the minute he even got a sniff of being offered the job.

No lads, what we need is someone who is World Class...

Quote Originally Posted by republicofwhite View Post
    No lads, what we need is someone who is World Class...
    Like Steve Staunton - John Delaney RIP
    Smile........ it confuses people

Thats kind of what I was getting at...We need humour in times like these, maybe I should make mine a bit more tangible...

Delany must go

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    and the rest....

would love to see kenny in there tommorrow...

I think the Dunfermline fans wouldn't mind very much tbh.

We need a disciplinarian like Charlton and McCarthy were, I'm sure nobody in that squad respects Stan. Stan is unable to communicate, he is completely inarticulate. He is devoid of original ideas. He parrots slogans. He is not his own man as he keeps insisting. He is a man with no brain.

Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    He is a man with no brain.
    he is the straw man, the scarecrow!
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

**** organisation,**** manager,**** palyers & mostly **** fans

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    I think the Dunfermline fans wouldn't mind very much tbh.
    On the contrary, they are impressed by him very much and he has instilled a grit that they haven't seen in years in a bunch of no hopers.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Results under Staunton wont directly affect Delaney's position but a half empty Croke Park for the game against Slovakia will.

Don't forget a sizeable amount of spnonsorships will also have bonuses for success etc. Still fair play to him for extending his own contract. He's handled the Shels thing so well, he deserves it

Delaney should go for the Shelbourne debacle, for the Limerick debacle, for not doing anything with the el except tart it up (unsuccessfully), for shafting Kerr, for hiring Staunton, for at least 100 other things.

Staunton's short reign has brought us the three worst Irish results in history - his two best results (described by TV3 as 'dizzying highs') 0-1 vs Germany, 1-1 vs Czech Republic are the EXACT type of results that Delaney cited as reason to fire Kerr.

Delaney hasn't just fecked up the senior football team, he has firmly cemented soccer as the 4th most popular spectator sport in the country. The IRFU and GAA have already boosted their profile by opening up Croke Park. More than ever before, this qualifying campaign needed a safe pair of hands - keeping Ireland in contention for qualification right up to the Cyprus game in Croke Park. Instead, his ego pushed out the most qualified manager who actually wanted the job in favour of a clueless bumpkin who wouldn't rock the FAI boat and would indulge the feckless millionaires in the squad
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Delaney's Position

If Stan were to go, which I don't think will happen at the moment, especially with the timing of upcoming internationals and the availability of possible replacements, but if he were, surely then John Delaney's position as Chief Executive of the association is untenable?

There are a growing number of people calling for Delaney's head. What do people feel about this? .....and more importantly, if he were to go, who would be a realistic and desirable replacement?

I for one would love to see Mick Wallace in the position. I know he was linked with the post before but was he ever approached? He's a keen businessman aswell as a passionate supporter of Irish Football.... seems an ideal candidate to me. Would he touch it with a barge pole though?

CEO of the FAI is a political position from within the ranks of the blazer brigade (ffs it was a position even created by the present incumbent!!!)

no outside talent will ever be asked to apply - and those that accept the minnow jobs generally get chewed up and spat back out- eg Roy Dooney etc etc

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast